We hand-picked these resources to help you find info on your topic:
(You may have to use the Library Login)
Articles/Databases
- PubMed (NCBI) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics in medicine and nursing. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Some full text from scholarly journals and ebooks.
- CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Nursing and allied health. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Most comprehensive set of scholarly journals out of all the nursing databases.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Clinical medicine, experimental medicine, dentistry, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and more. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals and treatment guidelines.
- Merck Manuals This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Explanation, diagnosis, and treatment of diseases. Includes: Professional and consumer level textbook type entries, case studies, and drug information.
- Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new windowBest for: Easier to read introductions to diseases and treatments and assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Wikipedia-type articles, magazines, news, and scholarly journals.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowBest for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals, professional magazines, and some news.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence Based Practice Database This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Evidence based medicine. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research and care plans. Includes: Brief, peer-reviewed evidence summaries.
- PsycArticles (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Psychology and mental health. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - Springer eJournal Collection This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics but strongest in technical and scientific research. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals.
View a 
Clinical Practice Guidelines
- AHRQ National Guideline ClearinghouseAHRQ’s (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality) National Guideline Clearinghouse for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and recommendations. Nursing is one of the clinical specialties.
- CDC StacksCDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) Stacks contains all guidelines or recommendations provided by CDC or its collaborative partners for specific searches.
Images
- Primal Pictures Anatomy & Physiology (Anatomy.TV) This link opens in a new windowIncludes: Three-dimensional images and animations that illustrate different anatomical concepts and functions, and surgical principles.
Consumer Health
- Centers for Disease Control and PreventionCenters for Disease Control and Prevention provides extensive information on Diseases & Conditions, Healthy Living and more. Guidelines and recommendations can be found under specific diseases, conditions or topics.
Drugs, Herbs & Supplements
Statistics
- National Vital Statistics ReportsFind statistics related to US births, deaths, marriages, and divorces.
- Population Reference BureauProvides statistical data on domestic and international indicators including demographics, economics, education, the environment, health, housing, and income and poverty.
- National Institute for Mental Health - Statistics"The resource below represents an extensive collection of our best statistics on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders. Equally important are sections that have been included on mental health-related disability and on suicide."
Pharmacy Government & Professional Web Resources
Library Login
Library Access
(articles, eBooks, etc. from databases OR library search engine)
(loans, renewals, requests from the library search engine)
Username = your College email address
Password = your Canvas password
Course Reserves
Your textbook and other course materials may be available at the Library:
Books
Library of Congress call numbers are used to group library items including books, DVDs, and audiobooks into subject categories and also provide a means to find those items. Here are the call number ranges where you will find Pharmacology books.
RM1-950 - Therapeutics. Pharmacology
RS1-441- Pharmacy and materia medica
RS192-199 - Pharmaceutical technology
Pharmacy Labs for Technicians by Call Number: ALT RM300 .S655 2017ISBN: 9780763867904Publication Date: 2017-01-01Suitable for a stand-alone pharmacy lab course or for the lab portion of a pharmacy practice course, Pharmacy Labs for Technicians teaches students detailed lab procedures and skills using hands-on practice. Students learn both administrative and clinical procedures like filling prescriptions, compounding medications, and preparing sterile intravenous products.
Complete Math Review for the Pharmacy Technician, 4e by Call Number: ALT RS57 .H652 2014ISBN: 9781582121970Publication Date: 2014-07-01Complete Math Review for the Pharmacy Technician is a friendly, self-instructional approach to lifelong understanding of pharmacy calculations.
Administering Medications : pharmacology for healthcare professionals by Call Number: ALT RM147 .B39 2015ISBN: 9780073513751Publication Date: 2014-01-09Administering Medications: Pharmacology for Healthcare Professionals is designed to teach the safe administration of medications to healthcare students.
Top Drugs by Call Number: ALT RS420 .L535 2015ISBN: 9780199362585Publication Date: 2015-09-01Top Drugs: Their History, Pharmacology, and Synthesis provides an in-depth study on ten prominent drugs, outlining the chemistry behind each one's creation.
Pharmacology Success by ISBN: 9780803618213Publication Date: 2008-01-08A complete review of core concepts, including more than 1,150 classroom-tested, NCLEX®-style questions (multiple choice AND alternate format). Includes test-taking hints and rationales for correct and incorrect answers, information in manageable sections divided by body systems and specific diseases, and tools for associating medications with the disease process.
Ebooks
- Books@Ovid This link opens in a new windowThe Books@Ovid database includes full text, references, updates, and graphics from some of the most respected book sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology.
Mosby's Drug Reference for Health Professions by ISBN: 9780323320696Publication Date: 2017-09-28The best drug resource for health professionals and health professions students on the market is back! Mosby's Drug Reference for Health Professions, 6th Edition makes it easy to look up the drugs that patients and clients are taking and understand how those drugs may affect treatment.
