LibGuides: Nursing: Chosen for You

We hand-picked these resources to help you find info on your topic:

(You may have to use the Library Login)

Articles/Databases

CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): Nursing and allied health. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Most comprehensive set of scholarly journals out of all the nursing databases.

View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
Health and Nursing (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Best for: Literature reviews or annotated bibliographies that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Ability to search CINAHL, Health Source Consumer and Nursing, Medline, and PsycARTICLES in one place.
Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence Based Practice Database This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): Evidence based medicine. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research and care plans. Includes: Brief, peer-reviewed evidence summaries.
Nursing Full-Text Journal Collection (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals.
Nursing@Ovid This link opens in a new window
Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research or for additional review of concepts outside of class materials. Includes: Scholarly journals and ebooks, such as the Made Incredibly Easy series.

National Library of Medicine (NLM)
The NLM web site is a vital resource for librarians, the public, health professionals, and researchers. Users can access MedlinePlus, Pubmed, and other sites from the home page with just a click. Explore the List of NLM Databases and Resources link to learn more about the extensive collection of electronic resources.

American Association of Colleges of Nursing
The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) is the national voice for baccalaureate and graduate nursing education.
American Nurses Association, ANCC & American Nurses Foundation
Florida Nurses Association
The Florida Nurses Association as a constituent of the American Nurses Association is the only nursing organization representing ALL of nursing regardless of specialty or practice area.
Florida Nursing Students Association
One of the main purposes of FNSA is to aid in the preparation of nursing students for the assumption of professional responsibilities.
National Heart Lung and Blood Institute
The NHLBI’s Health Topics was developed for patients, caregivers, and the public. Health Topics provides science-based, plain-language information related to heart, lung, and blood diseases and conditions and sleep disorders. The site contains articles on diseases, conditions, tests, procedures, and other relevant topics, which you can e-mail, print, and share.

AVON This link opens in a new window
Over 70,000 videos and films covering topics in anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Faculty How To
Films on Demand (Films Media Group) This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): All topics. Best for: Presentations needing visual aids or assignments that allow films as sources (create an optional personal account to save videos and create custom clips). Includes: Streaming educational videos.

View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.

Primal Pictures Anatomy & Physiology (Anatomy.TV) This link opens in a new window
Includes: Three-dimensional images and animations that illustrate different anatomical concepts and functions, and surgical principles.

Username = your College email address

Password = your Canvas password

Your textbook and other course materials may be available at the Library:

Find most NursingTextbooks on Reserve at the Altamonte Library (just ask at the main desk).

RT 1 -120	R, RB	RC
RD, RG	RJ	RM

Cultural Awareness in Nursing and Health Care by Karen Holland
ISBN: 9781482245578
Publication Date: 2017-07-12
This introductory textbook relates theory to practice and enhances students' learning and understanding of cultural issues that impact on patient care and their own practice as nurses, while considering wider social and political issues.

Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window
The Books@Ovid database includes full text, references, updates, and graphics from some of the most respected book sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology.
eBook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): All topics. Best for: Assignments that require ebooks or book chapters. Includes: All ebooks from the publisher ProQuest.
eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): All topics. Best for: Assignments that require ebooks or book chapters. Includes: All ebooks from the publisher EBSCO.
eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): Literature, humanities, medicine, and history. Best for: In-depth overviews of a topic and starting your research. Includes: Book chapters, reference essays, and literary criticisms on short stories, poems, plays, and novels.