We hand-picked these resources to help you find info on your topic:
(You may have to use the Library Login)
Articles/Databases
- Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Architecture, art, design, and manufacturing. Includes: professional magazines, scholarly journals, conference papers, and news.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowBest for: Assignments needing information on authors, scientists, politicians, artists, celebrities, historical figures, etc. Includes: Biographies, news, media, and some scholarly journals.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - History Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowBest for: Starting your research. Includes: Reference entries, magazines, biographies, and images.
- Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): History, literature, political science, philosophy, language, and religion. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals, magazines, news.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Humanitites, social sciences, and sciences. Includes: Scholarly journals, book chapters, and primary sources.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - Oxford Art Online (Oxford University Press) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Art, architecture, and history. Includes: Art images, artist biographies, and short articles on art terms, archeaological sites, and works.
- World Religion (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new windowBest for: Easier to read introductions to belief systems and key religious figures. Includes: Wikipedia type articles, biographies, and primary sources.
View a 
Websites
- Art History ResourcesOnline since 1995. This website has sections for Renaissance Art in Italy and elsewhere in Europe.
- How to Recognize Italian Renaissance ArtThis website is a nice academic guide to Renaissance art. It covers the 15th and 16th centuries in Italy, Northern Europe, and Spain.
- Internet Medieval SourcebookInternet Medieval Sourcebook at Fordham University Center for Medieval Studies is a large index and collection of digital texts available online.
- The Italian RenaissanceItalian renaissance Learning Resources from the National Gallery of Art
- ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and RenaissanceFind online resources on the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
- Medici: Godfathers of the RenaissanceA PBS interactive website to accompany the show that was broadcast in 2004.
- Medieval and Early Manuscripts BlogWhat do Magna Carta, Beowulf and the world's oldest Bibles have in common? They are all cared for by the British Library's Medieval and Earlier Manuscripts Section. This blog publicizes their digitization projects and other activities.
Images
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Art, architecture, and humanities. Best for: Research or presentations that need images or primary sources. Includes: Images of art, architecture, and artists. Little to no research information is given for the images.
Library Login
Library Access
(articles, eBooks, etc. from databases OR library search engine)
(loans, renewals, requests from the library search engine)
Username = your College email address
Password = your Canvas password
Course Reserves
Your textbook and other course materials may be available at the Library:
Ebooks
The A to Z of Renaissance Art by ISBN: 9780810870437The A to Z of Renaissance Art covers the years 1250 to 1648, the period most disciplines place as the Renaissance Era. A complete portrait of this remarkable period is depicted in this book through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and over 500 hundred cross-referenced dictionary entries on major Renaissance painters, sculptors, architects, and patrons, as well as relevant historical figures and events, the foremost artistic centers, schools and periods, major themes and subjects, noteworthy commissions, technical processes, theoretical material, literary and philosophic sources for art, and art historical terminology.
Historical Dictionary of Renaissance Art by ISBN: 9780810858008Publication Date: 2007-10-25The Historical Dictionary of Renaissance Art covers the years 1250 to 1648, the period most disciplines place as the Renaissance Era. A complete portrait of this remarkable period is depicted in this book through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and over 500 hundred cross-referenced dictionary entries on major Renaissance painters, sculptors, architects, and patrons, as well as relevant historical figures and events, the foremost artistic centers, schools and periods, major themes and subjects, noteworthy commissions, technical processes, theoretical material, literary and philosophic sources for art, and art historical terminology.
Historical Dictionary of Rococo Art by ISBN: 9780810861831Publication Date: 2011-04-18The Historical Dictionary of Rococo Art covers all aspects of Rococo art history through a chronology, an introductory essay, a review of the literature, an extensive bibliography, and over 350 cross-referenced dictionary entries on prominent Rococo painters, sculptors, decorative artists, architects, patrons, theorists, and critics, as well as major centers of artistic production. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about Rococo art.
Renaissance Art by ISBN: 9780192803542Publication Date: 2005-07-28Botticelli, Holbein, Leonardo, Durer, Michelangelo: the names are familiar, as are the works, such as the Last Supper fresco, or the monumental marble statue of David. But who were these artists, why did they produce such memorable images, and how would their original beholders have viewedthese objects? This volume will answer such questions by considering both famous and lesser-known artists, patrons and works of art within the cultural and historical context of Renaissance Europe.
Daily Life in Renaissance Italy by Call Number: DG445 .C48 2001ISBN: 9780313361142Publication Date: 2001-09-30Discover what life was like for ordinary people living in Renaissance Italy. How was their society organized? What were their homes like? What dangers did they face? These and other questions are answered in detail to provide the reader with a unique view of the world of the Italian Renaissance. A multitude of settings and socioeconomic backgrounds are presented, from urban life to country life, from upper-class to peasant-class, to paint a full portrait of the different kinds of existence of people of this culture.
Books
The 100 Most Influential Painters and Sculptors of the Renaissance by Call Number: ND170 .A14 2010ISBN: 9781615300044Publication Date: 2009-12-20The Renaissance was a fantastic period of rebirth in terms of art and culture. This book recounts the struggles and victories of the most celebrated artists who lived and worked at this time. The masterpieces of Leonardo da Vinci, Pieter Bruegel, Sandro Botticelli, and many others also highlighted.
Artists of the Renaissance by Call Number: N6915 .E17 2004ISBN: 9780313319372Publication Date: 2004-04-30The Renaissance is arguably the most significant period in the history of art. Earls provides biographical chapters for each of the 10 most famous artists from the European Renaissance, including Alberti, Donatello, Leonardo da Vinci, Raphael, and others.
Baroque: architecture, sculpture, painting by ISBN: 9783833160011Publication Date: 2011-11-19Chronological depiction of the fine arts from their origins in Rome through the late baroque and rococo. Explanation of the sociopolitical background: the Counter-Reformation, the development of Protestantism, absolutism, and the French Revolution Various ways the baroque left its mark, including city planning, architecture, garden design, sculpture, painting, and emblems.
Baroque, 1620-1800 by Call Number: N6415.B3 A4 2009ISBN: 9781851775583Publication Date: 2009-05-01The Baroque style developed out of the Renaissance with the primary goal of inspiring awe. The most complex and sophisticated movement of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, Baroque encompassed all forms of artistic expression, from painting to music to literature.
Baroque and Rococo: art and culture by Call Number: N6410 .M56 1999ISBN: 9780130856494Publication Date: 1999-09-30The first survey of the Baroque and Rococo periods to incorporate modern scholarship in an entertaining and accessible way. Organized thematically, rather than strictly by dates and countries, it looks at art through the context of the church, monarchy, and the establishment of the academies, and considers women artists and gender issues.
