What are library databases?
Library databases collect articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers. The articles contained in each database have been selected by librarians and experts to be credible and authoritative.
Databases are searchable by topic and can be accessed from anywhere with an internet connection and your valid log-in credentials.
Login to the Library
You will need to login to the library in order to view library databases, your library account, or ebooks.
Borrower ID =
My.Seminole.State login name
PIN =
last 4 digits of your social security number OR your student ID number
You can also view this 1 minute video tutorial on how to login or call 407.708.2618 for assistance.
Google Scholar for Articles

Google Scholar is a repository for citations, e-books, and some full-text academic journals.
Check out this short YouTube tutorial on how to link Google Scholar with the Seminole State library databases.
Controversial and Social Issues Databases
- SIRS Researcher (SIRS)Good database to begin your research. Content is mostly from magazines and newspapers and allows for easy browsing of topics.
- SIRS Researcher tutorial

- Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)Focuses on controversial and widely-covered social issues. As the title implies, the content represents multiple viewpoints on issues- great for argumentative essays.
- Opposing Viewpoints tutorial

General and Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)Database that is weighted more towards scholarly journals, but has magazine and newspaper articles as well. Contains articles on a large variety of topics.
- Academic Search Complete tutorial

- Americas Newspapers (NewsBank)Good database for newspaper research, topics that may not fit into traditional academic categories, and for local issues.
- OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition (EBSCO)Another very general database that is good for most topics.
Specialized Databases
- Art and Architecture Complete (EBSCO)Database for the study of art and architecture.
- Biography in Context (Gale)Provides contextual information on the world's most influential people.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO)A scholarly business database with collection of bibliographic and full text content.
- CINAHL Plus Full Text (EBSCO)Database covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
- CINAHL tutorials (parts 1 & 2)

- ERIC (EBSCO)A guide to published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics.
- General Science Full Text (EBSCO)Periodical coverage includes 242 popular science magazines as well as professional journals. General Science Full Text also covers The New York Times Science Section (published weekly on Tuesday).
- GREENR (Gale)A new online resource that offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more.
- History Reference Center (EBSCO)Full text from history reference books, encyclopedias, and history magazines as well as historical documents, biographies, photos, maps, and film and video.
- JSTORAccess back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
- JSTOR tutorial

- Literature Resources from GaleSingle-search access to an assortment of traditional literary reference works, critical information on authors and their works, current journal articles, and other additional resources.
- Literature Resources from Gale tutorial

- MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)Full text for nearly 1,200 journals with coverage dating back to 1965. Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care system, and much more
- PsycArticles (EBSCO)Provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
- Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)Full-featured database covering such topics as technology, science, art, humanities, business, law, and social sciences. Many articles in full-text.
Loading...
