This is the "Articles & Databases" page of the "Respiratory Care" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Library Resource Guides for Seminole State Students

Respiratory Care  

Last Updated: Jan 16, 2014 URL: http://libguides.seminolestate.edu/respiratory Print Guide RSS Updates

Articles & Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

Lung Diaphragm

Image by Wikipedia user Theresa Knott, Creative Commons.

 

Login to the Library

You will need to login to the library in order to view library databases, your library account, or ebooks.

Borrower ID =
My.Seminole.State login name

PIN =
last 4 digits of your social security number OR your student ID number

You can also view this 1 minute video tutorial on how to login or call 407.708.2618 for assistance.

 

Google Scholar for Articles

google scholar

Google Scholar is a repository for citations, e-books, and some full-text academic journals.

Check out this short YouTube tutorial on how to link Google Scholar with the Seminole State library databases.

 

What are library databases?

Library databases collect articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers. The articles contained in each database have been selected by librarians and experts to be credible and authoritative.

Databases are searchable by topic and can be accessed from anywhere with an internet connection and your valid log-in credentials.

Recommended Databases

These are several recommended databases available through the Seminole State Library that will help you find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles regarding all aspects of Respiratory Care.

  • CINAHL Plus Full Text (EBSCO)
    CINAHL is a recommended starting point for most nursing research. It's focus is highly weighted towards journal articles in the nursing fields. View the tutorials in the Database Tutorials section of this class research site.
  • CINAHL video tutorials  Icon
  • MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)
    Medline is an excellent database for medical research. There will be a large variety of nursing articles available. Another recommended starting point for your research.
  • Health Reference Center Academic (Gale)
    An advanced interface to the full-text nursing and allied health journals found in the Health & Wellness Resource Center. Does not include reference sources or the Alternative Health suite of resources.
  • Nursing and Allied Health Source (ProQuest)
    Access articles and graphics from more than 270 nursing-related publications, including Nursing, Nursing Management, RN, American Journal of Sports Medicine, Physical Therapy, and Patient Care Management.
  • PsycArticles (EBSCO)
    This is a psychology-specific resource rather than a nursing resource, but you can find some mental health nursing journal articles in this database as well. You'll need to pay closer attention to your keywords.
  • PsycArticles video tutorial  Icon
  • Evidence Based Practice (Joanna Briggs Institute) (Ovid)
    This comprehensive database covers a wide range of medical, nursing, and health science specialties and includes a unique suite of information that’s been analyzed, appraised, and prepared by expert reviewers at JBI so you and your team can integrate the world’s best evidence into your practice.
  • Nursing Full-Text Journal Collection (Ovid)
    Ovid’s nursing offerings span traditional specialty areas like pain management, maternity care, surgical nursing, nursing management and evidence-based nursing. They include clinically-relevant tools in diagnosis and care procedures, practitioner journals, references for nurse education and CME, resources for nursing administrators, and foundational research literature. And with OvidSP, your users can uncover relevant current or historical information quickly and easily.
  • Ovid Nursing (Ovid)
    Ovid’s nursing offerings span traditional specialty areas like pain management, maternity care, surgical nursing, nursing management and evidence-based nursing. They include clinically-relevant tools in diagnosis and care procedures, practitioner journals, references for nurse education and CME, resources for nursing administrators, and foundational research literature. And with OvidSP, your users can uncover relevant current or historical information quickly and easily.
  • Primal Pictures Anatomy & Physiology (Ovid)
    Accessible via the robust, easy-to-use OvidSP platform, Primal Pictures on OvidSP is the ultimate online anatomy reference—a comprehensive selection of dynamic, interactive modules featuring highly accurate three-dimensional anatomy models. This single package offers everything from systemic anatomy to regional anatomy and everything in between.
© Seminole State College Library 2012-14
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip