Quick Options
Library-created modules are available for importing to your course from the Commons. Add & edit as needed, and consider embedding a Librarian to your course to personalize the content!
*Note that you must be logged in to Canvas and/or Canvas Commons for the module links below to work.
- Seminole State College: APA Crash Course by Karli Mair This module teaches students how to cite using APA 7th edition. It uses a mixture of video, text, and activities to demonstrate setting up a Word Document for APA, formatting in-text citations, and creating reference list citations. It also covers bias-free language. The module follows the Manual, but you can modify the content to match your specific citation requirements. A practice quiz with feedback and a final quiz provide assessment of citation skills. For technical assistance, please contact Karli Mair: mairk@seminolestate.edu.
- Seminole State College: APA Crash Course w/ 6th Ed. Commentary by Karli Mair This module teaches students how to cite using APA 7th edition. It uses a mixture of video, text, and activities to demonstrate setting up a Word Document for APA, formatting in-text citations, and creating reference list citations. It also covers bias-free language. The module follows the Manual, but you can modify the content to match your specific citation requirements. A practice quiz with feedback and a final quiz provide assessment of citation skills. Expect the module to take students 45-60 minutes to complete. Note that there is a manual grading component for the complete citation in the Final Quiz. For technical assistance, please contact Karli Mair mairk@seminolestate.edu.
- Seminole State College - Developmental Writing Research Module by Ross Martin
- Seminole State College - Plagiarism 101 by Karli Mair This module uses a mixture of video, text, and multiple choice questions to help students define plagiarism, identify the purpose of citations, and create strategies to avoid plagiarism. Expect the module to take students 20-30 minutes to complete. All content is already in the module, and an embedded librarian is not required.
How to Find Content in Canvas Commons
Course or Program Specific Videos
- ENC1102 Research Lecture Made in collaboration with faculty, this video tutorial guides students through the basics of what they need for a typical literature research assignment.
How-to and Concept Videos
- Seminole State College: APA Crash Course by Karli Mair This module teaches students how to cite using APA 7th edition. It uses a mixture of video, text, and activities to demonstrate setting up a Word Document for APA, formatting in-text citations, and creating reference list citations. It also covers bias-free language. The module follows the Manual, but you can modify the content to match your specific citation requirements. A practice quiz with feedback and a final quiz provide assessment of citation skills. For technical assistance, please contact Karli Mair: mairk@seminolestate.edu.
- Getting Started with Online Library ResourcesThis very short video offers a quick overview of the online resources available for students. Perfect for SLS courses!
The Library's quick video tutorials are great for point-of-need learning in Canvas. See the complete lists below:
Database Tutorials
- Academic Writer Made in collaboration with faculty, this video shows students how to use the Academic Writer database.
- Art & Architecture Source Database This video tutorial shows students how to search and access scholarly articles about art in the Art and Architecture Source database. Run time: 3:05.
- Artemis Literary Sources Database This video shows how to search the Artemis Database, which allows you to search multiple literature databases from Gale from one interface. In this database, you will find literature criticism, topic and work overviews, and author biographies. Run Time: 2:07
- CINAHL Database Covers a basic search in CINAHL, how to add items to a folder, and how to email items to oneself. Run time: 3:56
- Education Source (EBSCO) Database This video tutorial shows students how to search and access scholarly, news, and magazines articles about education in the Education Source database. Run time: 2:38
- Films on Demand Database This video tutorial shows students how to search and access academic films in the Films on Demand database. Run time: 1:21
- GreenFILE database This video tutorial shows students how to search and access scholarly, news, and magazine articles about environmental topics in the GreenFILE database. Run time: 2:35
- Humanities Source Database This video will show students the most important features of the Humanities Source database as well as how to search it. Run time: 2:36
- JSTOR Database This video tutorial shows students how to search and access scholarly articles in the JSTOR database. JSTOR is best for topics with a historical aspect to them because it has more archival sources and not many more recent ones. Run time: 1:34
- Military and Government Collection Database This video tutorial will walk students through locating and accessing articles found in the Military & Government Collection database, which includes current and history military history and analysis, political science research, and government documents. Run time: 2:36
- PsycArticles Database This video tutorial shows students how to search for and access resources in the PsycArticles database. Run time: 3:41
Subject-specific guides connect your students with pertinent resources from multiple formats (databases/articles, eBooks, web links, etc.).
- Many courses already have a subject-specific guide populated in the Research Help tab of Canvas navigation
- For a complete list of available guides, visit the Research Tutorials/Subject Guides page
- To request that an existing guide be embedded/exchanged within your course, contact the Online Services Librarian
We also have a self-guided Research Foundations course that covers research basics, including understanding information, beginning the research process, finding books/media, finding articles, and citing sources.
Need another option? Simply add links to Guides anywhere in your course: