What are library databases?
Library databases collect articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers. The articles contained in each database have been selected by librarians and experts to be credible and authoritative.
Databases are searchable by topic and can be accessed from anywhere with an internet connection and your valid log-in credentials.
Login to the Library
You will need to login to the library in order to view library databases, your library account, or ebooks.
Borrower ID =
My.Seminole.State login name
PIN =
last 4 digits of your social security number OR your student ID number
You can also view this 1 minute video tutorial on how to login or call 407.708.2618 for assistance.
Google Scholar for Articles

Google Scholar is a repository for citations, e-books, and some full-text academic journals.
Check out this short YouTube tutorial on how to link Google Scholar with the Seminole State library databases.
Recommended Databases for Film Studies
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)Database that is weighted more towards scholarly journals, but has magazine and newspaper articles as well. Contains articles on a large variety of topics.
- Academic Search Complete video tutorial

- Biography in Context (Gale)Biographical information on directors, actors and noted people in the film industry.
- Biography in Context video tutorial

- Humanities Full Text (EBSCO)Indexes 10 film journals, 5 with full text.
- International Dictionary of Films and FilmmakersAvailable via the Virtual Reference Library in the onliine databases
- JSTORAccess back issues of core journals in the humaities, social sciences, literature and science. Indexes 7 film journals with varying coveerage.
- JSTOR video tutorial

Film Periodicals at Seminole State Library
You can find these periodicals on the 2nd floor of the Sanford/Lake Mary campus library.
- Asian Cinema
- Cineast
- Cinefex
- Entertainment Weekly
- Film Comment
- Film Quarterly
- Moviemaker Magazine
- Sight and Sound
Loading...
