We hand-picked these resources to help you find info on your topic:
(You may have to use the Library Login)
Articles/Databases
- Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Architecture, art, design, and manufacturing. Includes: professional magazines, scholarly journals, conference papers, and news.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowBest for: Assignments needing information on authors, scientists, politicians, artists, celebrities, historical figures, etc. Includes: Biographies, news, media, and some scholarly journals.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Humanitites, social sciences, and sciences. Includes: Scholarly journals, book chapters, and primary sources.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): History, literature, political science, philosophy, language, and religion. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals, magazines, news.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics. Best for: Starting your research. Includes: scholarly journals, news, and magazines.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
View a 
International Directory of Films and Filmmakers (eBook) by ISBN: 9781558625334Publication Date: 2004-02-01
Periodicals physically available on the 2nd floor of the Sanford/Lake Mary Library:
- Asian Cinema
- Cineast
- Entertainment Weekly
- Film Comment
- Film Quarterly
- Sight and Sound
Websites
- AFI: American Film Institute CatalogThe AFI Catalog contains filmographic information for all American feature films produced from 1893-1972. AFI awards and Outstanding Movies of the Year for 2000-2010 are also included.
- Archive of American TelevisionAn oral history of television -- a video collection of first-person interviews with those involved in the birth and growth of the American television industry.
- Hong Kong Film Archive CatalogThis database allows you to search for information on films by title, actor and genre. This database is provided by the government-owned Hong Kong Film Archive.
- Hong Kong Film ArchiveOfficial website for the Hong Kong Film Archive
- Internet Movie DatabaseThis huge movie database allows you to search for information on films by title and actor. It provides actor filmographies and biographies, full cast and crew listings, plot summaries, photos of original movie posters, and much more.
- FilmSite.orgThis site has signed film reviews for current theater and DVD releases, plus columns of commentary by authors such as John Acalzi and Thelma Adams.
- Roger Ebert's WebsiteIt contains reviews and commentary from the famous film critic. Ebert's writing is learned, nuanced, and accessable, making him an interesting read.
- Rotten TomatoesHere is a popular film site that is fun to use. After you have found the movie you are looking for, scroll down to the section marked "Critic Reviews". There the site has collected links to reviews from professional film critics. This can be especially helpful for finding reviews of older movies.
Video/Media
- Academic Film Archive of North AmericaOrganization that curates over 300 digitized short films from throughout the 21st century, most of which are also hosted in the Internet Archive's film collections.
- Moving Image ArchiveThe Internet Archive's film collection, all videos are available to stream freely and are uploaded by users of the site. The collection ranges from classic feature films to independently produced films of all varieties.
- National Film Board of Canada's Film ArchiveOver 2,000 Canadian films, animated shorts, and documentaries can be streamed from the site.
- Open Culture - Free Movies OnlineThe Open Culture site collects over 1,000 films that are freely available to stream online.
- Swank Motion PicturesLibrary database housing feature films.
- UbuWeb : Film & VideoBilling the site as "all avant-garde,all the time", presented here are hundreds of short films from the last 50 years, all available to stream freely.
Library Login
Library Access
(articles, eBooks, etc. from databases OR library search engine)
(loans, renewals, requests from the library search engine)
Username = your College email address
Password = your Canvas password
Course Reserves
Your textbook and other course materials may be available at the Library:
Books
American Independent Cinema by Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 T956 2017ISBN: 9781474416825Publication Date: 2017
The Big Screen: The Story of the Movies by Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 T463 2012ISBN: 9780374191894Publication Date: 2012
Fifty Hollywood Directors by Call Number: PN1993.5.U65 F655 2015ISBN: 0415501407Publication Date: 2014
The Oxford History of World Cinema by Call Number: PN1993.5.A1 O96 1997ISBN: 9780198742425Publication Date: 1999
Ebooks
The Way Hollywood Tells It: Story and Style in Modern Movies by ISBN: 9780520932326Publication Date: 2006
To find more eBooks about film, use this link to get started.