We hand-picked these resources to help you find info on your topic:
(You may have to use the Library Login)
Articles/Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics. Best for: Starting your research. Includes: scholarly journals, news, and magazines.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Engineering, computer software, artificial intelligence, and space science. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly sources or images. Includes: Scholarly journals, magazines, and images.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (Taylor and Francis) This link opens in a new windowIncludes: Online access to the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, often needed in courses at Seminole State.
- Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Biology, chemistry, environmental science, math, engineering, technology, medicine, physics, and astronomy. Best for: Starting your research or choosing a topic. Includes: Easy to read wikipedia type articles, news, magazines, and some journals.
View a 
Websites
- American Physical SocietyThe American Physical Society strives to be the leading voice for physics and an authoritative source of physics information.
- comPADREThe ComPADRE Digital Library is a network of free online resource collections supporting faculty, students, and teachers in Physics and Astronomy Education.
- The Elegant Universe (NOVA)The Elegant Universe is a lavishly computer-animated explanation of string theory, as presented on the PBS series NOVA.
- NIST Reference on Constants, Units and UncertaintyNational Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Reference on Constants, Units and Uncertainty includes fundamental physical constants, International System of Units (SI) and guidelines for uncertainty measurement results.
- The Particle AdventureAn award winning interactive tour of quarks, neutrinos, antimatter extra dimensions dark matter and more from the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
- Physics CentralPhysics Central is produced by the American Physical Society with the goal of communicating the excitement and importance of physics to everyone.
- Science.govScience.gov searches over 55 databases and over 2,100 selected websites from 13 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
Video/Media
- Films on Demand (Films Media Group) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics. Best for: Presentations needing visual aids or assignments that allow films as sources (create an optional personal account to save videos and create custom clips). Includes: Streaming educational videos.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
- Khan Academy - PhysicsKhan Academy is a non-profit educational collection of more than 4,500 micro lectures covering a wide range of science and math topics, including physics.
Library Login
Library Access
(articles, eBooks, etc. from databases OR library search engine)
(loans, renewals, requests from the library search engine)
Username = your College email address
Password = your Canvas password
Course Reserves
Your textbook and other course materials may be available at the Library:
Ebooks
Applied Physics by ISBN: 9780071398787Publication Date: 2003-02-21A crash course in Physics included solved problems and tips for mastering the subject.
The Basics of Physics by ISBN: 9780313060397Publication Date: 2005-12-30Students will be introduced to the science of physics, and its applications to everyday life, in this volume. Tracing its development from antiquity to the present, the author examines all aspects of physics including motion, work, energy, heat, matter, light, and electricity. Quantum & Nuclear physics are also included.
The Great Beyond: Higher Dimensions, Parallel Universes, and the Extraordinary Search for a Theory of Everything by ISBN: 9780471656586Publication Date: 2004-07-05The concept of multiple unperceived dimensions in the universe is one of the hottest topics in contemporary physics. It is essential to current attempts to explain gravity and the underlying structure of the universe. The Great Beyond begins with Einstein's famous quarrel with Heisenberg and Bohr, whose theories of uncertainty threatened the order Einstein believed was essential to the universe, and it was his rejection of uncertainty that drove him to ponder the existence of a fifth dimension. Beginning with this famous disagreement and culminating with an explanation of the newest brane approach, author Paul Halpern shows how current debates about the nature of reality began as age-old controversies, and addresses how the possibility of higher dimensions has influenced culture over the past one hundred years.
Particles and the Universe by ISBN: 9780816061167Publication Date: 2007-05-01Nuclear physics investigates the properties and behavior of the central portion, or nucleus, of the atom. This branch of physics had perhaps the biggest impact on the world in the 20th century because it evolved into the knowledge used to build the most destructive weapons people have ever known. The atomic bombs that ended World War II, and the weapons race that followed, changed the course of history. But applications of nuclear physics have also provided enormous energy for useful purposes, generating about 16 percent of the world's electricity.
Relativity and Quantum Mechanics: principles of modern physics by ISBN: 9780822507079Publication Date: 2002-01-01Do you ever wonder why it seems like you are not moving even though you are standing on a planet that moves through space? How does matter turn into energy? From Lavoisier to Einstein, Planck, and Bohr, the basic principles of modern physics are revealed in an exciting and appealing way.
Books
The Physical World by Call Number: QC21.3 .M36 2017ISBN: 9780198795933Publication Date: 2017-06-13.The book concentrates on the conceptual principles of each branch of physics and shows how they fit together to form a coherent whole. Emphasis is placed on the use of variational principles in physics, and in particular the principle of least action, an approach that lies at the heart of moderntheoretical physics, but has been neglected in most introductory accounts of the subject.
Physics by Call Number: QC7 .H44 2015ISBN: 9780198746850Publication Date: 2016-01-04Heilbron explores the changing place and purpose of physics in the cultures and societies that have nurtured it over the centuries.
The Physics Companion by Call Number: QC21.3 .F57 2015ISBN: 9781466517790Publication Date: 2014-08-19The Physics Companion, 2nd Edition offers a unique and educational approach to learning physics at a level suitable for first-year science students. This new edition expands the presentation to include senior topics, such as statistical mechanics, quantum physics, and nuclear physics.
Physics Demystified by Call Number: QC23.2 .G54 2002ISBN: 9780071744508Publication Date: 2010-12-02Physics Demystified,helps you grasp the essential concepts with ease. Written in a step-by-step format, this practical guide begins by covering classical physics, including mass, force, motion, momentum, work, energy, and power, as well as the temperature and states of matter. Electricity, magnetism, and electronics are discussed as are waves, particles, space, and time. Detailed examples, concise explanations, and worked problems make it easy to understand the material, and end-of-chapter quizzes and a final exam help reinforce learning.
