Resources Chosen for You
We hand-picked these resources to help you find info on your topic:
(You may have to use the Library Login)
Articles/Databases
- Environmental Studies (Gale In Context) (formerly GREENR) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Environmental topics such as pollution, carbon markets, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling. Best for: Starting your research or choosing a topic. Includes: Wikipedia type articles, scholarly journals, magazines, news, statistics, primary sources, and podcasts.
- GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Environmental topics such as climate change, green building, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals and magazines.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Biology, chemistry, environmental science, math, engineering, technology, medicine, physics, and astronomy. Best for: Starting your research or choosing a topic. Includes: Easy to read wikipedia type articles, news, magazines, and some journals.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics. Best for: Starting your research. Includes: scholarly journals, news, and magazines.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
View a Websites
- NOAA- National Geophysical Data CenterOnline repository for geophysical data describing the solid earth, marine, and solar-terrestrial environment, as well as earth observations from space.
- ReefBaseReefBase gathers available knowledge about coral reefs into one information repository. It is intended to facilitate analyses and monitoring of coral reef health and the quality of life of reef-dependent people, and to support informed decisions about coral reef use and management. ReefBase is the official database of the Global Coral Reef Monitoring Network (GCRMN), as well as the International Coral Reef Action Network (ICRAN). The ReefBase Project is housed at the WorldFish Center in Penang, Malaysia, with funding through ICRAN from the United Nations Foundation (UNF).
- Smithsonian Institute: Ocean PortalThe Smithsonian Institute Ocean Portal focuses on everything ocean – unusual and everyday organisms, ocean-inspired art, researchers devoting their lives to exploring the still mostly mysterious ecosystem. Partnering with the National Museum of Natural History’s Sant Ocean Hall and the Sant Marine Science Chair, the Ocean Portal supports the Smithsonian’s mission to increase the public’s understanding and stewardship of the Ocean
Video/Media
Library Login
Library Access
(articles, eBooks, etc. from databases OR library search engine)
(loans, renewals, requests from the library search engine)
Username = your College email address
Password = your Canvas password
Course Reserves
Your textbook and other course materials may be available at the Library:
Books
The AMS Weather Book by
America has some of the most varied and dynamic weather in the world. Every year, the Gulf Coast is battered by hurricanes, the Great Plains are ravaged by tornados, the Midwest is pummeled by blizzards, and the temperature in the Southwest reaches a sweltering 120 degrees. Extreme weather can be a matter of life and death, but even when it is pleasant—72 degrees and sunny—weather is still central to the lives of all Americans. Indeed, it’s hard to imagine a topic of greater collective interest. Whether we want to know if we should close the storm shutters or just carry an umbrella to work, we turn to forecasts. But few of us really understand the science behind them. All that changes with The AMS Weather Book. The most comprehensive and up-to-date guide to our weather and our atmosphere, it is the ultimate resource for anyone who wants to understand how hurricanes form, why tornados twirl, or even why the sky is cerulean blue. Written by esteemed science journalist and former USA Today weather editor Jack Williams, The AMS Weather Book, copublished with the American Meteorological Society, covers everything from daily weather patterns, air pollution, and global warming to the stories of people coping with severe weather and those who devote their lives to understanding the atmosphere, oceans, and climate. Words alone, of course, are not adequate to explain many meteorological concepts, so The AMS Weather Book is filled with engaging full-color graphics that explain such concepts as why winds blow in a particular direction, how Doppler weather radar works, what happens inside hurricanes, how clouds create wind and snow, and what’s really affecting the earth’s climate. For Weather Channel junkies, amateur meteorologists, and storm chasers alike, The AMS Weather Book is an invaluable tool for anyone who wants to better understand how weather works and how it affects our lives.
Call Number: Sanford Circulation -- QC981.2 .W55 2009ISBN: 9780226898988Publication Date: 2009-06-01
Essentials of Geology by
This edition of Essentials of Geology offers updated coverage of the most up-to-date geologic events, while retaining the hallmarks instructors have come to expect from Tarbuck and Lutgens, such as an accessible writng style and accurate illustrations.
