We hand-picked these resources to help you find info on your topic:
(You may have to use the Library Login)
Course Reserves
Library Login
Library Access
(articles, eBooks, etc. from databases OR library search engine)
(loans, renewals, requests from the library search engine)
Basic Info:
Ebooks:
What is "Government"?
"The political direction and control exercised over the actions of the members, citizens, or inhabitants of communities, societies, and states; direction of the affairs of a state, community, etc.; political administration" (Government).
Citation:
"Government". Dictionary.com, https://www.dictionary.com/browse/government. Accessed 30 October 2018.
Basic Info:
Ebooks:
Murder Was Not a Crime by ISBN: 9780292795136
Journal Articles/Databases:
Try searching any of these keywords:
| Ancient Rome Government | Roman Consuls | Lex Ovinia |
| Law Ancient Rome | Julius Caesar | Plebians and Patricians |
| Roman Senate | Pompey the Great | Legacy Roman Government |
- Films on Demand (Films Media Group) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics. Best for: Presentations needing visual aids or assignments that allow films as sources (create an optional personal account to save videos and create custom clips). Includes: Streaming educational videos.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): History, literature, political science, philosophy, language, and religion. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals, magazines, news.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Humanitites, social sciences, and sciences. Includes: Scholarly journals, book chapters, and primary sources.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
View a
What is "Engineering"?
"The branch of science and technology concerned with the design, building, and use of engines, machines, and structures" (Engineering).
Citation:
"Engineering". Oxford Dictionaries, https://en.oxforddictionaries.com/definition/engineering. Accessed 30 October 2018.
What is "Architecture"?
"Architecture, the art and technique of designing and building, as distinguished from the skills associated with construction. The practice of architecture is employed to fulfill both practical and expressive requirements, and thus it serves both utilitarian and esthetic ends" (Collins et al.).
Citation:
Collins, P. et al. "Architecture". Encyclopedia Britannica, https://www.britannica.com/topic/architecture. Accessed 11 October 2018.
Basic info:
Books:
(Find something at another campus? We can get it for you quickly, contact us to find out how)
Journal Articles/Databases:
Try searching any of these keywords:
| Ancient Rome Roads | Architecture Ancient Rome | Capitolium |
| Ancient Rome Aqueducts | Cast Concrete Ancient Rome | Basilicas Anicent Rome |
| Engineering Ancient Rome | Vitruvius Polio | Pantheon |
- Films on Demand (Films Media Group) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics. Best for: Presentations needing visual aids or assignments that allow films as sources (create an optional personal account to save videos and create custom clips). Includes: Streaming educational videos.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): History, literature, political science, philosophy, language, and religion. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals, magazines, news.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Humanitites, social sciences, and sciences. Includes: Scholarly journals, book chapters, and primary sources.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
What is "Philosophy"?
"A search for a general understanding of values and reality by chiefly speculative rather than observational means" (Philosophy).
Citation:
"Philosophy". Merriam-Webster, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/philosophy. Accessed 19 November 2018.
What is "Literature"?
"The body of written works produced in a particular language, country, or age" (Literature).
Citation:
"Literature". Merriam-Webster, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/literature. Accessed 19 November 2018.
Basic Info:
Weblinks:
Journal Articles/Databases:
Try searching any of these keywords:
| Ancient Roman Philosophy | Ennius | Agamemnon | Roman Satire |
| Ancient Roman Literature | Ovid | Aeneid | Latin Verse |
| Cicero | Horace | Claudius | Stoicism |
- Films on Demand (Films Media Group) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics. Best for: Presentations needing visual aids or assignments that allow films as sources (create an optional personal account to save videos and create custom clips). Includes: Streaming educational videos.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): History, literature, political science, philosophy, language, and religion. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals, magazines, news.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Humanitites, social sciences, and sciences. Includes: Scholarly journals, book chapters, and primary sources.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
What is "Sculpture"?
"The art or practice of shaping figures or designs in the round or in relief, as by chiseling marble, modeling clay, or casting in metal" (Sculpture).
Citation:
"Sculpture". The Free Dictionary, https://www.thefreedictionary.com/sculpture. Accessed 16 October 2018.
Basic Info:
Weblinks:
Books:
(Find something at another campus? We can get it for you quickly, contact us to find out how)
Art in the Lives of Ordinary Romans by ISBN: 9781417523320Publication Date: 2003-01-01This splendidly illustrated book brings to life the ancient Romans whom modern scholarship has largely ignored: slaves, ex-slaves, foreigners, and the freeborn working poor. Though they had no access to the upper echelons of society, ordinary Romans enlivened their world with all manner of artworks. Discussing a wide range of art in the late republic and early empire―from familiar monuments to the obscure Caupona of Salvius and little-studied tomb reliefs―John R. Clarke provides a tantalizing glimpse into the lives of ordinary Roman people.
