We hand-picked these resources to help you find info on your topic:
(You may have to use the Library Login)
Articles/Databases
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics. Best for: Starting your research. Includes: scholarly journals, news, and magazines.
View a video tutorial on this database. -
Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Architecture, art, design, and manufacturing. Includes: professional magazines, scholarly journals, conference papers, and news.
View a video tutorial on this database. -
Gale Literature (formerly Artemis Literary Sources) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): English. Best for: Assignments on literature or authors. Includes: Literary criticisms, topic and work overviews, and author biographies.
-
Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowBest for: Assignments needing information on authors, scientists, politicians, artists, celebrities, historical figures, etc. Includes: Biographies, news, media, and some scholarly journals.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. -
History Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowBest for: Starting your research. Includes: Reference entries, magazines, biographies, and images.
-
Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): History, literature, political science, philosophy, language, and religion. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals, magazines, news.
View a video tutorial on this database. -
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Humanitites, social sciences, and sciences. Includes: Scholarly journals, book chapters, and primary sources.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. -
World Religion (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new windowBest for: Easier to read introductions to belief systems and key religious figures. Includes: Wikipedia type articles, biographies, and primary sources.
View a 
Websites
-
The LabyrinthThe Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies from Georgetown University. Free, organized access to databases, services, texts, and images around the world.
-
Medieval and Renaissance Illuminated Manuscripts from Western EuropeDigital gallery of medieval and Renaissance illuminated manuscripts from the New York Public Library's very large collection. These works focus on the 9th through the 16th centuries -- seven hundred years of profound political, ecclesiastical, social, and intellectual change in Western Europe and the world.
-
Medieval European History podcastsA collection of podcasts from the Historical Association, the UK national charity for history.
-
The Middle AgesFrom the British Library, an online collection of articles and illuminated manuscripts and articles that shed light on everyday life in the medieval period.
-
The Middle Ages OnlineA well-organized portal with links to various topics, including art and music. From Louisiana State University.
-
University of Oxford podcastsPodcasts relating to the Middle Ages.
Video/Media
-
Films on Demand (Films Media Group) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics. Best for: Presentations needing visual aids or assignments that allow films as sources (create an optional personal account to save videos and create custom clips). Includes: Streaming educational videos.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
Images
-
ARTstor This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Art, architecture, and humanities. Best for: Research or presentations that need images or primary sources. Includes: Images of art, architecture, and artists. Little to no research information is given for the images.
-
Oxford Art Online (Oxford University Press) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Art, architecture, and history. Includes: Art images, artist biographies, and short articles on art terms, archeaological sites, and works.
Library Login
Library Access
(articles, eBooks, etc. from databases OR library search engine)
(loans, renewals, requests from the library search engine)
Username = your College email address
Password = your Canvas password
Course Reserves
Your textbook and other course materials may be available at the Library:
Ebooks
-
Early Medieval Philosophy 480-1150 by
ISBN: 0203004221Publication Date: 2002-03-11Compact but singularly well thought out material of a theological, logical, poetic as well as philosophical nature. -
The First Thousand Years
by
ISBN: 9780300198386Publication Date: 2013-11-12Beginning with the life of Jesus, Robert Louis Wilken narrates the dramatic spread and development of Christianity over the first thousand years of its history. Moving through the formation of early institutions, practices, and beliefs to the transformations of the Roman world after the conversion of Constantine, he sheds new light on the subsequent stories of Christianity in the Latin West, the Byzantine and Slavic East, the Middle East, and Central Asia. -
Gothic Cathedrals: a guide to the history, places, art, and symbolism
by
ISBN: 9780892541737Publication Date: 2015-04-15From the 12th century through the 16th centuries, the Gothic architectural style spread throughout Europe. Several hundred churches and other public buildings were built, many of which stand to this day. Gothic architecture left its legacy of meticulous building techniques and the infusion of illuminating interior space through extensive use of stained glass. Its design criteria convey a palpable awareness of the vast power of time and place. -
The Gothic Enterprise: a guide to understanding the medieval cathedral
by
ISBN: 9781417525621Publication Date: 2003-01-01The great Gothic cathedrals of Europe are among the most astonishing achievements of Western culture. Evoking feelings of awe and humility, they make us want to understand what inspired the people who had the audacity to build them. This engrossing book surveys an era that has fired the historical imagination for centuries. -
Materials, Methods, and Masterpieces of Medieval Art
by
ISBN: 9781567206555Publication Date: 2009-08-27A comprehensive and informed analysis explores the startlingly diverse and sophisticated fine arts in the Middle Ages. * Includes 76 illustrations -
Medieval France
by
ISBN: 9780824044442Publication Date: 1995-03-01The first single-volume reference work on the history and culture of medieval France, this information-filled Encyclopedia of over 2,400 entries covers the political, intellectual, literary, and musical history of the country from the early fifth century to the late 15th.
Books
-
The Cambridge Companion to Medieval Music
by
Call Number: ML172 .C32 2011ISBN: 9780521608619Publication Date: 2011-03-03From the emergence of plainsong to the end of the fourteenth century, this Companion covers all the key aspects of medieval music. Divided into three main sections, the book first of all discusses repertory, styles and techniques - the key areas of traditional music histories; next taking a topographical view of the subject - from Italy, German-speaking lands, and the Iberian Peninsula; and concludes with chapters on such issues as liturgy, vernacular poetry and reception -
Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature
by
Call Number: Ref PN669 .E53 2000ISBN: 9780313300547Publication Date: 2000-07-30Often misleadingly called the Dark Ages, the period between the fall of Rome and the Renaissance was a time of great creativity. The Middle Ages gave rise to some of the world's most enduring and influential literary works, including Dante's "Commedia," Chaucer's "The Canterbury Tales," and a large body of Arthurian lore and legend. This reference is a comprehensive guide to literature written between 500 and 1500. -
Masterpieces: medieval art
by
Call Number: N5964.G7 L666 2008ISBN: 9780714128153Publication Date: 2008-12-31Coinciding with a major refit of the medieval galleries at the British Museum, this book presents some of the highlights, concentrating on the period 1050-1500. The pieces are photographed superbly in full colour, each with a description on the facing page. The book is arranged into three sections - devotional art, society and international influences - and the succesion of artefacts follows a logical thread, but this will mainly be a book to dip into, and a feast for the eyes. -
Medieval Architecture
by
Call Number: NA350 .C65 2002ISBN: 9780192842763Publication Date: 2002-07-18In this unique study, the traditional image of medieval architecture consisting entirely of Gothic cathedrals and the castles of chivalry is set aside to provide an entirely new perspective. With the emphasis shifted away from such areas as France towards the creativity of other regions, including central Europe and Spain, this comprehensive volume focuses on the diverse nature of a great variety of buildings between 1150 and 1550. Treating the subject thematically rather than chronologically, construction methods, patronage and function, as well as the symbolic meanings represented in architecture are explored, providing an excellent reference for students of art, art history and the general reader. -
Medieval Modern
by
Call Number: N7428.5 .N333 2012ISBN: 0500238979Publication Date: 2012-12-15Rich collisions and fresh perspectives illuminate the profound continuities of thought and practice that have marked Western art through the ages This groundbreaking study offers a radical new reading of art since the Middle Ages. Moving across the familiar period lines set out in conventional histories, Alexander Nagel explores the deep connections between modern and premodern art to reveal the underlying patterns and ideas traversing centuries of artistic practice.
