We hand-picked these resources to help you find info on your topic:
(You may have to use the Library Login)
Articles/Databases
-
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics. Best for: Starting your research. Includes: scholarly journals, news, magazines, and videos.
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics. Best for: Starting your research. Includes: scholarly journals, news, and magazines.
View a video tutorial on this database. -
Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowBest for: Assignments needing information on authors, scientists, politicians, artists, celebrities, historical figures, etc. Includes: Biographies, news, media, and some scholarly journals.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. -
Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): History, literature, political science, philosophy, language, and religion. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals, magazines, news.
View a video tutorial on this database. -
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Humanitites, social sciences, and sciences. Includes: Scholarly journals, book chapters, and primary sources.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
View a 
Journals
-
British Journal for the History of PhilosophyFrom the database Academic Search Complete (EBSCO). Articles available from 03/01/1998 to present (Most recent 18 months not available)
-
European Journal of PhilosophyFrom the database Academic Search Complete (EBSCO). Articles available from 03/01/1998 to present (Most recent 18 months not available)
-
International Journal of Philosophical StudiesFrom the database Academic Search Complete (EBSCO). Articles available from 03/01/1998 to present (Most recent 18 months not available)
-
Journal of Moral PhilosophyFrom the database Academic Search Complete (EBSCO). Articles available from 04/01/2004 to present (Most recent year not available)
Websites
-
Internet Encyclopedia of PhilosophyFounded by James Fieser and edited by him and Bradley Dowden, Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy is an encyclopedia on philosophy that is peer-reviewed. The author information for each entry is at the end of the entry.
-
PhilPapers: Online Research in PhilosophyCo-created by David Bourget and David Chalmers, PhilPapers is maintained by philosophers, and is a open access archive of philosophical articles, books, and manuscripts.
-
Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyProvided by Stanford University with Edward N. Zalta as principal editor, the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy has an editorial board that assesses each entry before it is accepted. The citation information for each entry is at the end under Academic Tools.
-
TED Talks about PhilosophyIf you enjoy watching presentations, this page links to TED talks on philosophy.
Library Login
Library Access
(articles, eBooks, etc. from databases OR library search engine)
(loans, renewals, requests from the library search engine)
Username = your College email address
Password = your Canvas password
Course Reserves
Your textbook and other course materials may be available at the Library:
Books
-
The Dream of Reason
by
Call Number: B72 .G68 2000ISBN: 9780393049510Publication Date: 2001-01-01This landmark study of Western thought takes a fresh look at the writings of the great thinkers of classic philosophy and questions many pieces of conventional wisdom. -
A History of Philosophy
by
Call Number: B72 .S47 2001ISBN: 9781573093484Publication Date: 1999-01-28This work is a brief, cogent introduction to the enterprise of Western philosophy. It is designed for the student who has had only a brief introduction or no introduction at all to the development of philosophy, beginning with the Pre-Socratic Period and covering all the major periods in Philosophy up to the present day. This work allows the philosopher to speak in his own voice, through quotation, and is very strong in developing the principal arguments of the thinkers included. It is particularly marked by objectivity and by a lack of technical jargon, and therefore, speaks directly to the student. -
Indian Philosophy: An Introduction to Hindu and Buddhist Thought
by
Call Number: B131 .K49 1999ISBN: 9780878407569Publication Date: 1999-05-28This book provides an introduction to the main schools of Indian philosophy within both the Hindu and Buddhist traditions. Richard King analyzes the school's different doctrines and compares their approaches to specific philosophical topics -- ontology, epistemology, perception, consciousness, and creation and causality. -
Medieval Philosophy and the Classical Tradition
by
Call Number: B721 .M4535 2002ISBN: 9780700714698Publication Date: 2002-02-14An initial chapter on the history of Islamic philosophy sets the stage for sixteen articles on issues across the three traditions. The goal is to see the Islamic tradition in its own richness and complexity as the context of most Jewish intellectual work. -
The Oxford Companion to Philosophy
by
Call Number: B51 .O94 1995ISBN: 9780198661320Publication Date: 1995-08-31This is the most authoritative and engaging philosophical reference work in English. It gives clear and reliable guidance to all areas of philosophy and to the ideas of all notable philosophers from antiquity to the present day. The scope of the volume is not limited to English-language philosophy: it surveys the foremost philosophy from all parts of the world.A distinguished international assembly of more than two hundred contributors provide almost 2,000 alphabetically arranged entries which are not only instructive but also entertaining: they combine learning, lucidity, elegance, and wit.
Ebooks
-
German Philosophy: A Short Introduction
by
ISBN: 9780199569250Publication Date: 2010-07-22German philosophy remains the core of modern philosophy. Without Kant, Frege, Wittgenstein, and Husserl there would be no Anglo-American 'analytical' style of philosophy. Moreover, without Kant, Hegel, Marx, Nietzsche, and Heidegger, the 'Continental Philosophy' of Derrida, Foucault, Deleuze,Badiou, and Zizek, which has had major effects on humanities subjects in recent years, is incomprehensible. Knowledge of German philosophy is, then, an indispensable prerequisite of theoretically informed study in the humanities as a whole -
Medieval Philosophy: An Historical and Philosophical Introduction
by
ISBN: 9780415281133Publication Date: 2006-10-31This new introduction replaces Marenbon's best-selling editions Early Medieval Philosophy (1983) and Later Medieval Philosophy (1987) to present a single authoritative and comprehensive study of the period. It gives a lucid and engaging account of the history of philosophy in the Middle Ages, discussing the main writers and ideas, the social and intellectual contexts, and the important concepts used in medieval philosophy. -
The Oxford Companion to Philosophy
by
ISBN: 9780585182636Publication Date: 1995-01-01In the Oxford Companion to Philosophy, readers have the most authoritative and engaging one-volume reference work on philosophy available, offering clear and reliable guidance to the ideas of all notable philosophers from antiquity to the present day, and to the major philosophical systems around the globe, from Confucianism to phenomenology. -
Philosophy 101
by
ISBN: 9780761844167Publication Date: 2009-02-27This philosophy book is written for students who are not interested in philosophy or who are struggling to understand it. Professor Malikow makes it easy to understand the sophisticated ideas and profound truths of philosophy by his use of everyday language, analogies, examples, and humor. -
Political Philosophy: From Plato to Mao
by
ISBN: 9780745324708Publication Date: 2008-09-20Guides the reader through the key arguments of the classic figures of Western political philosophy, from Plato through to the modern. Includes essays on Aristotle's 'Politics', Confucianism, Islamic social philosophy and Nazism, as well as additional material on 'Roman Law', Anarchism and 'anti-capitalism'.
