APA 7th
Why Cite?
There are several reasons why crediting sources is necessary in academic writing. First, it shows the reader that the author has researched the background of the problem and is able to discuss previous research. Secondly, it gives credit to past researchers whose research has added to the body of knowledge on the topic.
When to Cite?
Work should be cited if the work, ideas, theories, or research have influenced the current author's work. This also shows the current author has read the work.
| 1. Author | 2. Date | 3. Title |
| 4. Source | 5. DOI* or URL |
*Digital Object Identifier
Basic Paper Setup
Learn how to set up an APA Style paper, including setting the typeface, line spacing, margins, and page header.
Academic Writer
© 2020 American Psychological Association.
Electronic Articles
For more information, see APA (7th ed.) or the textual works page on the APA style website.
Example 1: Electronic Article with DOI
Author, A., Author, B., & Author, C. C. (year). Title of article. Title of the Journal in Italics, Volume(Issue), page numbers. https://doi.org/xxx.xxx
Sim, I. (2016). Two ways of knowing: Big data and evidence based medicine. Annals of Internal Medicine, 164(8), 562-563. https://doi.org/10.7326/M152-2970
Example 2: Electronic Article found on database without DOI
Author, A., Author, B., & Author, C. C. (year). Title of article. Title of the Journal in Italics, Volume(Issue), page numbers.
National health sleep awareness project: Sleep apnea now afflicts at least 25 million adults in the U.S. (2014, October 8). Health & Beauty Close Up.
Example 3: Electronic Article found on a news website that has a daily or weekly associated newspaper
Author, A. (year, month day). Title of the article. Title of Publication, URL
Schwarz, A. (2016, June 9). Research links PTSD to blasts in combat. The New York Times. https://www.nytimes.com/2016/06/10/us/ptsd-blst-waves-research.html
Print Articles
For more information, see APA (7th ed.) or the textual works page on the APA style website.
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, Volume(Issue), pp-pp.
Mallan, K. M., Fildes, A., Magarey, A. M., & Daniels, L. A. (2016) The relationship between number of fruits, vegetables, and noncore foods tried at age 14 months and food preferences, dietary intake patterns, fussy eating behavior, and weight status at age 3.7 years. Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, 116(4), 630-659.
Books
For more information, see APA (7th ed.) or the book page on the APA style website.
Example 1: Book by a single author
Author, A. (Year). Title of work. Publisher.
Miller, C. A. (2015) Nursing for wellness in older adults (5th ed.). Wolters Kluwer.
Example 2: Book by two or more authors
Author, A., Author, B., & Author, C. (Year). Title of work. Publisher.
Sawyer Sommers, M., & Fannin, E. F. (2015). Diseases and disorders: A nursing therapeutics manual. F.A. Davis
Example 3: Book with DOI (Retrieved online)
Author, A. (Year). Title of work. https://doi.org/xxxxxx
Smith, F. (2004). Understanding reading: A psycholinguistic analysis of reading and learning to read. Publisher. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781410610058
Example 4: Electronic book (eBook) without DOI
Author, A., Author, B., & Author, C. (Year). Title of work. Publisher.
Fains, J. A. (2017). Reading, understanding, and applying nursing research. F.A. Davis.
Example 5: Book by unknown author
Title of work. (Year). Publisher.
Go ask Alice. (1971). Prentice Hall.
Reference Books
For more information, see APA (7th ed.) or the references example page page on the APA style website.
Example 1: Reference book
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of chapter or entry. In A. Editor, B. Editor, & C. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (pp. xxx-xxx). Publisher.
Davis, A. J. (2008). Provision 2. In Fowler, M. D. (Ed.), Guide to the code of ethics for nurses: Interpretation and application (pp. 12-21). American Nurses Association.
Example 2: Dictionary in print, no author or editor
Title of entry. (date). In Title of reference work (xx ed., Vol. xx). Publisher
Digitize. (2011). In The American heritage college dictionary (4th ed.). Houghton Mifflin.
Example 3: Online Reference Book (eBook)
Title of entry. (date). In Title of reference work (xx ed., Vol. xx). URL
Nikola Tesla. (2011). In Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia. http://db26.lnccwb.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=funk&AN=TE034500&site=ehost-live
Book Chapters/Edited Books
For more information, see APA (7th ed.) or the edited book chapter page on the APA style website.
Example 1: Book Chapter Edited Book, print version
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (year). Title of chapter or entry. In A. Editor, B. Editor, C. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (pp. xxx-xxx). Publisher.
Toneatto, T., & Ongley, J. (2012). Buddhists. In E. Johnston Taylor (Ed.), Religion: A clinical guide for nurses (pp. 129-143). Springer Publishing.
Example 2: Book Chapter Edited Book, electronic version
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (year). Title of chapter or entry. In A. Editor, B. Editor, C. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (pp. xxx-xxx). https://doi.org/xxxxxxxx
Bloom, M. B., Salim, A., & Malinoski, D. J. (2015) Critical care of the organ donor. In E. A. Pretto, Jr., G. Biancofiore, A. DeWolf, J. R. Klinck (Eds.), Oxford textbook of transplant anaesthesia and critical care (pp. 69-75). https://doi.org/10.1093/med/9780199651429.003.0008
Websites
For more information, see APA (7th ed.) or the webpage citation on the APA style website.
