Online Library Instruction
We're here to help with your online Library and information literacy instruction needs. Discover your options:
Want tailored instruction? Personalized instruction Custom Made
Embedded Librarian - add a librarian to your course to create custom content
Department Liaison Librarians - work with a librarian to order materials or develop projects
Research Assignment Collaboration - collaborate to tweak, develop, or expand an assignment
Custom Instructional Videos - video content made at your request
Custom Research Guides - a Research Guide for your specific class
Live Zoom Sessions - synchronous classes replicating a typical F2F session
Need something quick? Premade instruction Ready to Go
Canvas Modules - replicating a F2F session or teaching a particular skill/concept
Tutorial Videos - short videos on searching specific databases and other research concepts
Research Guides - subject specific guides or a self-guided research course
Custom Made
Embedded Librarian
By embedding a librarian in your Canvas course, we can collaborate with you to create and facilitate module(s) that teach information literacy and research skills. As a member of your course, we can directly engage your students and field their questions.
Librarians can
-
create custom learning objects
-
design new lessons, assignments , or assessments for the online environment
-
proactively reach out to students during the research process.
Submit an Embedded Librarian Request or contact a librarian to get started!
Research Assignment Collaboration
Librarians can work collaboratively with faculty to tweak assignment descriptions to fit available resources and purchase additional resources if needed.
Examples include
-
Tweak print book based assignments for the online environment,
-
Suggest relevant resources for specific types of assignments,
-
Order materials to support specific course research topics,
-
Or expanding lists of suggested topics for students.
Custom Instructional Videos
Don't see what you need in our list of video tutorials? The Library can make custom video content to support your courses.
Contact a librarian to get started!
See an example of faculty collaboration in the ENC 1102 materials developed by Karen Kaufmann below.
Custom Research Guides
If none of our pre-made research guides work for your needs, we can create a customized guide. To request a custom guide, contact a librarian.
Live Zoom Sessions
Instruction Librarians can host live, synchronous instruction sessions via Zoom at your desired course meeting time. To book a session, please contact:
- Altamonte Campus: Elena Soltau
- Heathrow Campus: Ross Martin
- Oviedo Campus: Kellie Diaz
- Sanford/Lake Mary Campus: Karen Kaufmann
Ready to Go
Canvas Modules
Library-created modules are available for importing to your course from the Commons. Add & edit as needed, and consider embedding a Librarian to your course to personalize the content!
*Note: Because of recent changes to Canvas Commons, you will need to search for individual modules by title and creator to find them. Or search "Seminole State Library" for all library content in the Commons.
- Seminole State College - Anthropology Research By Ross Martin
- Seminole State College: APA Crash Course by Karli Mair This module teaches students how to cite using APA 7th edition. It uses a mixture of video, text, and activities to demonstrate setting up a Word Document for APA, formatting in-text citations, and creating reference list citations. It also covers bias-free language. The module follows the Manual, but you can modify the content to match your specific citation requirements. A practice quiz with feedback and a final quiz provide assessment of citation skills. For technical assistance, please contact Karli Mair: mairk@seminolestate.edu.
- Seminole State College: APA Crash Course w/ 6th Ed. Commentary by Karli Mair This module teaches students how to cite using APA 7th edition. It uses a mixture of video, text, and activities to demonstrate setting up a Word Document for APA, formatting in-text citations, and creating reference list citations. It also covers bias-free language. The module follows the Manual, but you can modify the content to match your specific citation requirements. A practice quiz with feedback and a final quiz provide assessment of citation skills. Expect the module to take students 45-60 minutes to complete. Note that there is a manual grading component for the complete citation in the Final Quiz. For technical assistance, please contact Karli Mair mairk@seminolestate.edu.
- Seminole State College - Construction Research Module by Ross Martin
- Seminole State College - Developmental Writing Research Module by Ross Martin
- Seminole State College - EAP Library Research Module
- Seminole State College - ENC1101 Research Module by Ross Martin
- Seminole State College - ENC1102 Literary Research Module by Ross Martin
- Seminole State College - How to Spot Fake News by Karli Mair This module teaches students how to evaluate whether news sources are fake or real. It uses a mixture of video, text, and activities to demonstrate the fake news types: completely fake, distorted, satire, and clickbait. A practice quiz with feedback and a final graded quiz using actual news sources provide assessment of news evaluation skills. You can expect the module to take students 45-60 minutes to complete. All content is already in the module, and an embedded librarian is not required.
- Seminole State College: MLA Crash Course 9th Edition by Karli Mair This module teaches students how to cite using MLA 9th edition. It uses a mixture of video, text, and activities to demonstrate setting up a Word Document for MLA, formatting in-text citations, and creating works cited citations. The module follows the Handbook, but you can modify the content to match your specific citation requirements (such as adding an access date or leaving URLS as links). A practice quiz with feedback and a final quiz provide assessment of citation skills. Expect the module to take students 60-90 minutes to complete. This module has all the content necessary and does not need an embedded librarian; however, you will need to grade the final citation submission in the Test It Quiz.
