LibGuides: Automotive Technology: Chosen for You

Articles/Databases

Chilton's
Detailed information for vehicle maintenance and repairs, including labor estimating tool and troubleshooting diagrams PLUS Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) test prep quizzes.
Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO)
Subject(s): Engineering, computer software, artificial intelligence, and space science. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly sources or images. Includes: Scholarly journals, magazines, and images.

View a video tutorial on this database.
Science (Gale In Context)
Subject(s): Biology, chemistry, environmental science, math, engineering, technology, medicine, physics, and astronomy. Best for: Starting your research or choosing a topic. Includes: Easy to read wikipedia type articles, news, magazines, and some journals.
GreenFILE (EBSCO)
Subject(s): Environmental topics such as climate change, green building, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals and magazines.

View a video tutorial on this database.
Environmental Studies (Gale In Context) (formerly GREENR)
Subject(s): Environmental topics such as pollution, carbon markets, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling. Best for: Starting your research or choosing a topic. Includes: Wikipedia type articles, scholarly journals, magazines, news, statistics, primary sources, and podcasts.
Springer eJournal Collection
Subject(s): All topics but strongest in technical and scientific research. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Subject(s): All topics. Best for: Starting your research. Includes: scholarly journals, news, and magazines.

View a video tutorial on this database.

Websites

Automotive News
A detailed news web site for the automotive industry, Automotive News provides news articles in a number of fields related to the automotive industry. Other features include data reports, webinars, videos, podcasts, and much more. The site supplements their print edition.
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)
The NHTSA web site provides a wealth of statistical information on a large number of different systems, products like child safety seats, fuel economy, and much more. Recalls on vehicles and equipment are also listed and detailed for technicians and consumers alike. Another section of the site outlines laws and regulations related to automotive safety.
National Institute of Automotive Service Excellence (ASE)
“ASE's mission is to improve the quality of vehicle repair and service through the testing and certification of repair and service professionals.” Their web site provides information on certification for both automobile technicians and consumers. The ASE Publications section contains the PDF files of the ASE Blue Seal Tech News, the organization’s newsletter, from 2004 to present.
2CarPros
Automotive advice for owners, enthusiasts and repair technicians that includes in-depth information and illustrations from master car repair technicians Bob and Ken.

Video/Media

Automotive Technology (Films on Demand)
An assortment of videos related to automotive technology from the library's Films on Demand database.
AutoZone Video Library
General repair and maintenance videos arranged by system.
Car Talk
Rebroadcasts of the award winning radio talk show featuring the Magliozzi brothers, also known as Click and Clack, the Tappet brothers.