Articles/Databases
- Criminal Justice (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Criminology, forensic pyschology, and some legal topics. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals, gov. reports, magazines, and dissertations.
- Social Science Journals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals, magazines, and dissertations.
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive (CQ Press) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Controversial topics. Best for: Starting your research. Includes: Easy to read Wikipedia type articles, pro/cons, and links to additional sources.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics. Best for: Starting your research. Includes: scholarly journals, news, and magazines.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
View a Websites
- Justice Information Resource NetworkFormerly, Justice Research and Statistics Association (JRSA), now the Justice Information Resource Network (JIRN) is a national non-profit and resource center for researchers, analysts, journalists, and practitioners of justice research. We produce nonpartisan, reputable, and comprehensive research exploring today’s crucial issues across the justice spectrum.
- Law Officer MagazineThis site is the online presence of Law Officer Magazine. Featured is “law enforcement news, exclusive online feature articles, a buyer’s guide, and special pages dedicated to every facet of the police community, as well as the archives” of articles originally found in the print version.
- National Criminal Justice Reference ServiceThe “NCJRS offers extensive reference and referral services to help you find answers to your questions about crime and justice-related research, policy, and practice”. Here you will find links to hundreds of publications, available grants, criminal justice organizations, and a question-and-answer section where experts field user-submitted questions
- Sourcebook of Criminal Justice StatisticsOver 100 sources of statistics are compiled here to provide over 1,000 different tables of criminal justice statistics. Topics include: criminal justice characteristics, public opinion, victims of crime, arrests and seizures, prosecution and sentencing, parole, jails and prisons, and the death penalty. Also includes the statistics from U.S. Bureau of Justice
Statistics. - Uniform Crime ReportsConceived to meet the need for reliable uniform crime statistics for the nation, the Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program has been the starting place for law enforcement executives, students of criminal justice, researchers, members of the media, and the public at large seeking information on crime in the nation.
Video/Media
- Multimedia From NIJStreaming interviews, podcasts and webinars on current criminal justice topics from the National Institute of Justice.
- Films on Demand (Films Media Group) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics. Best for: Presentations needing visual aids or assignments that allow films as sources (create an optional personal account to save videos and create custom clips). Includes: Streaming educational videos.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
Images
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Art, architecture, and humanities. Best for: Research or presentations that need images or primary sources. Includes: Images of art, architecture, and artists. Little to no research information is given for the images.
Library Login
Library Access
(articles, eBooks, etc. from databases OR library search engine)
(loans, renewals, requests from the library search engine)
Username = your College email address
Password = your Canvas password
Books
Gangs and the United States Military by Call Number: HV6439.U5 S613 2017Publication Date: 2017-09-15By observing gang activity from the Revolutionary War to today Smith examines the presence of military-trained, often veteran, gang members in the communities.
They Can't Kill Us All by Call Number: E185.86 .L69 2016Publication Date: 2016-11-15Conducting hundreds of interviews during the course of over one year reporting on the ground, Washington Post writer Wesley Lowery reports to uncover life inside the most heavily policed, if otherwise neglected, corners of America today. Lowery examines the cumulative effect of decades of racially biased policing in segregated neighborhoods with failing schools, crumbling infrastructure and too few jobs.
Ebooks
Child Exploitation and Trafficking by Publication Date: 2016-12-21This Second Edition brings fresh, practical thinking to this oft-misunderstood area of the law, helping erase some of its counterproductive mythology. The book not only provides the first comprehensive, practical introduction to the history and present-day reality of child exploitation and supply chain issues, but it also traces the interconnected web of domestic and transnational federal laws and law enforcement efforts launched in response thereto.
College in Prison by Publication Date: 2017-02-01A study in how the liberal arts can alter the landscape of some of our most important public institutions giving people from all walks of life a chance to enrich their minds and expand their opportunities.
Combating Internet-Enabled Terrorism: Emerging Research and Opportunities by Publication Date: 2017-01-25An informative resource that highlights developments that will aid in combating internet-based hostility and violence. Featuring extensive coverage on relevant topics that include social media, military tactics, and counterterrorism, this publication will provide insight into the world of internet terrorism to researchers, academicians, and graduate students in this field.
A Troubled Marriage by Publication Date: 2011-12-01The current legal response to domestic violence is excessively focused on physical violence; this narrow definition of abuse fails to provide protection from behaviors that are profoundly damaging, including psychological, economic, and reproductive abuse. A Troubled Marriage is a provocative exploration of how the legal system's response to domestic violence developed, why that response is flawed, and what we should do to change it.
