LibGuides: Social Science Video Contest Fall 2021: Credible Sources

Using Library Resources & How to Log In

Start with a library search using Primo - the library search engine.

Choose the Advanced Search option, and try using these keywords to get started: Covid-19 AND society.

Using Primo Video
(23 min.) Learn how to conduct searches, refine results, and how to evaluate and access the resources in the results. You'll also see how to save, print, and email citations, and access your account information.

Listed below are other resources to explore, based on your specific topics, such as suggested databases, links to library ebooks, streaming media, and more!

Remember to be a critical thinker, be aware of personal biases, and explore and discover as you search!

Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): Humanitites, social sciences, and sciences. Includes: Scholarly journals, book chapters, and primary sources.

View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Best for: Easier to read introductions to diseases and treatments and assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Wikipedia-type articles, magazines, news, and scholarly journals.
Social Science Journals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): Anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals, magazines, and dissertations.
Sage Journals (Sage Publications) This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): Humanities, engineering, and the social sciences, life sciences, materials sciences, and health sciences. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals

https://libguides.seminolestate.edu/databases/jstor

Use library databases to locate credible authoritative sources- including newspapers, magazines, academic journals and peer-reviewed academic journals. You'll find articles, statistics, images, media - all at your fingertips in the library!

Issues and Controversies Easy to read background information, pro/con articles, primary sources, visual aids, and statistics on controversial topics.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) Find pro/con issues on a variety of and current topics- including health-related issues.
Global Issues (Gale In Context) Includes credible sources on controversial global issues. Good content to support arguments or informative essays or speeches. Includes: pro/con articles, magazines, scholarly journals, and statistics.
DemographicsNow (Gale Business) Find data relating to topics of sociology, and polstatistical, including demographic data, such as race, income, spending, education, etc.
GenderWatch (ProQuest) Explore topics relating to sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, and LGBTQ+ studies. Includes: Scholarly journals, magazines, news, and dissertations.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) A general broad-based academic database where you can explore and discover scholarly journals, news, and magazines.
Academic OneFile Select (Gale) (formerly Expanded Academic ASAP) Find scholarly journals, news, magazines, and videos on current issues topics.
Encyclopedia Britannica Short, easy to read reference entries and related images to get background information on health topics.

Audio Books

Overdrive
Access exclusive Recorded Books audiobook titles, as well as other popular eBooks and audiobook titles that your library offers - brings exclusive Recorded Books eAudioin one collection that features the best literature in a wide variety of genres along with an outstanding collection of award-winning Childrens and Young Adult titles.

COVID-19 and society

Streamed Media

Alexander Street Press Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): All topics. Includes: Documentaries, films, and musicals. Faculty How To
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A curated selection of primary sources for teaching and learning about the struggles and triumphs of Black Americans. Developed with input from Black history scholars and advisors, this resource is freely available on the web and to libraries for anyone studying U.S. Black history.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Select film titles for streaming, including feature films and documentaries. Faculty How To
Films on Demand (Films Media Group) This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): All topics. Best for: Presentations needing visual aids or assignments that allow films as sources (create an optional personal account to save videos and create custom clips). Includes: Streaming educational videos.

View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
AVON This link opens in a new window
Over 70,000 videos and films covering topics in anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Faculty How To
Swank Digital Campus (Motion Pictures) This link opens in a new window
Includes: Some feature length films and documentaries, such as the Matrix and Food, Inc. Faculty How To

eBooks

Use eBooks to find content online from credible sources to support your thesis or provide an opposing viewpoint and easily email a page or chapter from the eBook along with the citation to organize your sources. eBooks are great sources for assignments that may require an ebook as a source and you can use a section, a few pages, or a chapter that may be useful to support your writing.

eBook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): All topics. Best for: Assignments that require ebooks or book chapters. Includes: All ebooks from the publisher ProQuest.
eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): All topics. Best for: Assignments that require ebooks or book chapters. Includes: All ebooks from the publisher EBSCO.
eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): Literature, humanities, medicine, and history. Best for: In-depth overviews of a topic and starting your research. Includes: Book chapters, reference essays, and literary criticisms on short stories, poems, plays, and novels.
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): All topics. Best for: Starting your research, Dual Enrollment students. Includes: Acclaimed eBook titles on core subjects.