Articles/Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics in fire science. Best for: Starting your research. Includes: Scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and news.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics in fire science. Best for: Starting your research. Includes: Scholarly journals, magazines, and news.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - Springer eJournal Collection This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Strongest in fire engineering, technology, and safety, as well as environmental factors in fire science. Best for: Assignments that require scholarly, credible research. Includes: Scholarly journals.
- Sage Journals (Sage Publications) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Strongest in fire engineering, technology, and equipment, as well as firefighter health. Best for: Assignments that require scholarly, credible research. Includes: Scholarly journals.
View a Websites
- 36 Resources for Emergency Management and Fire Service ProfessionalsThis guide published by Purdue University Global, provides resources for those entering fire science and emergency management careers. Some of these tools come from government agencies, professional organizations, fire science research groups, and disaster management organizations.
- Florida Fire Prevention CodeThis page will link you to the current Florida Fire Prevention Code as well as local amendments and proposed amendments being considered.
- Active Fire Mapping ProgramLed by the USDA Forest Service, the Active Fire Mapping Program provides current fire conditions in all areas of the United States.
- National Fire Protection AssociationThe NFPA is dedicated to education and practice in fire science. Freely access NFPA news, training materials, topic reports, statistics, safety information, and a code search tool.
- U.S. Fire Administration - PublicationsA searchable catalog of free brochures, handouts, and other publications produced by the U.S. Fire Administration concerning a variety of topics.
- Firehouse MagazineWeb version of Firehouse magazine, which features firefighter-related news, product guides, and community tools like forums, job postings, and more.
- Wildland Fire - Forest Service USDAOfficial site of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Forest Service.
- Fire.govOnline newsletter and resource directory to a wealth of fire science topics like technology, forensics, tactics, and many others.
Video/Media
- Films on Demand (Films Media Group) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics. Best for: Presentations needing visual aids or assignments that allow films as sources (create an optional personal account to save videos and create custom clips). Includes: Streaming educational videos.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - Alexander Street Press Streaming Video This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics. Includes: Documentaries, films, and musicals. Faculty How To
- Swank Digital Campus (Motion Pictures) This link opens in a new windowIncludes: Some feature length films and documentaries, such as the Matrix and Food, Inc. Faculty How To
Images
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Art, architecture, and humanities. Best for: Research or presentations that need images or primary sources. Includes: Images of art, architecture, and artists. Little to no research information is given for the images.
Library Login
Library Access
(articles, eBooks, etc. from databases OR library search engine)
(loans, renewals, requests from the library search engine)
Username = your College email address
Password = your Canvas password
Course Reserves
Your textbook and other course materials may be available at the Library:
Books
Hydraulics for Firefighting by Call Number: TH9311 .C73 2008Publication Date: 2007-07-27This revised edition of Hydraulics for Firefighting effectively teaches hydraulics by addressing the underlying science in a basic, understandable way. Each chapter builds on the last with a logical, systematic approach. The simplification of this complex subject, including the updating of formulae, makes the text usable for both rookie and veteran firefighters and those preparing for promotional examinations. New features of this edition include: steps of pump operation, testing fire pumps, calculating hose lengths for foam educators, and an expanded rural water supply section. The book is ideal for college level courses and correlates to the course objectives of the Fire and Emergency Services in Higher Education (FESHE) model curriculum for Fire Protection Hydraulics & Water Supply, as well as an excellent solution for fire departments and fire academies training new pump operators.
Wildland Firefighting Practices by Publication Date: 2000-08-04This well-illustrated book describes in detail all aspects of wildland firefighting. Written in a clear, "how-to" style by a seasoned fire officer, it provides a comprehensive explanation of all the skills a firefighter needs to operate effectively against any type of wildland blaze. Step-by-step photographs of actual operations make it easy for the user to understand the material; illustrations and graphs reinforce the learning process. This book leaves readers with a complete understanding of the challenges they will face - and with the skills and confidence to meet the challenges of being a wildland firefighter.
Rope Rescue for Firefighting by ISBN: 0912212616Publication Date: 1998-01-01* A step-by-step guide for rope rescue * Chapter illustrations cover knots, ascent, rigging systems, and anchor points * Identifies critical techniques required for rope rescue This book helps to establish effective and safe technical rope rescue operations. Brennan begins by aiding you in identifying the risks in the area that you are operating in and assessing your organizational strengths and needs, then follows with a discussion of the various rope rescue components. Includes illustrations of the knots and systems mentioned.
Collapse of Burning Buildings by Publication Date: 1988-01-01Learn how to protect yourself from collapse by understanding why it occurs and the signs that lead to it. Dunn reviews general building design and construction methods, along with the types of collapse that may occur. He also documents hazards that occur with master stream operations and buildings under construction. Contents: General collapse information Constructive terms of building design Building construction: Firefighting problems and structural hazards Masonry wall collapse Collapse dangers of parapet walls Wood floor collapse Lightweight steel roof collapse Lightweight wood truss collapse Ceiling collapse Stairway collapse Fire escape collapse Wood-frame building collapse Collapse hazards of buildings under construction Collapse caused by master stream operation Search and rescue at a building collapse Safety precautions prior to collapse Post-fire analysis Appendix: Post-fire analysis.
