We hand-picked these resources to help you find info on your topic:
(You may have to use the Library Login)
Articles/Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics. Best for: Starting your research. Includes: scholarly journals, news, and magazines.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - Clio This link opens in a new windowClio is a non-profit website/app that locates nearby historical sites, museums, monuments, and other landmarks while providing links to related books, articles, videos, primary sources and credible websites.
- Florida News Sources [formerly Florida Newspapers] (NewsBank) This link opens in a new windowBest for: Local information and current news about Florida. Includes: 100 Florida-based news sources as well as television and radio broadcast transcripts.
- History Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowBest for: Starting your research. Includes: Reference entries, magazines, biographies, and images.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Humanitites, social sciences, and sciences. Includes: Scholarly journals, book chapters, and primary sources.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - New York Times - Historical (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): History or humanities. Best for: Finding first-hand accounts or perspectives of the politics, society and events from 1851-2014. Includes: Archived issues.
- Salem Online This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): History, health, and literature. Best for: Defining terms or starting your research. Includes: Literary criticisms and easy to read wikipedia type articles.
View a 
Websites
- Florida Division of Historical ResourcesFlorida agency that aims to promote historical, archaeological and folk culture resources.
- Florida Heritage CollectionCollection of digitized materials representing "Florida's history, culture, arts, literature, sciences and social sciences", mostly from our state university archives and libraries.
- Florida Historical SocietyEstablished in 1856, the Florida Historical Society is dedicated to preserving Florida's past through the collection and archival maintenance of historical documents and photographs, the publication of scholarly research on Florida history, and educating the public about Florida history through a variety of public history projects and programs.
- Florida History Online"A digital archive of textual and visual documents of Florida history produced by students and faculty at the University of North Florida."
- National Register of Historic PlacesDirectory to historic homes, buildings, and other sites - provides some basic information about each structure and location data.
- PALMM Digital CollectionCollection of various types of sources from Florida aimed at research and scholarship, including the Florida Historical Quarterly journal and the Florida Map Collection.
Images
- Sanborn mapsThe Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps Online Checklist provides a searchable database of the fire insurance maps published by the Sanborn Map Company housed in the collections of the Geography and Map Division
Library Login
Library Access
(articles, eBooks, etc. from databases OR library search engine)
(loans, renewals, requests from the library search engine)
Username = your College email address
Password = your Canvas password
Course Reserves
Your textbook and other course materials may be available at the Library:
Ebooks
Beechers, Stowes, and Yankee Strangers by ISBN: 9780813022475Publication Date: 1999-01-01A very readable history of Florida covering the period just prior to the Civil War and until the start of the 20th century. . . . If you are interested in seeing how Florida's past shaped its present, this book is a useful tool. It should be required reading for any Florida history class." --" Ft. Pierce Tribune"
Colonial Plantations and Economy in Florida by ISBN: 9780813022871Life in Florida 200 years before the Epcot Center was a complex and painful story of speculation and exploitation, of high hopes and bitter realities. This very southern story has remained unknown to most Americans for too long. Now a diligent group of Florida historians is mining late 18th-century sources to uncover a forgotten world of English and Spanish, Minorcans and Greeks, Ibos and Fulani, Creeks and Seminoles. This timely volume brings together some of their best and most recent work, offering a varied, coherent, and detailed introduction to the work-in-progress that is early Florida history during the crucial period long after De León and De Soto and shortly before Jackson and Osceola
The French in Early Florida by ISBN: 9780813017846Publication Date: 2000-08-14John McGrath offers a careful reconstruction of the dramatic fate of the expeditions that attempted to plant a permanent French presence on North America's eastern seaboard during the 1560s--the first full treatment of these events from the French perspective. This campaign became one of the most stunning defeats in the history of European colonialism when Spanish commander Pedro Menendez de Avila destroyed France's Fort Caroline and its relief fleet during the late summer and fall of 1565.The Seminole Indians of Florida by
ISBN: 9780813022932Publication Date: 2000-01-01The first anthropological study of the Florida Seminoles, this classic portrait was originally published in 1889 by the Smithsonian Institution's Bureau of Ethnology. The report describes Seminole clothing and ornaments, the palm-thatched chickees in which families lived, economic pursuits, crafts, and other aspects of everyday life. Supplementing MacCauley's report in this edition are additional materials and photographs
Slavery in Florida by ISBN: 9780813033815Publication Date: 2009-03-15Shows how slavery differed dramatically in different regions of the state and how, in fact, it evolved over the years in those areas.
Florida's Hurricane History by Call Number: QC945 .B35 2007ISBN: 9780807830680Publication Date: 2007-05-21In this book, Jay Barnes offers a fascinating and informative look at Florida's hurricane history. Drawing on meteorological research, news reports, first-person accounts, maps, and historical photographs, he traces all of the notable hurricanes that have affected the state over the last four-and-a-half centuries, from the great storms of the early colonial period to the devastating hurricanes of 2004 and 2005--Charley, Frances, Ivan, Jeanne, Dennis, Katrina, and Wilma.
Books
Africa in Florida by Call Number: E185.93.F5 A34 2014ISBN: 9780813049663Publication Date: 2015-02-03With contributions by excellent scholars in the field of African and African diaspora studies and cultural studies, the volume provides diverse meanings and interpretations of contacts among Africans from the continent, Europeans, and indigenous people of Florida that resulted in works of creative arts, language, music, and food.
Florida at War by Call Number: F311 .S73 2011ISBN: 9780764337147Publication Date: 2011-06-13Forts, military camps, and military battles have been part of Florida's history since the earliest times.
Florida under Five Flags by Call Number: F311 .P3 2013ISBN: 9780813044903Publication Date: 2013-04-30Originally published in 1945, this concise volume covering Spanish, French, British, American, and Confederate rule of Florida commemorated the state's centennial anniversary. Reissued numerous times, it is not only a seminal text but also one that has remained relevant and in demand over the years.
Hidden History of Florida by Call Number: F311 .C523 2015ISBN: 9781626199972Publication Date: 2015-11-02Florida has a history as diverse as its residents. And much of that is still hidden. Since the arrival of the Spanish in 1513, the state has played host to strange stories. A heartbroken senator entered a mental institution over unrequited love for an heiress. Thousands of British pilots trained in flight schools across the state. And the true, and darker, story of Pocahontas is linked with the "first barbecue." Author and historian James C. Clark unearths a history hidden beneath swamps and sand for years.
The History of Florida by Call Number: F311.5 .N49 2013ISBN: 9780813044644Publication Date: 2013-10-29This is the heralded "definitive history" of Florida. No other book so fully or accurately captures the highs and lows, the grandeur and the craziness, the horrors and the glories of the past 500 years in the Land of Sunshine.
La Florida: five hundred years of Hispanic presence by Call Number: F314 .F54 2014ISBN: 9780813062037Publication Date: 2016-04-05This ambitious volume explores five centuries of Hispanic presence in the New World peninsula, reflecting on the breadth and depth of encounters between the different lands and cultures.
