LibGuides: Biology: Chosen for You

We hand-picked these resources to help you find info on your topic:

(You may have to use the Library Login)

Articles/Databases

Access Science (McGraw Hill)
Subject(s): Science and technology. Best for: Defining terms or basic concepts and starting your research. Includes: Wikipedia-type articles, definitions, and short videos.
Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO)
Subject(s): Engineering, computer software, artificial intelligence, and space science. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly sources or images. Includes: Scholarly journals, magazines, and images.

View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
Bergey's Manual of Systematics of Archaea and Bacteria
Bergey's is the most complete and authoritative description of bacterial and archaeal diversity.
GreenFILE (EBSCO)
Subject(s): Environmental topics such as climate change, green building, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals and magazines.

View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
Science (Gale In Context)
Subject(s): Biology, chemistry, environmental science, math, engineering, technology, medicine, physics, and astronomy. Best for: Starting your research or choosing a topic. Includes: Easy to read wikipedia type articles, news, magazines, and some journals.
Springer eJournal Collection
Subject(s): All topics but strongest in technical and scientific research. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals.

Cells Alive
CELLS alive!, presented by Jim Sullivan, represents 30 years of capturing film and computer-enhanced images of living cells and organisms for education and medical research. The site has been available continuously and updated annually since May of 1994 and hosts over 4 million visitors a year. The majority of the site is free for anyone with internet access.
Encyclopedia of Life
EPA: Environmental Protection Agency, Learn the Issues
Highlights issues related to air, water, climate, wastes & pollution, green living, human health, ecosystems, and more.
Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS)
The ITIS is the result of a partnership of federal agencies formed to satisfy their mutual needs for scientifically credible taxonomic information.
Khan Academy Biology
National Science Foundation
Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 55 databases and over 2,100 selected websites from 13 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.

Alexander Street Press Streaming Video
Subject(s): All topics. Includes: Documentaries, films, and musicals. Faculty How To
Films on Demand (Films Media Group)
Subject(s): All topics. Best for: Presentations needing visual aids or assignments that allow films as sources (create an optional personal account to save videos and create custom clips). Includes: Streaming educational videos.

View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.

Primal Pictures Anatomy & Physiology (Anatomy.TV)
Includes: Three-dimensional images and animations that illustrate different anatomical concepts and functions, and surgical principles.

Username = your College email address

Password = your Canvas password

Your textbook and other course materials may be available at the Library:

Books@Ovid
The Books@Ovid database includes full text, references, updates, and graphics from some of the most respected book sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology.
eBook Central (ProQuest)
Subject(s): All topics. Best for: Assignments that require ebooks or book chapters. Includes: All ebooks from the publisher ProQuest.
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Subject(s): All topics. Best for: Assignments that require ebooks or book chapters. Includes: All ebooks from the publisher EBSCO.
eBooks (Gale)
Subject(s): Literature, humanities, medicine, and history. Best for: In-depth overviews of a topic and starting your research. Includes: Book chapters, reference essays, and literary criticisms on short stories, poems, plays, and novels.