We hand-picked these resources to help you find info on your topic:
(You may have to use the Library Login)
Articles/Databases
- American Indian Experience (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Historic and contemporary indigenous peoples of America. Best for: Starting your research, choosing a topic, or finding sources from the time period. Includes: Broad overviews of eras in history, short entries on scholarly topics, and primary sources.
- Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Architecture, art, design, and manufacturing. Includes: professional magazines, scholarly journals, conference papers, and news.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowBest for: Assignments needing information on authors, scientists, politicians, artists, celebrities, historical figures, etc. Includes: Biographies, news, media, and some scholarly journals.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): History, literature, political science, philosophy, language, and religion. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals, magazines, news.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Humanitites, social sciences, and sciences. Includes: Scholarly journals, book chapters, and primary sources.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - World Religion (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new windowBest for: Easier to read introductions to belief systems and key religious figures. Includes: Wikipedia type articles, biographies, and primary sources.
View a 
Websites
- IndiVisible-African-Native American Lives in the AmericasAn exhibition of the Smithsonian, IndiVisible discusses the similar plight of African Americans and Native Americans and people who have this shared heritage.
- National Museum of the American IndianPart of the Smithsonian Institution, the National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI) contains Native artifacts found within the Western Hemisphere, making up one of the largest collections in the world. Housed in Washington, D.C.; New York City; and Suitland, Maryland, the museum is located in three different areas, and also conducts traveling exhibitions and other outreach events. This information and more can be found on the About page on the NMAI website.
- National Park Service: Native American HeritageA bureau of the U.S. Department of the Interior, the National Park Service provides this page with information on preserved locations, people, and stories of Native Americans, along with more resources.
- The Seminole Tribe of FloridaThis website is the Seminole Tribe of Florida's official homepage. There is information on the tribe's history, culture, and government, among other resources. Issues of the Seminole Tribune are also available on this website.
- Trail of Florida's Indian HeritageA non-profit organization, Trail of Florida's Indian Heritage brings together local and national parks, museums, archaeological sites, and more. These groups work to educate the public on Indian heritage in Florida.
- Volusia County's Pre-Historic SitesThis website provides pages on nine different pre-historic sites within Volusia County. These include a variety of mounds.
Video/Media
- Films on Demand (Films Media Group) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics. Best for: Presentations needing visual aids or assignments that allow films as sources (create an optional personal account to save videos and create custom clips). Includes: Streaming educational videos.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
Images
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Art, architecture, and humanities. Best for: Research or presentations that need images or primary sources. Includes: Images of art, architecture, and artists. Little to no research information is given for the images.
Library Login
Library Access
(articles, eBooks, etc. from databases OR library search engine)
(loans, renewals, requests from the library search engine)
Username = your College email address
Password = your Canvas password
Course Reserves
Your textbook and other course materials may be available at the Library:
Ebooks
American Indian Biographies by ISBN: 9781587652332Publication Date: 2005-03-01American Indian Biographies consists of 391 alphabetically arranged essays containing biographical sketches on figures in North American Indian history, extending from the arrival of European colonists on North American shores to the early 21st century. American Indian Biographies examines the lives of those American Indians who are the most widely studied in secondary schools, colleges, and universities. Profiled here are historical, religious, social, and political leaders, warriors, and reformers, as well as contemporary activists, writers, artists, entertainers, scientists, and athletes.
American Indian Contributions to the World: Food, Farming, and Hunting by ISBN: 9780816053933Publication Date: 2005-01-01Food, Farming, and Hunting covers the many contributions that American Indians have made throughout history, including the various tools used in hunting, such as bolas, bows and arrows, and camouflage, and the different methods of fishing for each culture. The volume identifies the many foods North American, Mesoamerican, and South American Indians gathered, discusses the birth of agriculture in the Americas, and describes the plants that were eventually domesticated and farmed. Later developments and improvements in farming, such as irrigation and the use of fertilizer, are also covered.
Manitou and God by ISBN: 9780313347795Publication Date: 2007-10-30Manitou and God describes American Indian religions as they compare with principal features of Christian doctrine and practice. Thomas traces the development of sociopolitical and religious relations between American Indians and the European immigrants who, over the centuries, spread across the continent, captured Indian lands, and decimated Indian culture in general and religion in particular. He identifies the modern-day status of American Indians and their religions, including the progress Indians have made toward improving their political power, socioeconomic condition, and cultural/religious recovery and the difficulties they continue to face in their attempts to better their lot.
