Subject(s): African American history, key figures, and culture. Best for: Starting your research, choosing a topic, or finding sources from the time period. Includes: Broad overviews of eras in history, short entries on scholarly topics, and primary sources.
At the AAAMC, you will find materials covering a range of African American musical idioms and cultural expressions primarily from the post-World War II era. Our collections highlight popular, religious, and classical music, with genres ranging from blues and gospel to R&B and contemporary hip hop. The AAAMC also houses extensive materials related to the documentation of black radio.
For the past 80 years, The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, a research unit of The New York Public Library, has collected, preserved, and provided access to materials documenting black life, and promoted the study and interpretation of the history and culture of peoples of African descent.
One of the Internet's most inclusive and well-respected catalogs of African American writers, this site documents the creativity of women writers of all colors and nationalities. Presented by the University of Minnesota.
Fort Mose Historic State Park is the site of the first legally sanctioned free African settlement in what is now the United States. In 1738, the Spanish governor of Florida chartered the settlement of Fort Mose as a settlement for those fleeing slavery from the English colonies in the Carolinas. Over the next 25 years, Fort Mose became a sanctuary for Africans seeking liberation from the tyranny of English slavery.
These biographical dictionaries highlight the lives and accomplishments of notable individuals, past and present. Each volume contains 125 to 200 alphabetical entries, all of which provide some biographical details and concentrate on events related to achievements in that field.
Emerging from a matrix of Old Left, black nationalist, and bohemian ideologies and institutions, African American artists and intellectuals in the 1960s coalesced to form the Black Arts Movement, the cultural wing of the Black Power Movement. In this comprehensive analysis, James Smethurst examines the formation of the Black Arts Movement and demonstrates how it deeply influenced the production and reception of literature and art in the United States through its negotiations of the ideological climate of the Cold War, decolonization, and the civil rights movement.
African American women writers published extensively during the Harlem Renaissance and have been extraordinarily prolific since the 1970s. This book surveys the world of African American women writers. Included are alphabetically arranged entries on more than 150 novelists, poets, playwrights, short fiction writers, autobiographers, essayists, and influential scholars.
This volume provides detailed biographies, a wide selection of critical extracts, and comprehensive bibliographies of the thirteen most significant black American prose writers of the early twentieth century, including Countee Cullen, Jessie R. Fauset, Langston Hughes, Zora Neale Hurston, Nella Larsen, Claude McKay, Jean Toomer, and Richard Wright.
A timely survey of an important sector of American letters, The Encyclopedia of African-American Writing covers the role and influence of African American cultural leaders, from all walks of life, from the 18th century to the present. Readers will explore what inspired various African-American writers to create poems, plays, short stories, novels, essays, opinion pieces and numerous other works, and how those writings contributed to culture in America today.
From its origins in early eighteenth century slave communities to the end of the twentieth century, African-American art has made a vital contribution to the art of the United States. African-American Art provides a major reassessment of the subject, setting the art in the context of the African-American experience.
This volume examines contemporary African-American poets from the well-known writers of the late 20th century to the newly established and emerging voices of today. Full-length critical essays discuss the development and influence of such seminal figures as Maya Angelou, Lucille Clifton, Rita Dove, Nikki Giovanni, Michael S. Harper, Yusef Komunyakaa, and Carl Phillips. This new edition offers a selection of contemporary critical commentary on this proud and enduring poetic tradition and features an introductory essay by literary scholar Harold Bloom, an index for quick reference, a bibliography, and a chronology.
A beautifully illustrated survey of African American art of the 20th century including many never before seen works by the most important artists of the period. African American Art presents a powerful selection of paintings sculpture prints and photographs by 43 Black artists who explored the African American experience of the 20th century.
Samella Lewis has brought African American Art and Artists fully up to date in this revised and expanded edition. The book now looks at the works and lives of artists from the eighteenth century to the present, including new work in traditional media as well as in installation art, mixed media, and digital/computer art.
The book traces the major developments in African American visual culture from its beginnings in the ceramics and textiles of slave artisans to later contributions in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries to the fine arts and abstract expressionism, sculpture, installation art, video art, and computer graphics.
Creating Their Own Image marks the first comprehensive history of African-American women artists, from slavery to the present day. Using an analysis of stereotypes of Africans and African-Americans in western art and culture as a springboard, Lisa E. Farrington here richly details hundreds ofimportant works--many of which deliberately challenge these same identity myths, of the carnal Jezebel, the asexual Mammy, the imperious Matriarch--in crafting a portrait of artistic creativity unprecedented in its scope and ambition.
The Essential Gwendolyn Brooks traces the full arc of her career in all its ambitious scope and unexpected stylistic shifts. "Her formal range," writes editor Elizabeth Alexander, "is most impressive, as she experiments with sonnets, ballads, spirituals, blues, full and off-rhymes. She is nothing short of a technical virtuoso."
Maya Angelou has been called a national institution and the people's poet. It has been suggested that she has manifested an indomitable spirit and benign will in her most famous book, I Know Why the Caged Sings. Along with this autobiographical wor
Born in Africa in 1753, Phillis Wheatley was kidnapped at the age of seven and sold into slavery. At nineteen, she became the first black American poet to publish a book, Poems on Various Subjects: Religious and Moral, on which this volume is based.