This is the "Articles & Databases" page of the "Philosophy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Library Resource Guides for Seminole State Students

Philosophy  

Last Updated: Apr 10, 2014 URL: http://libguides.seminolestate.edu/philosophy Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Articles & Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

Examing Sense

"Sense" from Pixabay, Attribution-Public Domain CC0

 

Login to the Library

You will need to login to the library in order to view library databases, your library account, or ebooks.

Borrower ID =
My.Seminole.State login name

PIN =
last 4 digits of your social security number OR your student ID number

You can also view this 1 minute video tutorial on how to login or call 407.708.2618 for assistance.

 

Google Scholar for Articles

google scholar

Google Scholar is a repository for citations, e-books, and some full-text academic journals.

Check out this short YouTube tutorial on how to link Google Scholar with the Seminole State library databases.

 

What are library databases?

Library databases collect articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers. The articles contained in each database have been selected by librarians and experts to be credible and authoritative.

Databases are searchable by topic and can be accessed from anywhere with an internet connection and your valid log-in credentials.

Journals on Philosophy

These are just a few of the journals on women's studies available through the Seminole State College library. For more journals, please visit the Journals A-Z link on the library homepage. 

  • International Journal of Philosophical Studies
    From the database Academic Search Complete (EBSCO). Articles available from 03/01/1998 to present (Most recent 18 months not available)
  • Philosophy
    From the database Academic Search Complete (EBSCO). Articles available from 01/01/1994 to present
  • British Journal for the History of Philosophy
    From the database Academic Search Complete (EBSCO). Articles available from 03/01/1998 to present (Most recent 18 months not available)
  • European Journal of Philosophy
    From the database Academic Search Complete (EBSCO). Articles available from 03/01/1998 to present (Most recent 18 months not available)
  • Journal of Moral Philosophy
    From the database Academic Search Complete (EBSCO). Articles available from 04/01/2004 to present (Most recent year not available)

General Databases

  • JSTOR
    In JSTOR, going to "Search" and then "Advanced Search" makes it possible to search by the discipline "Philosophy." This database has 103 journal titles on this subject.
  • JSTOR video tutorial  Icon  Icon
  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
    Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
  • Academic Search Complete video tutorial  Icon  Icon
  • Academic OneFile (Gale)
    Upgrade to General OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.
  • Biography in Context (Gale)
    Database is for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
  • Biography in Context video tutorial  Icon  Icon
  • Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)
    Full-featured database covering such topics as technology, science, art, humanities, business, law, and social sciences. Many articles in full-text.
  • Social Science Full Text video tutorial  Icon  Icon
© Seminole State College Library 2012-14
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip