This is the "Articles & Databases" page of the "Biology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Library Resource Guides for Seminole State Students

Biology  

Last Updated: Apr 9, 2014 URL: http://libguides.seminolestate.edu/biology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Articles & Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

Chloroplasts in hypertonic solution

Chloroplasts in hypertonic solution. Courtesy of Biology Corner, Creative Commons.

 

Login to the Library

You will need to login to the library in order to view library databases, your library account, or ebooks.

Borrower ID =
My.Seminole.State login name

PIN =
last 4 digits of your social security number OR your student ID number

You can also view this 1 minute video tutorial on how to login or call 407.708.2618 for assistance.

 

Google Scholar for Articles

google scholar

Google Scholar is a repository for citations, e-books, and some full-text academic journals.

Check out this short YouTube tutorial on how to link Google Scholar with the Seminole State library databases.

 

What are library databases?

Library databases collect articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers. The articles contained in each database have been selected by librarians and experts to be credible and authoritative.

Databases are searchable by topic and can be accessed from anywhere with an internet connection and your valid log-in credentials.

Science Databases

  • General Science Full Text
    A good, general overview of most biological topics with an emphasis on academic journals.
  • General Science Full Text tutorial  Icon
  • Science in Context
    A great database for most Biology topics, Science in Context gives students access to a variety of research sources in a user-friendly environment.
  • Biological & Agricultural Index Plus
    This database contains a fair amount of biological content from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Much is not available in full text, but make sure to check the "Linked Full Text" box to ensure you can access the articles.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Biology Journals and Magazines

The following titles are available at the Sanford/Lake Mary campus:

  • American Scientist
  • Audubon
  • Biological Bulletin
    Peer Reviewed
  • Discover
  • Earth
  • Environment
    Peer Reviewed
  • National Georgraphic
  • National Wildlife
  • Natural History
  • Science
  • Scientific American
© Seminole State College Library 2012-14
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip