We hand-picked these resources to help you find info on your topic:
(You may have to use the Library Login)
Articles/Databases
- Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Architecture, art, design, and manufacturing. Includes: professional magazines, scholarly journals, conference papers, and news.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowBest for: Assignments needing information on authors, scientists, politicians, artists, celebrities, historical figures, etc. Includes: Biographies, news, media, and some scholarly journals.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - History Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowBest for: Starting your research. Includes: Reference entries, magazines, biographies, and images.
- Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): History, literature, political science, philosophy, language, and religion. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals, magazines, news.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Humanitites, social sciences, and sciences. Includes: Scholarly journals, book chapters, and primary sources.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - World Religion (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new windowBest for: Easier to read introductions to belief systems and key religious figures. Includes: Wikipedia type articles, biographies, and primary sources.
View a 
Websites
- Asian ArtCollection of online journal articles, image galleries, and exhibitions related to all facets of Asian art.
- Asian Historical ArchitectureDigital library of over 17,000 images of traditional Asian architectural works in 21 different countries.
- Internet Sacred Text Archive: AsiaThis site gathers selected sacred texts representing several different Asian religions and cultures.
- The Tibetan and Himalayan LibraryThe Tibetan and Himalayan Library (THL) is a publisher of websites, information services, and networking facilities relating to the Tibetan plateau and southern Himalayan regions
- A Visual Sourcebook of Chinese CivilizationExcellent resource for the study of Chinese culture and humanities, this site features a wealth of information, as well as images, aimed at presenting important components of Chinese life and history.
Video/Media
- Films on Demand (Films Media Group) This link opens in a new windowMassive collection of online educational videos, related to all subjects taught at Seminole State. All videos can be shown in full or in part during class for instruction or presentation needs.
Library Login
Library Access
(articles, eBooks, etc. from databases OR library search engine)
(loans, renewals, requests from the library search engine)
Username = your College email address
Password = your Canvas password
Course Reserves
Your textbook and other course materials may be available at the Library:
Ebooks
Diasporas and Interculturalism in Asian Performing Arts by
In an age of globalization, performance is increasingly drawn from intercultural creativity and located in multicultural settings. This volume is the first to focus on the performing arts of Asian diasporas in the context of modernity and multiculturalism. The essays locate the contemporary performing arts as a discursive field in which the boundaries between tradition and translation, and authenticity and hybridity are redefined and negotiated to create a multitude of meaning and aesthetics in global and local contexts. With contributions from scholars of Asian studies, theatre studies, anthropology, cultural studies, dance ethnology and musicology, this truly interdisciplinary work covers every aspect of the sociology of performance of the Asian diasporas.
ISBN: 9780203641903Publication Date: 2004-11-04
Historical Dictionary of Modern Chinese Literature by ISBN: 9780810855168Publication Date: 2009-12-22Ying, director of the Chinese and Japanese Program at Bard College, takes as her province here literature written in Chinese in mainland China, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and the Chinese diaspora from the May Fourth Movement (1919) to the present. Because this dictionary is intended for readers of English, the extensive bibliography provides publication data for Chinese editions (with romanized Chinese titles and their English equivalents) as well as, where they exist, English translations; anthologies, surveys, and general critical works; and critical works on individual authors in English.
Modernism and the Art of Muslim South Asia by ISBN: 9780807895962Publication Date: 2010-05-15This pioneering work traces the emergence of the modern and contemporary art of Muslim South Asia in relation to transnational modernism and in light of the region's intellectual, cultural, and political developments. Art historian Iftikhar Dadi here explores the art and writings of major artists, men and women, ranging from the late colonial period to the era of independence and beyond. He looks at the stunningly diverse artistic production of key artists associated with Pakistan, including Abdur Rahman Chughtai, Zainul Abedin, Shakir Ali, Zubeida Agha, Sadequain, Rasheed Araeen, and Naiza Khan. Dadi shows how, beginning in the 1920s, these artists addressed the challenges of modernity by translating historical and contemporary intellectual conceptions into their work, reworking traditional approaches to the classical Islamic arts, and engaging the modernist approach towards subjective individuality in artistic expression. In the process, they dramatically reconfigured the visual arts of the region. By the 1930s, these artists had embarked on a sustained engagement with international modernism in a context of dizzying social and political change that included decolonization, the rise of mass media, and developments following the national independence of India and Pakistan in 1947. Bringing new insights to such concepts as nationalism, modernism, cosmopolitanism, and tradition, Dadi underscores the powerful impact of transnationalism during this period and highlights the artists' growing embrace of modernist and contemporary artistic practice in order to address the challenges of the present era.
