We hand-picked these resources to help you find info on your topic:
(You may have to use the Library Login)
Articles/Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics. Best for: Starting your research. Includes: scholarly journals, news, and magazines.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Engineering, computer software, artificial intelligence, and space science. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly sources or images. Includes: Scholarly journals, magazines, and images.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - Sage Journals (Sage Publications) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Humanities, engineering, and the social sciences, life sciences, materials sciences, and health sciences. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals
- Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Biology, chemistry, environmental science, math, engineering, technology, medicine, physics, and astronomy. Best for: Starting your research or choosing a topic. Includes: Easy to read wikipedia type articles, news, magazines, and some journals.
- Springer eJournal Collection This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics but strongest in technical and scientific research. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals.
View a 
Websites
- CheMagic-the Virtual Model KitUseful tool designed to help visualize molecules while providing additional chemical data about the compound. Typing the name of the compound of interest will result in the appropriate ball-and-stick model, as well as a space-filling model. Right-clicking on the model gives you an extensive menu of options, including the ability to export it in a variety of image formats.
- General Chemistry OnlineSelf-guided tutorials, quizzes and drills on specific chemistry topics.
- NIST Chemistry WebBookProvides access to data compiled and distributed by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program including thermochemical data for over 7,000 organic and small inorganic compounds, reaction thermochemistry data for over 8,000 reactions, IR spectra for over 16,000 compounds, mass spectra for over 15,000 compounds, and much more.
- Periodic Table of the Elements by WebElementsThe periodic table on the web.
- Science.govScience.gov searches over 55 databases and over 2,100 selected websites from 13 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
- WolframAlphaA computational knowledge engine: returns scientific knowledge, statistics and computations. Useful for chemistry topics including formulas, atomic/molecular weight, boiling/freezing points and density.
Video/Media
- JoVEThe Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a PubMed-indexed video journal that includes a focus on chemistry and chemical preparation across multidisciplinary fields.
- Periodic VideosA lesson about every single element on the periodic table.
- Science FridayScience Friday is an entertaining source for news and stories about science that includes podcasts, blogs, and videos.
Library Login
Library Access
(articles, eBooks, etc. from databases OR library search engine)
(loans, renewals, requests from the library search engine)
Username = your College email address
Password = your Canvas password
Course Reserves
Your textbook and other course materials may be available at the Library:
Ebooks
The 100 Most Important Chemical Compounds by ISBN: 9780313337581Publication Date: 2007-08-30This reference guide gives us a tour of 100 of the most important, common, unusual, and intriguing compounds known to science. Each entry gives an extensive explanation of the composition, molecular formula, and chemical properties of the compound. In addition, each entry reviews the relevant chemistry, history, and uses of the compound, with discussions of the origin of the compound's name, the discovery or first synthesis of the compound, production statistics, and uses of the compound.
Schaum's Outlines: Theory and Problems of Beginning Chemistry by ISBN: 9780071466288This Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. Includes practice problems with full explanations that reinforce knowledge. Coverage of the most up-to-date developments in your course field. In-depth review of practices and applications. Fully compatible with your classroom text,
Books
Chemical Calculations by Call Number: QD39.3.M3 Y38 2007ISBN: 9780849391644Publication Date: 2007-02-27.Chemical Calculations: Mathematics for Chemistry, Second Edition provides a unified, student-friendly reference of mathematical concepts and techniques incorporated into the context of familiar chemical topics.
1,001 chemistry practice problems for dummies by Call Number: QD42 .H34 2014ISBN: 9781118549322Publication Date: 2014-04-141001 Chemistry Practice Problems For Dummies provides students of this popular course the chance to practice what they learn in class, deepening their understanding of the material, and allowing for supplemental explanation of difficult topics.
College Chemistry by Call Number: QD41 .R668 2013ISBN: 9780071810821Publication Date: 2013-05-31This Schaum's College Chemistry Outline gives you 1,340 fully solved problems Clear, concise explanations of all college chemistry concepts Support for all the major textbooks for college chemistry courses Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know.
The Manga Guide to Biochemistry by Call Number: QP509 .T3513 2011ISBN: 9781593272760Publication Date: 2011-11-11Kumi loves to eat, but she's worried that her passion for junk food is affecting her health. Determined to unlock the secrets of dieting, she enlists the help of her brainy friend Nemoto and his beautiful biochemistry professor, Dr. Kurosaka. And so it begins... Follow along in The Manga Guide to Biochemistry as Kumi explores the mysteries of her body's inner workings.
Reactions: the private life of atoms by Call Number: QD501 .A86 2011ISBN: 9780199695126Publication Date: 2011-11-01Through an innovative, closely integrated design of images and text, and his characteristically clear, precise, and economical exposition, Peter Atkins explains the processes involved in chemical reactions. He begins by introducing a "tool kit" of basic reactions, such as precipitation,corrosion, and catalysis, and concludes by showing how these building blocks are brought together in more complex processes such as photosynthesis.
Wonderful Life with the Elements by Call Number: QD467 .Y6613 2012ISBN: 9781593274238Publication Date: 2012-09-12The Wonderful Life with the Elements isan illustrated guide to the periodic table that gives chemistry a friendly face. In this super periodic table, every element is a unique character whose properties are represented visually: heavy elements are fat, man-made elements are robots, and noble gases sport impressive afros. Every detail is significant, from the length of an element's beard to the clothes on its back. You'll also learn about each element's discovery, its common uses, and other vital stats like whether it floats or explodes in water. Why bother trudging through a traditional periodic table? In this periodic paradise, the elements are people too. And once you've met them, you'll never forget them.
The Periodic Table by ISBN: 1429459425Publication Date: 2007-01-01In this authoritative introduction to the periodic table, Eric Scerri presents a modern and fresh exploration of this fundamental topic in the physical sciences, considering the deeper implications of the arrangements of the table to atomic physics and quantum mechanics. Scerri looks at the trends in properties of elements that led to the construction of the periodic table, and how the deeper meaning of its structure gradually became apparent with the development of atomic theory and quantum mechanics, so that physics arguably came to colonize an entirely different science, chemistry.
