Welcome!

"Bust of Karl Marx", Berlin, 2006. Flickr, Creative Commons.
Login to the Library
You will need to login to the library in order to view library databases, your library account, or ebooks.
Borrower ID =
My.Seminole.State login name
PIN =
last 4 digits of your social security number OR your student ID number
You can also view this 1 minute video tutorial on how to login or call 407.708.2618 for assistance.
Google Scholar for Articles

Google Scholar is a repository for citations, e-books, and some full-text academic journals.
Check out this short YouTube tutorial on how to link Google Scholar with the Seminole State library databases.
What are library databases?
Library databases collect articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers. The articles contained in each database have been selected by librarians and experts to be credible and authoritative.
Databases are searchable by topic and can be accessed from anywhere with an internet connection and your valid log-in credentials.
Recommended Databases for Sociology
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)Database that is weighted more towards scholarly journals, but has magazine and newspaper articles as well. Contains articles on a large variety of topics.
- Academic Search Complete Video Tutorial

- CQ Researcher Plus Archive (CQ Press)Collection of over 3,000 expert reports on current issues.
- Credo ReferenceUse this database to access over 130 reference titles that pertain to sociology.
- Credo Reference tutorial

- DemographicsNow (Gale)Very good source for demographic data and related statistical resources.
- Issues and Controversies (Facts on File)Current and controversial social issues are covered with pro/con discussions, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
- JSTORAccess back issues of core journals in the humaities, social sciences, literature and science. Indexes 7 film journals with varying coveerage.
- JSTOR Video Tutorial

- Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)Opposing Viewpoints in Context provides contextual information and opinions on most social issues. Also useful to locate statistics on many topics.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context Video Tutorial

- Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)Full-featured database covering such topics as technology, science, art, humanities, business, law, and social sciences. Many articles in full-text.
Loading...
