We hand-picked these resources to help you find info on your topic:
(You may have to use the Library Login)
Articles/Databases
- Environmental Studies (Gale In Context) (formerly GREENR) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Environmental topics such as pollution, carbon markets, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling. Best for: Starting your research or choosing a topic. Includes: Wikipedia type articles, scholarly journals, magazines, news, statistics, primary sources, and podcasts.
- GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Environmental topics such as climate change, green building, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals and magazines.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Biology, chemistry, environmental science, math, engineering, technology, medicine, physics, and astronomy. Best for: Starting your research or choosing a topic. Includes: Easy to read wikipedia type articles, news, magazines, and some journals.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics. Best for: Starting your research. Includes: scholarly journals, news, and magazines.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
View a Websites
- National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)- National Ocean ServiceThe National Ocean Service translates science, tools, and services into action, to address threats to coastal areas such as climate change, population growth, port congestion, and contaminants in the environment, all working towards healthy coasts and healthy economies.
- ReefBaseReefBase gathers available knowledge about coral reefs into one information repository. It is intended to facilitate analyses and monitoring of coral reef health and the quality of life of reef-dependent people, and to support informed decisions about coral reef use and management. ReefBase is the official database of the Global Coral Reef Monitoring Network (GCRMN), as well as the International Coral Reef Action Network (ICRAN). The ReefBase Project is housed at the WorldFish Center in Penang, Malaysia, with funding through ICRAN from the United Nations Foundation (UNF).
- Scripps Institution of OceanographyScripps Institution of Oceanography is one of the oldest, largest, and most important centers for ocean and earth science research, education, and public service in the world. Research at Scripps Institution of Oceanography encompasses physical, chemical, biological, geological, and geophysical studies of the oceans and earth.
- Smithsonian Institute: Ocean PortalThe Smithsonian Institute Ocean Portal focuses on everything ocean – unusual and everyday organisms, ocean-inspired art, researchers devoting their lives to exploring the still mostly mysterious ecosystem. Partnering with the National Museum of Natural History’s Sant Ocean Hall and the Sant Marine Science Chair, the Ocean Portal supports the Smithsonian’s mission to increase the public’s understanding and stewardship of the Ocean
- Woods Hole Oceanographic InstitutionWoods Hole Oceanographic Institution is the world's largest private, non-profit oceanographic research institution and a global leader in the study and exploration of the ocean.
Library Login
Library Access
(articles, eBooks, etc. from databases OR library search engine)
(loans, renewals, requests from the library search engine)
Username = your College email address
Password = your Canvas password
Course Reserves
Your textbook and other course materials may be available at the Library:
Ebooks
All the Boats on the Ocean: How Government Subsidies Led to Global Overfishing by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780226443379Publication Date: 2017Most current fishing practices are neither economically nor biologically sustainable. Every year the world spends $80 billion buying fish that cost $105 billion to catch, even as overfishing places growing pressure on struggling stocks. How have we developed an industry that is so wasteful, and why has it been so difficult to alter the trajectory toward species extinction? In this transnational, interdisciplinary history, Carmel Finley answers these questions and more as she explores how government subsidies propelled the expansion of fishing from a coastal, in-shore activity into a global industry.
Fathoming the Ocean by ISBN: 9780674016910Publication Date: 2005-03-31Offers a rare and engaging look into our fascination with the deep sea and into the origins of oceanography - origins still visible in a science that focuses the efforts of physicists, chemists, geologists, and engineers on the common enterprise of understanding a vast, three dimensional, alien space.
Mankind and the Oceans by ISBN: 9789280810578Publication Date: 2005-02-14The oceans play an important part in our lives, by controlling climate and weather conditions; hosting shipping, transportation, recreation and tourism; and providing us with food, minerals and petroleum. But a rapidly growing population--especially in coastal zones--and the resulting increase in industrial effluent, municipal sewage, and runoff from agricultural areas, as well as anti fouling agents used on ships and aquaculture nets, and the excessive exploitation of fish stocks all seriously threaten the health of the oceans
Modern Marine Science by ISBN: 9780816057474Publication Date: 2006-09-01The deep sea takes up almost 70 percent of Earth's surface and more than 97 percent, by volume, of the part of the planet available to living things. And yet, it was only in the 20th century that humans developed the technology to venture more than a few hundred feet down into this daunting world. In fact, today's deepwater marine science owes much of its existence to the U.S. Navy's ability to detect enemy submarines by sound during World War II. ""Modern Marine Science"" profiles 12 men and women who led the way into the oceans' deepest waters through research and new technologies. From Charles Darwin to Henry Stommel to Robert Ballard, this volume explores the lives and accomplishments of these scientific revolutionaries.
Ocean Zoning by ISBN: 9781844078226Publication Date: 2010-07-28This book provides guidance on using ocean zoning to improve marine management. It reviews the benefits of ocean zoning in theory, reviews progress made in zoning around the world through a wide range of case studies, and derives lessons learned to recommend a process by which future zoning can be maximally effective and efficient. Published with MARES, Forest Trends and UNEP
Books
How the Ocean Works by Call Number: GC21 .D398 2008ISBN: 9780691126470Publication Date: 2008-04-21How the Ocean Works is a concise and accessible college-level introduction to marine science that is also ideal for general readers. How are winds and currents driven? What is the dilemma of the two-layered ocean? Mark Denny explains key concepts like these in rich and fascinating detail.
Oceans by Call Number: GC11.2 .D39 2008ISBN: 9780816059324Publication Date: 2007-11-01Oceanography is a relatively new science that began to emerge in the 19th century. Combining biology, chemistry, physics, and geology, the study of the Earth's oceans helps us to understand the interrelatedness of natural processes on land, in the sea, and in the air. Covering the numerous developments in marine science since the first edition was published, ""Oceans, Revised Edition"" discusses the thousands of new marine species inhabiting the Earth's oceans that have been discovered in the last decade, ranging from microbes, to deep-water corals, to the largest species of whales. It examines the public's increased awareness of climate change, and how it has become a key issue on the political agenda of many governments.
Hidden Depths: atlas of the oceans by Call Number: Oversize G2800 .H53 2007ISBN: 9780061345142Publication Date: 2007-12-04A definitive reference on the earth's oceans provides coverage of everything from their formation to current conservation efforts, in a guide complemented by lavish full-color photography, up-to-date maps, and present-day concerns about global warming.
The Power of the Sea: tsunamis, storm surges, rogue waves, and our quest to predict disasters by Call Number: GC28 .P37 2010ISBN: 9780230120747Publication Date: 2012-03-13The Power of the Sea describes our struggle to understand the physics of the sea, so we can use that knowledge to predict when the sea will unleash its fury against us.
The Marine World: a natural history of ocean life by Call Number: QH541.5.S3 D57 2017ISBN: 9781501709890Publication Date: 2016-10-11With color illustrations, line drawings, more than 1,500 color photographs, and clear accessible text, this book encompasses all those organisms that live in, on, and around the ocean, bringing together in a single text everything from the minuscule to the immense.