Example 1: Entire website
When you are not citing a specific page, but the entire website, it is sufficient to just give the address of the site in the text (no reference list entry is needed), as follows:
The American Medical Association is a an excellent resource for both medical professionals, as well as, the general public (https://www.ama-assn.org/).
Example 2: Page on a website.
Author, A. A. (year). Title of webpage. Website Name. http://xxxxx
Zelazko, A. (n.d.). Why is the Mona Lisa so famous? Britannica. https://www.britannica.com/story/why-is-the-mona-lisa-so-
famous?
Example 3: Page on a website with Website Name the same as the group author.
Author, A. A. (year). Title of webpage. http://xxxxx
American Medical Association. (2019). AMA history. https://www.ama-assn.org/about/ama-history/ama-history
Any time you quote or paraphrase from a source within the text of your project, you must give credit to the source by using an in-text citation.
The general format is to include the author(s) name(s) and the publication year of the quoted/paraphrased source:
One or two authors
Parenthetical: (Author, year) (Smith, 2020) OR (Smith & Jones, 2020)
Narrative: Author (year) Smith (2020) OR Smith and Jones (2020)
Three or more authors
Parenthetical: (Author et al., year) (Smith et al., 2020)
Narrative: Author et al. (year) Smith et al. (2020)
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association - 7th Edition by Call Number: Ref BF76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832154Publication Date: 2019-10-01
- Academic Writer This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): APA. Best for: Learning how to cite sources using APA and formating a paper in APA style. Includes: Videos, tutorials, paper templates, personal citation bank, and guided paper writing software. *account creation necessary.
For further help with citation questions and examples, consult some of the guides listed below from other colleges and universities:
MLA 9th
Why Cite?
There are several reasons why crediting sources is necessary in academic writing. First, it shows the reader that the author has researched the background of the problem and is able to discuss previous research. Second, it gives credit to past researchers whose research has added to the body of knowledge on the topic.
When to Cite?
Work should be cited if the work, ideas, theories, or research have influenced the current author's work. This also shows the current author has read the work.
| 1. Author | 2. Title of Source | 3. Title of Container |
| 4. Contributors | 5. Version | 6. Number |
| 7. Publisher | 8. Publication Date | 9. Location |
Note:
Not all elements will necessarily be present in each citation you create. Also, it is possible that elements 3 through 9 might appear more than once. Each source will be slightly different, but the general format for each will resemble the examples in the template below.
- MLA 9th Paper TemplateStart with the word document template, which is already formatted for MLA 9th ed. Then put in your own information, citations, and writing.
Electronic Articles
Example 1: Electronic Article from a Database
Author, First and Second Author. Title of Article. Title of the Journal in Italics, volume, issue, publication date, page numbers. database name, doi:(or https://doi.org/xxx.xxx). Optional access date.
Rauer, Amy, and Brenda Volling.“More Than One Way to be Happy: A Typology of Marital Happiness.” Family Process, vol.52, no.3, 2013, pp. 519-534. Academic Search Complete, doi:10.1111/famp.12028. Accessed 13 Apr. 2018.
Example 2: Electronic Article without DOI
Author, First. Title of Article. Title of the Journal in Italics, volume, issue, publication date, page numbers, database name, article's stable URL. Optional Access date.
Pollard, Stephen.“Mathematics and the Good Life.” Philosophia Mathematica, vol. 21, no. 1, Feb. 2013, pp. 93-109, Academic Search Complete, http://db26.lnccwb.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=85817538&site=ehost-live. Accessed 6 Aug. 2018.
Print Articles
Author, First. Title of Article. Title of the Journal in Italics, volume, issue, publication date, page numbers.
Verschoor, Curtis C. "How Colleges Hide Investments to Avoid Taxes: Should Universities Use Tax Haven Corporations?" Strategic Finance, vol. 99, no. 9. Mar. 2018, pp. 21-22.
Books
Example 1: Book by a single author
Author, First.Title of Book. Publisher, Publication Date.
Brettell, Caroline. Anthropological Conversations: Talking Culture Across Disciplines. Rowman & Littlefield, 2015.
Example 2: Book by two authors
Author, First and Second Author.Title of Book. Publisher, Publication Date
Berger, Kathleen S. and Ross A. Thompson. The Developing Person Through Childhood. Worth Publishers, 2003.
Example 3: Books with three or more authors
Author, First, et. al. (Year). Title of Book. Publisher, Publication Date
Verdier, Thierry, et al. The Organization of Firms in a Global Economy. Harvard UP, 2008.
Example 4: Electronic book (eBook) from a library database
Author, First.Title of Book. Database name, Publisher, Publication Date
Arthur, Charles. Digital Wars: Apple, Google, Microsoft and the Battle for the Internet. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost),
Kogan Page, 2012.
Any time you quote or paraphrase from a source within the text of your project, you must give credit to the source by using an in-text citation.
The general format is to include the author(s) name(s) and the page number or numbers of the quoted/paraphrased passage:
(Pollard 102)
(Arthur 133-134)
(Verdier et al. 228-230)
If there are no page numbers, like in the example of a website or a journal article in HTML, you would simply only include the author(s) name:
(Matus)
For further help with citation questions and examples, consult some of the guides listed below from other colleges and universities:
Tutoring Available
Contact the Academic Success Center for:
- Private tutoring sessions
- Guides, tutorials & handouts
- Timed practice tests