Native American Novelists by ISBN: 9781587659478Publication Date: 2012-01-01The essays in Native American Novelists discuss such influential writers as Sherman Alexie, James Fenimore Cooper, Louise Erdrich, and Barbara Kingsolver.
Native American Religions by ISBN: 9781438120539Surveys the history and basic beliefs of Native American religions
Books
American Indian Religious Traditions by Call Number: E98.R3 C755 2005ISBN: 9781576075173Publication Date: 2005-06-29Combining the work of Native Americans and non-Native scholars, this reference work explores indigenous North American religions, religious practices, and rituals. 150+ entries including extensive entries that address complex key ideas and pan-tribal movements, placing them within their historical and contemporary contexts. Comprehensive lists of further readings for each entry that provide the reader resources for deeper research. Illustrations including photos of community members, prominent places within traditional sacred geographies, regalia, basketry, traditional artwork, and more. Maps detailing tribal homelands, sidebars providing background of regional groups, and a listing of recognized tribes.
American Indian Thought: philosophical essays by Call Number: E98.P5 A44 2004ISBN: 9780631223047Publication Date: 2003-12-02This book brings together a diverse group of American Indian thinkers to discuss traditional and contemporary philosophies and philosophical issues. Covers American Indian thinking on issues concerning time, place, history, science, law, religion, nationhood, and art. Features newly commissioned essays by authors of American Indian descent. Includes a comprehensive bibliography to aid in research and inspire further reading.
Encyclopedia of Native American Artists by Call Number: N6538.A4 E94 2008ISBN: 9780313337628Publication Date: 2008-09-30Indigenous North Americans have continuously made important contributions to the field of art in the U.S. and Canada, yet have been severely under-recognized and under-represented. Native artists work in diverse media, some of which are considered art (sculpture, painting, photography), while others have been considered craft (works on cloth, basketry, ceramics).Some artists feel strongly about working from a position as a Native artist, while others prefer to produce art not connected to a particular cultural tradition.
Heartbeat of the People by Call Number: E98.P86 B76 2002ISBN: 9780252071867Publication Date: 2004-03-17The intertribal pow-wow is the most widespread venue for traditional Indian music and dance in North America. Now in paperback, Tara Browner's Heartbeat of the People is an insider's journey into the dances and music, the traditions and regalia, and the functions and significance of these vital cultural events.
North American Indian Art by Call Number: E98.A7 P36 2004ISBN: 0500203776Publication Date: 2004-06-17A splendidly illustrated introduction to the rich history of Native American art, distinguished by its broad coverage and nuanced discussion. This timely new book surveys the artistic traditions of indigenous North America, from those of ancient cultures such as Adena, Hopewell, Mississippian, and Anasazi to the work of modern artists like Earnest Spybuck, Fred Kabotie, Dick West, T. C. Cannon, and Gerald McMaster. The text is organized geographically and draws upon the testimonies of oral tradition, Native American history, and the latest research in North American archaeology. Recent art historical scholarship has helped restore, to a large degree, some understanding of the identities and cultural roles of Native American artists and the social contexts of the objects they created. Native American art is often discussed simply as a cultural production rather than the work of individual artists who made objects to fufill social and cultural purposes; this book focuses as much as possible on the artists themselves, their cultural identities, and the objects they made even when the names of the individual artists remain unrecoverable. But this is not a book of artists' biographies. It seeks to inform a general readership about the history of Native American art with a lively narrative full of historical incident and illustrated with provocative and superlative works of art. It explores the tension between artistic continuities spanning thousands of years and the startlingly fresh innovations that resulted from specific historical circumstances. The narrative weaves together so-called "traditional" arts, "tourist" arts, and Native American art of today by taking the point of view of their particular and local histories--the artists, their communities, and audiences. Among the many cultures included are: Arapaho, Athapascan, Cherokee, Cheyenne, Chumash, Hopi, Hupa/Karok, Inuit, Iroquois, Kwakiutl, Lakota, Miwok, Navajo, Ojibwa, Pomo, Tlingit, Tsimshian, Uypik, and Zuni.
