Last Updated: Nov 20, 2013
From the New York State Education Department. Nursing page on the Internet. Available from Nursing; accessed 1st October 2013.
Library databases collect articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers. The articles contained in each database have been selected by librarians and experts to be credible and authoritative.
Databases are searchable by topic and can be accessed from anywhere with an internet connection and your valid log-in credentials.
You will need to login to the library in order to view library databases, your library account, or ebooks.
Borrower ID =
My.Seminole.State login name
last 4 digits of your social security number OR your student ID number
You can also view this 1 minute video tutorial on how to login or call 407.708.2618 for assistance.
These are several recommended databases available through the Seminole State Library that will help you find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles regarding all aspects of Health and Nursing.
- CINAHL Plus Full Text (EBSCO)
CINAHL® with Full Text provides indexing for 1,835 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association, CINAHL with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
- CINAHL tutorials
- Health and Nursing (EBSCO)
Search CINAHL, Health Source Consumer and Nursing, Medline, and PsycARTICLES
- Nursing and Allied Health Source (ProQuest)
Access articles and graphics from more than 270 nursing-related publications, including Nursing, Nursing Management, RN, American Journal of Sports Medicine, Physical Therapy, and Patient Care Management.
- Nursing Resource Center (Gale)
Thomson Gale's Nursing Resource Center is a premier destination for nursing students at community colleges across the United States. Available on Gale's PowerSearch platform, this resource brings together in one easy-to-use interface important titles from Gale and Macmillan and excellent, thorough nursing-specific texts from Thomson Delmar. Additionally, relevant journal results from top publications in the field and animated depictions of the human anatomy complements the core reference texts.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- Academic Search Complete tutorial
While most results will not be available in their full text, you may find additional sources by consulting Google Scholar.
Check out a post from the library's blog for tips on finding useful articles.