We hand-picked these resources to help you find info on your topic:
(You may have to use the Library Login)
Articles/Databases
-
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)Subject(s): Clinical medicine, experimental medicine, dentistry, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and more. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals and treatment guidelines.
-
Health and Nursing (EBSCO)Best for: Literature reviews or annotated bibliographies that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Ability to search CINAHL, Health Source Consumer and Nursing, Medline, and PsycARTICLES in one place.
-
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) (formerly Health Reference Center Academic)Best for: Starting your research. Includes: Magazines, scholarly journals, news, and encyclopedia entries.
-
PubMed (NCBI)Subject(s): All topics in medicine and nursing. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Some full text from scholarly journals and ebooks.
Websites
-
American Association for Respiratory CareSince 1947, the American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC) has been committed to enhancing your professionalism as a respiratory care practitioner, improving your performance on the job, and helping you broaden the scope of knowledge essential to your success.
-
National Association for Medical Direction of Respiratory CareEstablished over three decades ago, the National Association for Medical Direction of Respiratory Care (NAMDRC) is a national organization of physicians whose mission is to educate its members and address regulatory, legislative and payment issues that relate to the delivery of healthcare to patients with respiratory disorders.
-
National Board for Respiratory CareThe National Board for Respiratory Care, Inc. (NBRC) is a voluntary health certifying board which was created in 1960 to evaluate the professional competence of respiratory therapists. A group of Chicago physicians and therapists recognized the need to formalize the training and registration of practitioners involved in the care and support of patients with respiratory disorders.
-
National Library of Medicine (NLM)The NLM web site is a vital resource for librarians, the public, health professionals, and researchers. Users can access MedlinePlus, Pubmed, and other sites from the home page with just a click. Explore the List of NLM Databases and Resources link to learn more about the extensive collection of electronic resources.
Video/Media
-
Films on Demand (Films Media Group)Subject(s): All topics. Best for: Presentations needing visual aids or assignments that allow films as sources. Includes: Streaming educational videos.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
View a Images
-
Primal Pictures Anatomy & Physiology (Anatomy.TV)Includes: Three-dimensional images and animations that illustrate different anatomical concepts and functions, and surgical principles.
Library Login
Library Access
(articles, eBooks, etc. from databases OR library search engine)
(loans, renewals, requests from the library search engine)
Username = your Canvas username followed by @seminolestate.edu (omit "live")
Password = your Canvas password
Course Reserves
Your textbook and other course materials may be available at the Library:
Books
Find most Respiratory Care Textbooks on Reserve at the Altamonte Library (just ask at the main desk).
For more books on Respiratory Care, look in these call number ranges:
| RC | RM | |
Or consider these titles:
-
Cardiorespiratory Physiotherapy by Call Number: RC702 .P48 2016ISBN: 9780702047312Publication Date: 2016-08-10The fifth edition of this seminal textbook continues to provide those who are studying or are in practice with comprehensive, evidence-based coverage of all the main aspects of respiratory and cardiac physiotherapy throughout the whole lifespan - neonates, infants, children, adolescents and adults - with the patient at centre and advocating a problem-based approach. For the new edition, Jennifer Pryor and Ammani Prasad hand the baton of editorship and their lasting legacy over to Eleanor Main and Linda Denehy. With a team of over 60 international expert authors, the new editors have incorporated major changes reflecting current cardiorespiratory physiotherapy education and practice. These changes are heralded by a new title - Cardiorespiratory Physiotherapy: Adults and Paediatrics (formerly Physiotherapy for Respiratory and Cardiac Problems: Adults and Paediatrics) - and a significant restructure of the content with a new set of chapters. A new key chapter on anatomy and physiology of the respiratory system lays the foundation which is then followed by a chapter on clinical assessment of adults, infants and children, and acutely ill or deteriorating patients. Additional new content includes a chapter on outcome measurement in practice and a large chapter describing rehabilitation in acute and chronic conditions in special populations, including spinal cord injury, oncology, trauma, and paediatrics. The chapter on therapeutic interventions is comprehensive and reflective of evidence-based practice. Integrates evidence with clinical practice Case studies used to facilitate problem-solving Boxes throughout highlighting key issues and points Emphasizes the need for a holistic approach to patient care Bank of 350 images on Evolve Resources. Log on to https://evolve.elsevier.com/Main/cardiorespiratory and register to access. -
