We hand-picked these resources to help you find info on your topic:
(You may have to use the Library Login)
Articles/Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Humanitites, social sciences, and sciences. Includes: Scholarly journals, book chapters, and primary sources.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): History, literature, political science, philosophy, language, and religion. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals, magazines, news.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - Social Science Journals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals, magazines, and dissertations.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics. Best for: Starting your research. Includes: scholarly journals, news, and magazines.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - Springer eJournal Collection This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics but strongest in technical and scientific research. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals.
- Sage Journals (Sage Publications) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Humanities, engineering, and the social sciences, life sciences, materials sciences, and health sciences. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Art, architecture, and humanities. Best for: Research or presentations that need images or primary sources. Includes: Images of art, architecture, and artists. Little to no research information is given for the images.
View a Websites
- Human Studies Film ArchivesCollected by the Department of Anthropology of the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of Natural History, this site presents guides to historical and contemporary anthropological materials in a variety of formats, documenting the world's cultures and the history of the discipline.
- Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology at Harvard UniversityLocated at Harvard University, this is the oldest anthropology museum in North America.
- The Leakey Foundation for Research Related to Human OriginsThe mission of The Leakey Foundation is to increase scientific knowledge, education, and public understanding of human origins, evolution, behavior, and survival.
- Anthropology.net"This website intends to promote and facilitate discussion, review research, extend stewardship of resources, and disseminate knowledge."
- Ethnologue: Languages of the WorldA searchable database of language resources from a variety of different cultures.
- Fountain of Youth Archaeological ParkThe Fountain of Youth Archaeological Park is a 15 acre waterfront, Historical Site where St. Augustine, Florida began in 1565. This is the location where Spanish Explorer Pedro Menendez de Aviles, in 1565, established the first and oldest continuous Europeon Settlement in the United States of America.
- Florida Agricultural MuseumFAM's mission is to preserve Florida's agricultural past, interpret the agricultural issues of yesterday, today, and tomorrow, and educate the public about those issues through enjoyable experiences.
Video/Media
- Inside the National Archeological Museum of Athens: Museum SecretsThe world’s most important museum dedicated to the history of ancient Greece, the National Archaeological Museum displays 11,000 exhibits from 7000 BC to the Roman conquest.
- The Viking Trade: An Unlikely Relationship"The Vikings" conjures up images of fierce warriors with horned helmets who ruled the seas and raided towns. However, unknown to many, the Vikings were the international tradesmen of their time.
Library Login
Library Access
(articles, eBooks, etc. from databases OR library search engine)
(loans, renewals, requests from the library search engine)
Username = your College email address
Password = your Canvas password
Course Reserves
Your textbook and other course materials may be available at the Library:
Ebooks
Archeology of the Florida Gulf Coast by ISBN: 9780813016030Publication Date: 1998-08-01Offers a major synthesis of the archaeology of the Florida Gulf Coast, with complete descriptions and illustrations of all the pottery types found in the area.
