Subject(s): Art, architecture, and humanities. Best for: Research or presentations that need images or primary sources. Includes: Images of art, architecture, and artists. Little to no research information is given for the images.
Subject(s): Latino American history, key figures, and culture. Best for: Starting your research, choosing a topic, or finding sources from the time period. Includes: Broad overviews of eras in history, short entries on scholarly topics, and primary sources.
Located in St. Augustine, FL on the shore of Matanzas Bay, the Castillo de San Marcos is the oldest masonry fort in the continental United States. Construction on the fort began in 1672, when Florida was still a part of the Spanish Empire.
The ICAA Documents of 20th-Century Latin American and Latino Art Digital Archive provides access to primary sources and critical documents tracing the development of twentieth-century art in Latin America and among Latino populations in the United States.
Presented by the Library of Congress (LOC), the Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works chosen by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the LOC, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Published continuously since 1936, the Handbook offers researchers an essential guide to available resources.
Presented by the Oregon University System and its partners, the Mapping History Project is designed to provide interactive, animated representations of fundamental historical problems and illustrations of historical events and developments.
The books whose images make up this digital presentation offer a rich sampling of the extraordinary variety of NYPL's pictorial holdings on Latin America from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress. The WDL makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures.
College= select 'Seminole State College'
Borrower ID = your MySeminoleState login name
PIN = last 4 digits of Social Security or Student ID number
With a riotous mix of saints and devils, street theater and dancing, and music and fireworks, Christian festivals are some of the most lively and colorful spectacles that occur in Spain and its former European and American possessions. That these folk celebrations, with roots reaching back to medieval times, remain vibrant in the high-tech culture of the twenty-first century strongly suggests that they also provide an indispensable vehicle for expressing hopes, fears, and desires that people can articulate in no other way.
This volume traces the history of Latin American theater, including the Nuyorican and Chicano theaters of the United States, and surveys its history from the pre-Columbian period to the present.
The Garland Handbook of Latin American Music by Daniel Sheehy (Editor); Dale Olsen (Editor)
Publication Date: 2007-12-17
The Garland Handbook of Latin American Music is comprised of essays from The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music: Volume 2, South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Carribean, (1998). Revised and updated, the essays offer detailed, regional studies of the different musical cultures of Latin America and examine the ways in which music helps to define the identity of this particular area.
A reference guide to the vast array of art song literature and composers from Latin America, this book introduces the music of Latin America from a singer's perspective and provides a basis for research into the songs of this richly musical area of the world. The book is divided by country into 22 chapters, with each chapter containing an introductory essay on the music of the region, a catalog of art songs for that country, and a list of publishers.
Latin American Novels of the Conquest by Kimberle S. López
Publication Date: 2002-08-20
As the quincentenary of Columbus's first voyage was approaching, Latin American authors vied to finish novels rewriting the conquest in order to have them published in the years surrounding 1992. Surprisingly, few of these novels attempted to reconstruct the indigenous perspective on this historical moment, focusing instead on representing the European conquerors. In Latin American Novels of the Conquest, Kimberle López focuses on five of these works: Juan José Saer's El entenado; Herminio Martínez's Diario maldito de Nuño de Guzmán; Abel Posse's El largo atardecer del caminante; and Homero Aridjis's 1492: Vida y tiempos de Juan Cabezón de Castilla and Memorias del Nuevo Mundo. She utilizes these books to explore how their authors represented the conquest from the fictionalized perspective of the conquistador, ultimately deconstructing the rhetoric of empire through the representation of a simultaneous fascination and aversion between the colonizer and colonized.
This volume helps readers navigate the rich and varied culture at the heart of Latin American literature. Going beyond the usual literary criticism, this book considers works of Latin American literature not only in terms of literary merit, but also with regard to their place in the literary heritage.