Gasping for Air by Call Number: RC736.G59 2017ISBN: 9781442246232Publication Date: 2017-08-03Breathing is a continuous battle between our need for oxygen and forces in nature that attack our lungs. Three hundred thousand Americans will die of respiratory diseases this year. Gasping for Air is the dramatic story of how infections, toxins, carcinogens, and air pollution strike against one of our basic body functions. The book also describes how we come into the struggle with diseases like asthma, cystic fibrosis, and sleep apnea, which make us vulnerable to assaults on breathing from without and within. We have powerful weapons to defend breathing. Medical science, public health, engineering, and business, all play important roles in the effort to support breathing. Yet, Gasping for Air also reminds readers how breathing support has been at the eye of the storm in many ethical dilemmas of modern healthcare. Here, Kevin Glynn, an experienced pulmonologist and lifelong asthma sufferer tells stories about the third most common cause of premature deaths in the developed world, describes lethal forces in Nature (infections, genetic predispositions) and from human activities (dusty occupations, tobacco smoking, chemical toxins, drug overdoses) that threaten to suffocate us, and offers sage advice for how to prevent and address those threats and the damage they cause. -
Neonatal and Pediatric Respiratory Care by Call Number: RJ431 .P47 2015ISBN: 9781455753192Publication Date: 2014-03-27With the in-depth coverage you need, this text helps you provide quality treatment for neonates, infants and pediatric patients. It discusses the principles of neonatal and pediatric respiratory care while emphasizing clinical application. Not only is this edition updated with the latest advances in perinatal and pediatric medicine, but it adds a new chapter on pediatric thoracic trauma plus new user-friendly features to simplify learning. A comprehensive, evidence-based approach covers all of the major topics of respiratory care for neonates, infants, and children, including both theory and application. Case studies help you master the more difficult areas of care for neonatal and pediatric disorders. Logical, streamlined organization makes it easier for students to master the material and prepare for an entry-level BS degree and the national Neonatal/Pediatric Specialty credentialing exam. Learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter highlight the "take-aways" by breaking down key content into measurable behaviors, criteria, and conditions. Complete test preparation is provided through coverage of all the content in the matrix for the NPS exam. NBRC exam-style assessment questions test your comprehension of the material in each chapter. Answers to assessment and case study questions are provided on the Evolve companion website. New Quality and Safety chapter addresses quality care for the neonatal/pediatric patient. New Clinical Highlights boxes discuss realistic scenarios to help you apply your knowledge to clinical practice. UPDATED! Over 400 full-color illustrations - plus clear tables and graphs- make it easier to visualize key concepts. New! Key point summary at end of each chapter highlights essential content in a bulleted format. New! Glossary provides easy access to key terms and their definitions. New! Key terms at the beginning of each chapter highlight important terminology. -
Sleep Disorders Sourcebook by Call Number: RC731 .R468 2014ISBN: 9780780810846Publication Date: 2010-12-14Basic consumer health information about sleep and sleep disorders, plus facts about diagnostic procedures, treatment strategies, sleep medications, and tips for improving sleep quality.
Ebooks
-
Equipment for Respiratory Care by
ISBN: 9781449601959Publication Date: 2014-09-30Equipment For Respiratory Care is changing the paradigm of historic respiratory care equipment books. Focusing on the principles of the equipment and then concluding with in-depth discussion and practical solutions to complex problems, this focus on the clinical application of patient care enhances key critical thinking skills with clear explanations of the features of the equipment as well as the way it functions. -
Neonatal and Pediatric Respiratory Care by ISBN: 9781455753192Publication Date: 2014-03-27With the in-depth coverage you need, this text helps you provide quality treatment for neonates, infants and pediatric patients.
-
Respiratory Care by
ISBN: 9781449672065Publication Date: 2014-10-01As the most comprehensive reference available, it is a guide to the evaluation of the patient, and the development and implementation of an appropriate, evidence-based, respiratory care plan. -
Respiratory Care Sciences by ISBN: 9781133594772Publication Date: 2014-03-10This comprehensive book features clear and concise explanations of key physical concepts, along with explicit diagrams that are designed to help readers visualize the material presented.
