LibGuides: Historic Preservation: Chosen for You

We hand-picked these resources to help you find info on your topic:

(You may have to use the Library Login)

Articles/Databases

Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): Engineering, computer software, artificial intelligence, and space science. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly sources or images. Includes: Scholarly journals, magazines, and images.

View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): Architecture, art, design, and manufacturing. Includes: professional magazines, scholarly journals, conference papers, and news.

View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): Art, architecture, and humanities. Best for: Research or presentations that need images or primary sources. Includes: Images of art, architecture, and artists. Little to no research information is given for the images.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): Environmental topics such as climate change, green building, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals and magazines.

View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
Environmental Studies (Gale In Context) (formerly GREENR) This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): Environmental topics such as pollution, carbon markets, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling. Best for: Starting your research or choosing a topic. Includes: Wikipedia type articles, scholarly journals, magazines, news, statistics, primary sources, and podcasts.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): Humanitites, social sciences, and sciences. Includes: Scholarly journals, book chapters, and primary sources.

View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): Business, health, education, general science, and multicultural issues. Best for: Starting your research. Includes: Magazines, news, scholarly journals, and primary sources.
Springer eJournal Collection This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): All topics but strongest in technical and scientific research. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals.

Websites

ArchDaily's Architectural Preservation section
This link will yield all of the ArchDaily's posting related to historic preservation of buildings.
Architectural Record Magazine
Periodical source for architecture design, modern architecture, and green architecture from McGraw Hill Construction.
International Architecture Database
Contains information on over 38,000 built and unrealized architectural projects, mostly from the 20th century.
eng.archinform.net
National Register of Historic Places
Directory to historic homes, buildings, and other sites - provides some basic information about each structure and location data.

Images

Gottscho-Schleisner Collection
The Gottscho-Schleisner Collection is comprised of over 29,000 images primarily of architectural subjects, including interiors and exteriors of homes, stores, offices, factories, historic buildings, and other structures. Subjects are concentrated chiefly in the northeastern United States, especially the New York City area, and Florida.
Cities & Buildings Database
5500 images of architecture and city views from around the world.
Digital Imaging Project
Collection of over 20,000 images hosted by an art history and architecture professor from Bluffton University.