How to Find Reliable Sources
Learn how to find reliable sources to use in your academic papers, including how to search for sources, evaluate sources, and organize sources with a reference management system.
To access this module you will need to access the library database Academic Writer and create your own personal account.
- Access Academic Writer
- Sign up for an account by clicking on "Welcome", selecting "Login" and clicking on “No account? Create one here". Write down your username and password somewhere safe and handy to refer to later on.
- DO NOT check the box that says, “keep me logged in.” When there are updates to the database, your login information is erased.
Academic Writer
© 2023 American Psychological Association.
Course Readings - Course Textbook
Course Textbook - Introduction to Sociology 3e
Summary
Introduction to Sociology 3e aligns to the topics and objectives of many introductory sociology courses. It is arranged in a manner that provides foundational sociological theories and contexts, then progresses through various aspects of human and societal interactions. Overall, Introduction to Sociology 3e aims to center the course and discipline as crucial elements for understanding relationships, society, and civic engagement; the authors seek to lay the foundation for students to apply what they learn throughout their lives and careers.
Searching Using Keywords
Keywords to try when searching using databases:
media
ethnocentrism
"cultural awareness"
"cultural relativism"
Cross-cultural
values AND media
Core values in ____(name of country)
Ideal culture
Real culture
Social location
culture AND values
-any of the listed American Values for this assignment:
- Achievement and success
- Individualism
- Hard work
- Efficiency and practicality
- Material comfort
- Science and Technology
- Freedom
- Democracy
- Equal opportunity
- Group superiority
Try combining keywords using the term AND to explore and discover new content. The results of your searches may uncover new keywords and combinations of keywords to use in the Advanced Search option offered in the databases.
Library Databases
- Global Issues (Gale In Context) Includes Controversial global issues,Wikipedia type articles, pro/con articles, magazines, scholarly journals, and statistics.
- Social Science Journals (ProQuest) Includes credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals, magazines, and dissertations.
- JSTOR Includes Scholarly journals, book chapters, and primary sources. View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
- Sage Journals (Sage Publications) Includes credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Good source to start your research discovery. Includes: scholarly journals, news, and magazines.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.