- Seminole State College: MLA Crash Course 8th Edition by Karli Mair
- Seminole State College - Plagiarism 101 by Karli Mair This module uses a mixture of video, text, and multiple choice questions to help students define plagiarism, identify the purpose of citations, and create strategies to avoid plagiarism. Expect the module to take students 20-30 minutes to complete. All content is already in the module, and an embedded librarian is not required.
- Seminole State College: Researching Literature by Karli Mair This module uses a mixture of video, text, and activities to teach students how to distinguish between literary source types , interpret a literary research assignment, identify search strategies for finding literary sources, evaluate sources for use in a specific literary research assignment, and recognize the scholarly conversation on a particular work or author. Expect the module to take students 30-60 minutes to complete. This module has all the content necessary and does not need an embedded librarian; however, you are always welcome to request one.
- Seminole State College - Speech Research Module
How to Find Content in Canvas Commons
The handout below will walk you through finding content and learning objects, including those from the Library, in Canvas Commons.
Tutorial Videos
Course or Program Specific Videos
- ENC1102 Research Lecture Made in collaboration with faculty, this video tutorial guides students through the basics of what they need for a typical literature research assignment.
How-To And Concept Videos
- 5 Components of Information Literacy This video covers the key points of information literacy and how they are present in both academia and in daily life. Run time: 4:27
- Choosing a Database This video will help guide students through the process of choosing databases that will best suit their topic. Run time: 1:44
- Choosing Search Terms This video tutorial will give students the basic tools they'll need to choose appropriate search terms and begin constructing quality search statements. Run time: 3:43
- Creative Commons for Coursework This video tutorial teaches students how to use media in school assignments responsibly and ethically by utilizing Creative Commons content. Run time: 2:26
- Determine the Source Type This video tutorial will teach students how to distinguish between different types of sources. Run time: 2:51
- Find Books, eBooks and Media This video tutorial shows students basic search techniques for finding library materials, how to interpret search results, and how to navigate through the various options available through the Seminole State library catalog. It also introduced students to borrowing materials via the UBorrow system. Run time: 3:14
- Find Cited Articles using Named Database This video tutorial demonstrates techniques for locating an article from a works cited/reference list that includes database information. Run time: 1:52
- Getting Started with Online Library ResourcesThis very short video offers a quick overview of the online resources available for students. Perfect for SLS courses!
- Using Google Scholar This video tutorial shows students how to find scholarly articles using Google Scholar and also how to connect Google Scholar with the Seminole State Library to retrieve articles they can already access through our research databases! Run Time: 2:27
The Library's quick video tutorials are great for point-of-need learning in Canvas. See the complete lists below:
Database Tutorials
- Academic Writer Made in collaboration with faculty, this video shows students how to use the Academic Writer database.
- Art & Architecture Source Database This video tutorial shows students how to search and access scholarly articles about art in the Art and Architecture Source database. Run time: 3:05.
- Artermis Literary Sources Database This video shows how to search the Artemis Database, which allows you to search multiple literature databases from Gale from one interface. In this database, you will find literature criticism, topic and work overviews, and author biographies. Run Time: 2:07
- CINAHL Database Covers a basic search in CINAHL, how to add items to a folder, and how to email items to oneself. Run time: 3:56
- Education Source (EBSCO) Database This video tutorial shows students how to search and access scholarly, news, and magazines articles about education in the Education Source database. Run time: 2:38
- Films on Demand Database This video tutorial shows students how to search and access academic films in the Films on Demand database. Run time: 1:21
- GreenFILE database This video tutorial shows students how to search and access scholarly, news, and magazine articles about environmental topics in the GreenFILE database. Run time: 2:35
- Humanities Source database This video will show students the most important features of the Humanities Source database as well as how to search it. Run time: 2:36
- JSTOR database This video tutorial shows students how to search and access scholarly articles in the JSTOR database. JSTOR is best for topics with a historical aspect to them because it has more archival sources and not many more recent ones. Run time: 1:34
- Literary Reference Center Database This video tutorial will briefly outline the key features of the Literary Reference Center database and help students begin an effective search for primary and secondary literature sources. Run time: 3:39
- Military and Government Collection Database This video tutorial will walk students through locating and accessing articles found in the Military & Government Collection database, which includes current and history military history and analysis, political science research, and government documents. Run time: 2:36
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) database This video tutorial shows students how to search for and access resources in the Opposing Viewpoints database, which centers around controversial topics. Run time: 2:41
- PsycArticles Database This video tutorial shows students how to search for and access resources in the PsychArticles database. Run time: 2:31
- SIRS Knowledge Source database This video tutorial shows students how to search for and access resources in the SIRS Knowledge Source database. Run time: 1:45
Research Guides
Subject-specific guides connect your students with pertinent resources from multiple formats (databases/articles, eBooks, web links, etc.).
- Many courses already have a subject-specific guide populated in the Research Help tab of Canvas navigation
- For a complete list of available guides, visit the Research Tutorials/Subject Guides page
- To request that an existing guide be embedded/exchanged within your course, contact the Online Services Librarian
We also have a self-guided Research Foundations course that covers research basics, including understanding information, beginning the research process, finding books/media, finding articles, and citing sources.
Need another option? Simply add links to Guides anywhere in your course: