Last Updated: Feb 12, 2013
George Washington Crossing the Delaware River, accessed through the ARTstor database.
You will need to login to the library in order to view library databases, your library account, or ebooks.
Borrower ID =
My.Seminole.State login name
last 4 digits of your social security number OR your student ID number
You can also view this 1 minute video tutorial on how to login or call 407.708.2618 for assistance.
Google Scholar is a repository for citations, e-books, and some full-text academic journals.
Check out this short YouTube tutorial on how to link Google Scholar with the Seminole State library databases.
Library databases collect articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers. The articles contained in each database have been selected by librarians and experts to be credible and authoritative.
Databases are searchable by topic and can be accessed from anywhere with an internet connection and your valid log-in credentials.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- Academic Search Complete video tutorial
- Credo Reference
Access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
- Credo Reference video tutorial
- History Reference Center (EBSCO)
History Reference Center offers full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.
Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
- JSTOR video tutorial
- New York Times - Historical (ProQuest)
Full-text and full-image articles for The New York Times®, covering the period from 1851-2007.
- Salem History
Includes the sets Decades, Encyclopedia of Mathematics and Society, Great Events from History, Great Lives from History, Milestone Documents and Weapons and Warfare.
- African American Experience (Greenwood Electronic Media)
The widest-ranging and easiest-to-use online collection on African American life ever assembled, The African American Experience is the definitive electronic research tool for African American history and culture from one of the most respected publishers in the field.
- American Indian Experience
Full-text digital resource exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the United States. American Indian Experience offers full-text access to an online library, featuring more than 150 volumes of reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images. From prehistory to the present day, from the Inuit of the north to the Seminoles of Florida
- Latino American Experience (Greenwood Electronic Media)
Virtual library of over 200 volumes of content dedicated to the history and culture of Latinos - the largest and fastest-growing minority in the U.S. LAE features several recently published reference products from Greenwood, Arte Publico Press, Indiana University press and Columbia University.
- Sources in U.S.History Online: Civil War
Sources in U.S. History Online is a series of archival digital collections intended for public library patrons as well as high school, community college, and university students. The Civil War digital collection contains nearly 500 significant documents of the time--personal narratives, monographs, regimental histories, collected essays, sermons, songs, legal tracts, and political speeches--enabling students, faculty and patrons to study one of the key events in American history.