Asian DanceISBN: 9781604134780Publication Date: 2010-01-01Asian Dance, Second Edition introduces readers to the rich variety of dance traditions of India, Thailand, Java, Bali, China, and Japan.
Books
The Ancient South Asian World by Call Number: DS339 .K46 2005ISBN: 9780195174229Publication Date: 2005-06-23From geography and weather to Hindu gods and intellectual traditions, the characters and stories in The Ancient South Asian World weave the history of this vibrant region.
Arts of Southeast Asia by Call Number: NK1052 .K47 2004ISBN: 9780500203811Publication Date: 2004-10-17A totally new World of Art survey of artistic achievements in Southeast Asia from prehistory to the modern period. The pagodas of Burma, the temples of Angkor, the great Buddhist monument of Borobudurthese achievements of powerful courts and rulers are part of a broad artistic tradition including textiles, applied arts, vernacular architecture, and village crafts.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of China by Call Number: DS705 .C35ISBN: 9780521355940Publication Date: 1991-10-25The Cambridge Encyclopedia of China provides an absorbing and authoritative account of China and all things Chinese - geography, politics, customs, food and drink, the arts, and a rich and colorful history, from ancient times through to the momentous events up to 1990
Guide to Asian Philosphy Classics by Call Number: B121 .L5 2012ISBN: 9781554810345This book guides readers through ten classic works of Asian philosophy. Several major schools of Eastern thought are discussed, including Hinduism, Buddhism, Confucianism, Daoism/Taoism, and Chan/Zen.
Ideas and Art in Asian Civilizations by ISBN: 9780765625410Publication Date: 2011-12-15This work covers topics related to the exercise of influence by individuals and groups within organizations. It includes an introductory group of articles dealing with the nature of influence processes and power.
The Asian Influence on Hollywood Action Films by ISBN: 9780786434039Publication Date: 2008-07-21Filmmakers of the Pacific Rim have been delivering punches and flying kicks to the Hollywood movie industry for years. This book explores the ways in which the storytelling and cinematic techniques of Asian popular culture have migrated from grainy, low-budget martial arts movies to box-office blockbusters such as The Magnificent Seven, Star Wars, The Matrix and Transformers. While special effects gained prominence, the raw and gritty power of live combat emerged as an audience favorite, spawning Asian stars Bruce Lee and Jackie Chan and martial arts-trained stars Chuck Norris and Steven Seagal. As well as capturing the sheer onscreen adrenaline rush that characterizes the films discussed, this work explores the impact of violent cinematic entertainment and why it is often misunderstood. Instructors considering this book for use in a course may request an examination copy here.
New China New Art by Call Number: N7345 .V56 2008ISBN: 9783791339429Publication Date: 2008-09-30Featuring chapters organized by medium, including painting, sculpture and installation, photography and performance, the book focuses on 80 of the most influential contemporary Chinese artists and their most important works. The preface places the art in the context of social and political changes.
East Asian Cinema and Cultural Heritage by ISBN: 9780230116955Publication Date: 2011-10-05How do East Asian cultural heritages shape film? How are these legacies being revived, or even re-created, by contemporary filmmakers? This collection examines the dynamic interactions between East Asian cultural heritages and cinemas in mainland China, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Japan, and South Korea.
Bollywood and Globalization by Call Number: PN1993.5I8 B5925 2012ISBN: 0415625238Publication Date: 2012-11-02The field of Bollywood studies has remained predominantly critical, theoretical and historical in focus. This book brings together qualitative and quantitative approaches to tackle empirical questions focusing on the relationship between soft power, hybridity, cinematic texts, and audiences. Adopting a critical-transcultural framework that examines the complex power relations that are manifested through globalized production and consumption practices, the book approaches the study of popular Hindi cinema from three broad perspectives: transcultural production contexts, content trends, and audiences. It firstly outlines the theoretical issues relevant to the spread of popular Indian cinema and emergence of India's growing soft power. The book goes on to report on a series of quantitative studies that examine the patterns of geographical, cultural, political, infrastructural, and artistic power dynamics at work within the highest-grossing popular Hindi films over a 61-year period since independence. Finally, an additional set of studies are presented that quantitatively examine Indian and North American audience consumption practices. The book illuminates issues related to the actualization and maintenance of cinematic soft power dynamics, highlighting Bollywood's increasing integration into and subsumption by globalized practices that are fundamentally altering India's cinematic landscape and, thus, its unique soft power potential. It is of interest to academics working in Film Studies, Globalisation Studies, and International Relations.
