We hand-picked these resources to help you find info on your topic:
(You may have to use the Library Login)
Articles/Databases
- Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Architecture, art, design, and manufacturing. Includes: professional magazines, scholarly journals, conference papers, and news.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - ARTstor This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Art, architecture, and humanities. Best for: Research or presentations that need images or primary sources. Includes: Images of art, architecture, and artists. Little to no research information is given for the images.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics. Best for: Starting your research. Includes: scholarly journals, news, and magazines.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Humanitites, social sciences, and sciences. Includes: Scholarly journals, book chapters, and primary sources.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
View a Websites
- 40 Tips to Take Better PhotosForty succinct tips for taking photos for the beginner photographer.
- ExposureGuide - Photography Tips, Techniques, and NewsThis website offers information on the basics of photography (camera basics, flash, maintenance, etc.), photography tips for specific subjects (how to photograph people, animals, nature, etc.), image editing techniques, and a glossary (at the bottom of the page). It also has a blog and a store.
- LensCultureLensCulture is a resource for contemporary photography. LensCulture was founded by Jim Casper in 2004. This website contains photographs from a variety of categories, including, but not limited to: B & W, Documentary, Nature, Photojournalism, and Contemporary Issues.
Library Login
Library Access
(articles, eBooks, etc. from databases OR library search engine)
(loans, renewals, requests from the library search engine)
Username = your College email address
Password = your Canvas password
Course Reserves
Your textbook and other course materials may be available at the Library:
Books
Color Rush: American Color Photography from Stieglitz to Sherman by Call Number: TR645.M52 M523 2013ISBN: 9781597112260Publication Date: 2013
The Digital Eye: Photographic Art in the Electronic Age by Call Number: TR267 .W65 2010ISBN: 9783791343181Publication Date: 2010
Lighting Essentials: Lighting for Texture, Contrast, and Dimension in Digital Photography by Call Number: TR590 .G53 2012ISBN: 9781608954599Publication Date: 2012
Photography: History and Theory by Call Number: TR187 .E44 2012ISBN: 9780203153215Publication Date: 2013
Photography and the Art of Chance by Call Number: TR642 .K445 2015ISBN: 9780674744004Publication Date: 2015
Ebooks
101 Quick and Easy Secrets to Create Winning Photographs by ISBN: 9781598639025Publication Date: 2009
To find more eBooks about photography, use this link to get started.