We hand-picked these resources to help you find info on your topic:
(You may have to use the Library Login)
Articles/Databases
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics. Best for: Starting your research. Includes: scholarly journals, news, and magazines.
View a video tutorial on this database. -
Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowBest for: Assignments needing information on authors, scientists, politicians, artists, celebrities, historical figures, etc. Includes: Biographies, news, media, and some scholarly journals.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. -
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Humanitites, social sciences, and sciences. Includes: Scholarly journals, book chapters, and primary sources.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. -
Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Biology, chemistry, environmental science, math, engineering, technology, medicine, physics, and astronomy. Best for: Starting your research or choosing a topic. Includes: Easy to read wikipedia type articles, news, magazines, and some journals.
View a 
Recommended Websites
-
Agnes Scott College: Women MathematiciansPresented by Agnes Scott College as part of an ongoing project, this web site highlights the importance of women in mathematics and illustrates the numerous achievements of women in the field of mathematics. Contents includes biographical essays or comments on the women mathematicians profiled on the site, as well as additional resources about women in mathematics.
-
Bio Famous MathematiciansBrowse notable mathematicians such as John F. Nash Jr., Marjorie Lee Browne, and Benjamin Banneker.
-
The History of MathematicsPresented by Trinity College, Dublin, Ireland.
-
Mathematicians of the Seventeenth and Eighteenth CenturiesPresented by Trinity College in Dublin, Ireland, this helpful website provides accounts of the lives and works of seventeenth and eighteenth century mathematicians (and some other scientists), in a timeline format. The information included is adapted from A Short Account of the History of Mathematics by W. W. Rouse Ball (4th Edition, 1908).
-
The Story of MathematicsThis website discusses the history of mathematics and presents mathematical concepts.
Library Login
Library Access
(articles, eBooks, etc. from databases OR library search engine)
(loans, renewals, requests from the library search engine)
Username = your College email address
Password = your Canvas password
Course Reserves
Your textbook and other course materials may be available at the Library:
Ebooks
-
Archytas of Tarentum
by
ISBN: 9780511112904Publication Date: 2005-05-23Archytas of Tarentum is one of the three most important philosophers in the Pythagorean tradition, a prominent mathematician, who gave the first solution to the famous problem of doubling the cube, an important music theorist, and the leader of a powerful Greek city-state. He is famous for sending a trireme to rescue Plato from the clutches of the tyrant of Syracuse, Dionysius II, in 361 BC. -
The Birth of Mathematics
by
ISBN: 9780791097236Bradley explores in exact detail the mathematical advances and other discoveries of 10 early mathematicians, from Thales of Miletus to Leonardo Fibonnaci -
Mathematics Frontiers
by
ISBN: 9780816054275Publication Date: 2006-10-01Tracing the development of mathematics from a biographical standpoint, "Mathematics Frontiers: 1950 to the Present" profiles innovators from the second half of the 20th century who made significant discoveries in both pure and applied mathematics. -
Modern Mathematics
by
ISBN: 9780816054268Publication Date: 2006-10-01During the first half of the 20th century, mathematics became an international discipline that led to major advances in science and technology. ""Modern Mathematics: 1900 to 1950"" provides an eye-opening introduction to those five historic decades by analyzing the advancement of the field through the accomplishments of 10 significant mathematicians -
Significant Figures
by
ISBN: 9780465096121Publication Date: 2017-09-12Delving into the lives of twenty-five great mathematicians, Stewart examines the roles they played in creating, inventing, and discovering the mathematics we use today. -
Women in Mathematics
by
ISBN: 9780253332790Publication Date: 1997-08-01Mathematics is often described as the purest of the sciences, the least tainted by subjective or cultural influences. Theoretically, the only requirement for a life of mathematics is mathematical ability. And yet we see very few women mathematicians. Why?
Based upon a series of ten intensive interviews with prominent women mathematicians throughout the United States, this book investigates the role of gender in the complex relationship between mathematician, the mathematical community, and mathematics itself.
Books
-
Beyond Banneker
by
Call Number: QA28 .W35 2014ISBN: 9781438452159Publication Date: 2014-06-01An in-depth look at the lives, experiences, and professional careers of Black mathematicians in the United States. -
Mathematicians
by
Call Number: QA28 .C66 2009ISBN: 9781470448387Publication Date: 2018-10-30Mathematicians is a remarkable collection of ninety-two photographic portraits, featuring a selection of the most impressive mathematicians of our time. -
Remarkable Mathematicians
by
Call Number: QA28 .J36 2003ISBN: 9780521520942Publication Date: 2003-02-06Ioan James introduces and profiles sixty mathematicians from an era which saw mathematics freed from its classical origins to develop into its modern form. The characters, all born between 1700 and 1910, come from a wide range of countries, and all made an important contribution to mathematics, through their ideas, their teaching, their influence, and so on. -
A Strange Wilderness
by
ISBN: 9781402785849Publication Date: 2011-10-04Mathematics is not a careful march down a well-cleared highway, but a journey into a strange wilderness, where the explorers often get lost -- Mathematics historian W. S. Anglin. From the internationally bestselling author of Fermat's Last Theorem comes a landmark publication on the eccentric lives of the foremost mathematicians in history. . -
A to Z of Women in Science and Math
by
Call Number: Q141 .Y675 1999ISBN: 9780816066957Publication Date: 2007-10-01"A to Z of Women in Science and Math, Revised Edition"" profiles 195 women who fought against stereotypes throughout history and all over the world to forge new discoveries and theories that would eventually change the way we view science.
