We hand-picked these resources to help you find info on your topic:
(You may have to use the Library Login)
Articles/Databases
- Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): History, literature, political science, philosophy, language, and religion. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals, magazines, news.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Humanitites, social sciences, and sciences. Includes: Scholarly journals, book chapters, and primary sources.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
View a Specialized Articles/Databases
- Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Architecture, art, design, and manufacturing. Includes: professional magazines, scholarly journals, conference papers, and news.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - ARTstor This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Art, architecture, and humanities. Best for: Research or presentations that need images or primary sources. Includes: Images of art, architecture, and artists. Little to no research information is given for the images.
- Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowBest for: Assignments needing information on authors, scientists, politicians, artists, celebrities, historical figures, etc. Includes: Biographies, news, media, and some scholarly journals.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - History Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowBest for: Starting your research. Includes: Reference entries, magazines, biographies, and images.
- Oxford Art Online (Oxford University Press) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Art, architecture, and history. Includes: Art images, artist biographies, and short articles on art terms, archeaological sites, and works.
- World Religion (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new windowBest for: Easier to read introductions to belief systems and key religious figures. Includes: Wikipedia type articles, biographies, and primary sources.
Websites
- The Art Story-Modern ArtModern Art - includes artistic works produced during the period extending roughly from the 1860s to the 1970s, and denotes the style and philosophy of the art created during that era
- Bauhaus MovementThe Bauhaus existed from 1919 to 1933 and today the world considers it to be the home of the avant-guard of classical modern style in all fields of liberal and applied arts.
- Biography Channel-History and CultureBiography Channel's website with a subsection on History and Culture
- British MuseumThe Museum’s collection online offers everyone unparalleled access to objects in the collection. This innovative database is one of the earliest and most extensive online museum search platforms in the world of over 2 million records and 4 million objects.
- General Introduction to PostmodernismHistorical guide to postmodernism from Purdue University
- Jazz MusicPresenting 0ver 35 curated channels of jazz channels for your enjoyment. Listen for free and enjoy countless hours of the best jazz music around.
- Modern and Contemporary ArtistsOver 35 channels of curated jazz styles, such as Smooth, Cool, Piano, Latin and Be-Bop.
- Museum or Modern Art (MOMA)The website of the famous museum in NY that is searchable by theme and artist.
Video/Media
- Films on Demand (Films Media Group) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics. Best for: Presentations needing visual aids or assignments that allow films as sources (create an optional personal account to save videos and create custom clips). Includes: Streaming educational videos.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
Library Login
Library Access
(articles, eBooks, etc. from databases OR library search engine)
(loans, renewals, requests from the library search engine)
Username = your College email address
Password = your Canvas password
Course Reserves
Your textbook and other course materials may be available at the Library:
Ebooks
Contemporary Art and the Cosmopolitan Imagination by ISBN: 9780203846834Publication Date: 2010-09-13Contemporary Art and the Cosmopolitan Imagination explores the role of art in conceiving and reconfiguring the political, ethical and social landscape of our time. Understanding art as a vital form of articulation, Meskimmon argues that artworks do more than simply reflect and represent the processes of transnational and transcultural exchange typical of the global economy. Rather, art can change the way we imagine, understand and engage with the world and with others very different than ourselves. In this sense, art participates in a critical dialogue between cosmopolitan imagination, embodied ethics and locational identity.
Digital Currents by ISBN: 9780203005279Publication Date: 2004-08-02Digital Currents explores the growing impact of digital technologies on aesthetic experience and examines the major changes taking place in the role of the artist as social communicator.
Modern Art by ISBN: 9780192803641Publication Date: 2005-05-26Modern Art: A Very Short Introduction engages general readers, offering them not only information and ideas about modern art, but also explaining its contemporary relevance and history.
Modernism by ISBN: 9780192804419Publication Date: 2010-09-03In this Very Short Introduction Christopher Butler examines how and why Modernism began, explaining what it is and showing how it has gradually informed all aspects of 20th and 21st century life.
Art of the 20th Century by ISBN: 9781785257230Publication Date: 2016-03-09The 20th century was a revolutionary period in art history. In the span of a few short years, Modernism exploded into being, disrupting centuries of classicalfigurative tradition to create something entirely new. This astoundingly thorough survey of art's modern era showcases all of the key artistic movements of the 20thcentury, from Fauvism to Pop Art, featuring illustrative examples of some of the most renowned works of the era along with illuminating companion essays byexpert critics and art historians. A vivid window into the collective psyche of the modern world's great artists, Art of the 20th Century is a must-have for any fan ofcontemporary art.
Books
20th Century Architecture by Call Number: NA680 .G567 1998 (Heathrow)ISBN: 9780879519124Publication Date: 1999A celebration of the great buildings and structures of the modern age. This book traces every moment in architecture, from Modernism to Classicism, and details every major architect of the century past.
Art of the Postmodern Era by ISBN: 9780064385091Publication Date: 1996-11-13The fourth and final installment in Irving Sandler’s series on contemporary art, Art of the Postmodern Era surveys the artists, works, movements, and ideas as well as the social and cultural context of this energetic and turbulent period in art.
Cassell Companion to 20th-Century Music by Call Number: ML100 .P53 1998ISBN: 9780304350995Publication Date: 1998-12-31A one-volume ready-reference comprising brief entries and follows a broad definition of 20th-century music, with coverage encompassing classical, rock, pop, blues, jazz, and country.
Modern Art in the USA by Call Number: N6512 .H47 2001ISBN: 9780130361387Publication Date: 2000-09-19This chronologically organized and comprehensive anthology of readings tells the whole story of art in America from 1900 to the present. It focuses on the themes, issues, and controversies that occurred throughout the century--using selections that are contemporary with the art--by artists, critics, exhibition organizers, poets, politicians, and other writers on culture.
Pocket Guide to 20th Century Drama by Call Number: PN1861 .U59 2001ISBN: 9780571200146Publication Date: 2001-06-01This guide provides a short introduction to a dramatic century; puts each play into historical and theatrical context; gives the story line and an analysis of each play, and provides details of major productions around the world. And, finally, there's a chronology of one thousand twentieth-century plays.