Call Number: Oviedo Circulation -- QB44.3 .N53 2014Publication Date: 2002-04-08
How the Ocean Works by
The world's oceans account for roughly 71 percent of the planet's surface and 99 percent of its livable volume. Any study of this huge habitat requires a solid foundation in the principles that underlie marine biology and physical and chemical oceanography, yet until now undergraduate textbooks have largely presented compilations of facts rather than explanations of principles. How the Ocean Works fills this gap, providing a concise and accessible college-level introduction to marine science that is also ideal for general readers. How are winds and currents driven? What is the dilemma of the two-layered ocean? Mark Denny explains key concepts like these in rich and fascinating detail. He explores early scientific knowledge of oceans, photosynthesis, trophic interactions and energy flow, and the impacts of human activities on marine and atmospheric systems. Focusing each chapter on a major topic and carefully explaining the principles and theory involved, Denny gives readers the conceptual building blocks needed to develop a coherent picture of the living ocean. How the Ocean Works is an indispensable resource that teaches readers how to think about the ocean--its biology, mechanics, and conservation. Provides a concise, up-to-date introduction to marine science Develops the conceptual basis needed to understand how the ocean works Explains fundamental principles and theory Includes color illustrations and informative diagrams Serves as a college textbook and a reference for general readers
Call Number: Oviedo & Sandord Circulation -- GC21 .D398 2008ISBN: 9780691126470Publication Date: 2008-04-21
Introducing Astronomy by
We live on a small planet that revolves round an unexceptional star - the Sun - which is one of the hundred billion stars that populate our galaxy. Of the many billions of galaxies that lie within range of our most powerful telescopes, some are so remote that their light has taken more than 13 billion years to reach us. Iain Nicolson takes the reader on a journey from planet Earth to the boundaries of the observable Universe. He explains the nature of stars, planets and galaxies, what makes them shine and how they are born, evolve and eventually die. He explores the origin of the Universe as a whole and considers whether life may exist on other worlds. Copiously illustrated, this book is intended for anyone who is looking for straightforward explanations of what astronomy is all about. It will also serve as an invaluable primer for those who are considering studying the subject more formally.
Call Number: Oviedo Circulation -- QB44.3 .N53 2014ISBN: 9781780460253Publication Date: 2014-09-25
Introducing Meteorology by
In many parts of the world the weather forms a daily topic of conversation, In others it hardly changes from one week to the next. However, human life is governed by the weather which affects much of our activity, from farming to fishing and from shopping to holiday-making. Introducing Meteorology has been written to provide a succinct overview of the science of the weather for students and for interested amateurs wanting a topical guide to this complex science. The initial chapters describe the development of the science, the atmosphere and the forces which govern the weather. The author then discusses weather influences at global and local scales before describing the science of weather forecasting. Copiously illustrated, this book is intended for those whose interest in meteorology has been stimulated, perhaps by media coverage of dramatic weather events, and who want to know more. Technical terms are kept to a minimum and are explained in a glossary.
Call Number: Sanford Circulation -- QC863.4 .S56 2013Publication Date: 2013-02-14
The Marine World by
The Marine World is a book for everyone with an interest in the ocean, from the marine biologist or student wanting expert knowledge of a particular group to the naturalist or diver exploring the seashore and beyond. With color illustrations, line drawings, more than 1,500 color photographs, and clear accessible text, this book encompasses all those organisms that live in, on, and around the ocean, bringing together in a single text everything from the minuscule to the immense. It includes sections on all but the most obscure marine groups, covering invertebrate phyla from sponges to sea squirts, as well as plants, fungi, bacteria, fish, reptiles, mammals, and birds. It incorporates information on the identification, distribution, structure, biology, ecology, classification, and conservation of each group. Today global warming, overfishing, ocean acidification, and pollution are just a few of the many threats and challenges faced by ocean life. Without knowledge of the animals, plants, and other organisms that live in the marine world, we cannot hope to support or implement successful conservation and management measures, or truly appreciate the incredible wealth and variety of marine life. The Marine World is the product of a lifetime spent by Frances Dipper happily observing and studying marine organisms the world over. It has been brought to colorful life by a myriad of enthusiastic underwater photographers and by Marc Dando, the renowned natural history illustrator.
Call Number: Oviedo Circulation -- QH541.5.S3 D57 2017Publication Date: 2016-10-11
Ebooks
All the Boats on the Ocean: How Government Subsidies Led to Global Overfishing by
Most current fishing practices are neither economically nor biologically sustainable. Every year the world spends $80 billion buying fish that cost $105 billion to catch, even as overfishing places growing pressure on struggling stocks. How have we developed an industry that is so wasteful, and why has it been so difficult to alter the trajectory toward species extinction? In this transnational, interdisciplinary history, Carmel Finley answers these questions and more as she explores how government subsidies propelled the expansion of fishing from a coastal, in-shore activity into a global industry.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780226443379Publication Date: 2017
Meteorology Demystified by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Wondering about weather? Learn Mother Nature's secrets Meteorology Demystified presents a complete explanation of essential physical and scientific concepts before delving into a more detailed look at various weather phenomena.
Publication Date: 2005-10-31
The Solar System by
Designed to meet the needs of both general readers and students, The Solar System covers 180 major topics on Earth's solar system as it is understood from the latest perspectives. Essays fall into one or more of the following categories: the Cosmological Context, Earth, the Jovian System, Life in the Solar System, Mars, Mercury, natural Planetary Satellites, neptune, Planets and Planetology, the Saturnian System, Scientific Methods, Small Bodies, the Solar System as a Whole, the Stellar Context, the Sun, Uranus, and Venus.
Publication Date: 2009-07-06
