We hand-picked these resources to help you find info on your topic:
(You may have to use the Library Login)
Articles/Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics. Best for: Starting your research. Includes: scholarly journals, news, and magazines.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Nursing and allied health. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Most comprehensive set of scholarly journals out of all the nursing databases.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) (formerly Health Reference Center Academic) This link opens in a new windowBest for: Starting your research. Includes: Magazines, scholarly journals, news, and encyclopedia entries.
- MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Clinical medicine, experimental medicine, dentistry, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and more. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals and treatment guidelines.
- Primal Pictures Anatomy & Physiology (Anatomy.TV) This link opens in a new windowIncludes: Three-dimensional images and animations that illustrate different anatomical concepts and functions, and surgical principles.
View a 
Recommended Physical Therapy Journals
These are just a few of the journals on Physical Therapy available through the Seminole State College library. For more journals, please visit the Journals A-Z link on the library homepage
- Physical TherapyHealth Reference Center Academic 01/01/1989 - present
- Journal of physical therapy scienceCINAHL Complete 03/01/2011 - present
- Journal of Acute Care Physical TherapyAcademic OneFile 09/01/2010 - 12/31/2014, 01/01/2018 - present
Websites
- American Physcial Therapy AssociationThe American Physical Therapy Association (APTA) is an individual membership professional organization representing more than 85,000 member physical therapists (PTs), physical therapist assistants (PTAs), and students of physical therapy.
- Florida Physical Therapy AssociationThe Florida Physical Therapy Association is the only healthcare professional organization that solely represents the special interests of practicing physical therapists and physical therapist assistants in the state of Florida.
- Foundation for Physical TherapyEstablished in 1979, the Foundation supports the physical therapy profession’s research needs in scientific research, clinical research, and health services research.
- National Heart Lung and Blood InstituteThe NHLBI’s Health Topics was developed for patients, caregivers, and the public. Health Topics provides science-based, plain-language information related to heart, lung, and blood diseases and conditions and sleep disorders. The site contains articles on diseases, conditions, tests, procedures, and other relevant topics, which you can e-mail, print, and share.
- National Library of Medicine (NLM)The NLM web site is a vital resource for librarians, the public, health professionals, and researchers. Users can access MedlinePlus, Pubmed, and other sites from the home page with just a click. Explore the List of NLM Databases and Resources link to learn more about the extensive collection of electronic resources.
Video/Media
- Films on Demand (Films Media Group) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics. Best for: Presentations needing visual aids or assignments that allow films as sources (create an optional personal account to save videos and create custom clips). Includes: Streaming educational videos.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
Images
- Primal Pictures Anatomy & Physiology (Anatomy.TV) This link opens in a new windowIncludes: Three-dimensional images and animations that illustrate different anatomical concepts and functions, and surgical principles.
Library Login
Library Access
(articles, eBooks, etc. from databases OR library search engine)
(loans, renewals, requests from the library search engine)
Username = your College email address
Password = your Canvas password
Course Reserves
Your textbook and other course materials may be available at the Library:
Books
Library of Congress call numbers are used to group library items including books, DVDs, and audiobooks into subject categories and also provide a means to find those items.
RB Pathology
RD792-RD811 Orthopedic Surgery, Physical Rehabilitation
RM695-RM893 Physical Medicine. Physical Therapy.
RM930-RM931 Rehabilitation Therapy.
RM950 Rehabilitation Technology.
ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription by Call Number: ALT RM725 .A48 2014ISBN: 9781609136055Publication Date: 2013-02-09This text has long been considered the Gold Standard in sports medicine, exercise science, and health and fitness. It enables you to test and evaluate individuals to prescribe effective exercise programs tailored to their particular needs and based on the latest evidence.
Cardiorespiratory Physiotherapy by Call Number: OVI RC702 .P48 2016ISBN: 9780702047312Publication Date: 2016-08-10The fifth edition of this seminal textbook continues to provide those who are studying or are in practice with comprehensive evidence-based coverage of all the main aspects of respiratory and cardiac physiotherapy throughout the whole lifespan - neonates, infants, children, adolescents and adults - with the patient at centre and advocating a problem-based approach.
Myofascial Release by Call Number: OVI RM721 .D86 2014ISBN: 9781450444576Publication Date: 2014-04-16Myofascial Release provides comprehensive training for hands-on therapists of all disciplines and at all levels to expand their practice.
The PTA Handbook by Call Number: ALT RM705 .C873 2015ISBN: 9781617110207Publication Date: 2014-11-15The updated Second Edition of The PTA Handbook is a unique textbook that serves students from pre-admission into a physical therapist assistant program, through the academic program, up to career entry and practice as a physical therapist assistant.
Recognizing and Reporting Red Flags for the Physical Therapist Assistant by Call Number: ALT RM700 .G57 2015ISBN: 9781455745388Publication Date: 2014-08-27Recognizing and Reporting Red Flags for the Physical Therapist Assistant will help you develop skills to recognize signs and symptoms that can compromise patient care.
Ebooks
Fundamentals of the Physical Therapy Examination by ISBN: 9781284099621Publication Date: 2017-02-27Fundamentals of the Physical Therapy Examination: Patient Interview and Tests & Measures, Second Edition provides physical therapy students and clinicians with the necessary tools to determine what questions to ask and what tests and measures to perform during a patient exam.
Measurement of Joint Motion by ISBN: 9780803645660Publication Date: 2016-11-15Large, easy-to-interpret photographs and crisp, detailed illustrations. Laboratory exercises and examples throughout.
Modalities for Therapeutic Intervention by ISBN: 9780803645639Publication Date: 2016-04-21Evidence-based content presents standards of care that you can build upon as new research appears.
Therapeutic Exercise by ISBN: 9780803658509Publication Date: 2017-10-18Superb art program, including anatomical illustrations, line drawings, photographs, and radiographs.
