Welcome!

"The Daughter of Jephtha" by Edgar Degas, c. 1860. Flickr, Creative Commons.
What are library databases?
Library databases collect articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers. The articles contained in each database have been selected by librarians and experts to be credible and authoritative.
Databases are searchable by topic and can be accessed from anywhere with an internet connection and your valid log-in credentials.
Login to the Library
You will need to login to the library in order to view library databases, your library account, or ebooks.
Borrower ID =
My.Seminole.State login name
PIN =
last 4 digits of your social security number OR your student ID number
You can also view this 1 minute video tutorial on how to login or call 407.708.2618 for assistance.
Recommended Databases for Art and Art History
- Art Full Text (EBSCO)Database that contains articles concerning everything from ancient to modern art in all forms.
- Art and Architecture Complete (EBSCO)Good database covering the entire spectrum of art and art history topics.
- ARTstorFairly comprehensive collection of art-related images, primarily original works.
- Grove Art Online (Oxford University Press)Encyclopedic entries on artists, styles, and periods throughout history.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)Multidisciplinary database that contains some art-related journals and magazines.
- Academic Search Complete tutorial

- JSTORExcellent for scholarly, historical art research on most topics.
- JSTOR tutorial

- Credo ReferenceYou will again find many encyclopedic entries on art-related topics.
Art and Art History Periodicals at Seminole State Library
You can find these periodicals on the 2nd floor of the Sanford/Lake Mary campus library.
- Artforum
- Art in America
- ARTnews
- Asian Art News
- American Artist
- Southwest Art
- Watercolor
Google Scholar for Articles

Google Scholar is a repository for citations, e-books, and some full-text academic journals.
Check out this short YouTube tutorial on how to link Google Scholar with the Seminole State library databases.
Loading...
