Skip to main content

ENC1101 - Professor Kellen: Research Guide

start here icon  Start Here

Welcome to the research guide for Professor Kellen's English I class! Use the sections below to help you login to the library and find scholarly articles from library databases. Also checkout the section on choosing keywords as search terms. The final sections includes contact information for library assistance.

login icon  Library Login Directions

library login box

library login box

To find scholarly articles in the library databases, you can click on the links below in the Find Articles section or go to the Library Databases link. You will then be prompted to login using your borrower ID and PIN:

Borrower ID: MySeminoleState login name

PIN: last four digits of your social security number OR the last four digits of your student ID number

For a more thorough explanation, watch this one minute video tutorial or the handout attached below. If you still need assistance, contact the Circulation desk at 407-708-2618 or send a message to library@seminolestate.edu.

articles icon  Find Articles

Library databases collect articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers. The articles contained in each database have been selected by librarians and experts to be credible and authoritative.

Databases are searchable by topic and can be accessed from anywhere with an internet connection and your valid log-in credentials. Seminole State library has access to over 120 databases. Below you will find the best databases for topics on education.

Databases

keywords icon  Choosing Keywords

Selecting the right keywords is important when you begin searching. Keywords are the most important parts of your topic and are necessary to properly communicate with the different research tools you'll be using. Here are some tips to choosing keywords:

  1. Never use whole sentences or long statements
  2. Nouns usually make the best keywords
  3. Keep adding, subtracting, and replacing keywords you use to find a variety of results
  4. Expand your list by using synonyms, subject terms, and more specific concepts

Below are some examples of education-related keywords to help you get started:

  • academic achievement
  • academic improvement
  • class size
  • college preparation programs
  • college readiness
  • education
  • effectiveness
  • family-school relationships
  • high school
  • parent participation
  • parental influence
  • parental involvement
  • parents
  • parent-school relationships
  • parent-teacher cooperation
  • parent-teacher organizations
  • private schools
  • public schools
  • school
  • school environment
  • school involvement
  • student performance
  • teacher effectiveness
  • teacher-student ratios

After you have chosen your keywords, you'll want to combine them to form a search statement. You can combine words using "AND" in between. Have more than one word as a keyword? Put quotations around it. This will tell the database or search engine that you using a phrase and not just individual words. Here are few examples drawn from the above keyword list:

→ "academic achievement" AND "class size"

→ education AND children AND "parental involvement"

→ "teacher-student ratios" AND "public schools"

citation style icon  MLA Citation Style

Citation Guides

Citation Tools

help icon  Help

nichole martin librarian

Nichole Martin, class librarian

Have questions? Contact your class librarian, Nichole!

Phone: 407-708-2345

Email: martinna@seminolestate.edu

In-Person: Sanford/Lake Mary campus library

I'm available for appointments and respond quickly to messages Tuesday-Thursday. I do check my messages on the weekends, but response times are slower than weekdays. Canvas Inbox or email are the fastest ways to get in contact with me.