We hand-picked these resources to help you find info on your topic:
(You may have to use the Library Login)
Articles/Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics. Best for: Starting your research. Includes: scholarly journals, news, and magazines.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - African American Experience (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): African American history, key figures, and culture. Best for: Starting your research, choosing a topic, or finding sources from the time period. Includes: Broad overviews of eras in history, short entries on scholarly topics, and primary sources.
- American Indian Experience (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Historic and contemporary indigenous peoples of America. Best for: Starting your research, choosing a topic, or finding sources from the time period. Includes: Broad overviews of eras in history, short entries on scholarly topics, and primary sources.
- History Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowBest for: Starting your research. Includes: Reference entries, magazines, biographies, and images.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Humanitites, social sciences, and sciences. Includes: Scholarly journals, book chapters, and primary sources.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - Latino American Experience (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Latino American history, key figures, and culture. Best for: Starting your research, choosing a topic, or finding sources from the time period. Includes: Broad overviews of eras in history, short entries on scholarly topics, and primary sources.
- New York Times - Historical (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): History or humanities. Best for: Finding first-hand accounts or perspectives of the politics, society and events from 1851-2014. Includes: Archived issues.
- Salem Online This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): History, health, and literature. Best for: Defining terms or starting your research. Includes: Literary criticisms and easy to read wikipedia type articles.
View a 
Websites
- American Presidency ProjectThe American Presidency Project contains the most comprehensive collection of resources pertaining to the study of the President of the United States, including presidential papers, addresses, and election documents.
- Civil War ProfilesThe American Civil War was replete with interesting characters and personalities. Soldiers, politicians, and civilians – both North and South – performed remarkable feats of courage, intellect, and leadership during the course of the conflict. The intent of Civil War Profiles is to tell those stories. It is a blog focused on the individuals and the actions they performed relevant to the Civil War
- Exploring the Early AmericasThis online exhibit from the Library of Congress features selections from more than 3,000 rare maps, documents, paintings, prints, and artifacts. It has three major themes: Pre-Contact America; Explorations and Encounters; and Aftermath of the Encounter.
- National ArchivesLinks to resources available through the U.S. National Archive.
- The Wars for VietnamThis site, developed around the course materials for Robert Brigham's senior seminar on the Viet Nam War at Vassar College, offers students an opportunity to examine some of those sources, including numerous official documents
- The WestThe companion website to Ken Burns' 8-part PBS documentary includes biographies, primary sources, maps, timelines and more.
Library Login
Library Access
(articles, eBooks, etc. from databases OR library search engine)
(loans, renewals, requests from the library search engine)
Username = your College email address
Password = your Canvas password
Course Reserves
Your textbook and other course materials may be available at the Library:
Ebooks
America's Wars by ISBN: 9780471327974Publication Date: 2002-04-15In America's Wars, one of the nation's leading authors of popular history provides a unique one-stop resource for essential information on every military action involving the United States and its precursor colonies
A History of the U. S. Political System: ideas, interests, and institutions by ISBN: 9781851097135Publication Date: 2009-12-23This reference resource combines unique historical analysis, scholarly essays, and primary source documents to explore the evolution of ideas and institutions that have shaped American government and Americans' political behavior. *
The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History by ISBN: 9781400833566Publication Date: 2009-11-09An essential resource for anyone interested in U.S. history and politics, this two-volume encyclopedia covers the major forces that have shaped American politics from the founding to today. Broad in scope, the book addresses both the traditional topics of political history--such as eras, institutions, political parties, presidents, and founding documents--and the wider subjects of current scholarship, including military, electoral, and economic events, as well as social movements, popular culture, religion, education, race, gender, and more.
The Puritan Origins of American Patriotism by ISBN: 9780300100990Publication Date: 2007-09-28In this absorbing book, George McKenna ranges across the entire panorama of American history to track the development of American patriotism. That patriotism--shaped by Reformation Protestantism and imbued with the American Puritan belief in a providential "errand"--has evolved over 350 years and influenced American political culture in both positive and negative ways,
The Routledge Atlas of American History by ISBN: 9780415488396Publication Date: 2010-01-22The Routledge Atlas of American History presents a series of 163 clear and detailed maps, accompanied by informative captions, facts and figures. The complete history of America is unraveled through vivid representations of all the significant landmarks.
Books
American Decades Series by Call Number: E169.12 .A432ISBN: 9780787650766Publication Date: 2000-12-01American Decades documents and analyzes periods of contemporary American social history. Each volume begins with an overview and chronology covering the entire decade. Subject chapters follow, each including an explanatory background overview; subject-specific timeline; and alphabetically arranged entries discussing the people, events and ideas important to that subject during the period. Included are biographies; explanations of concepts; terms and events; quotations; charts; sidebars covering high-interest topics; and much more.
Encyclopedia of American History by Call Number: E174.5 .E52 1996ISBN: 9780062700551Publication Date: 1996-09-19The seventh edition of the Encyclopedia of American History updates this indispensable and classic reference book to cover the history of the United States from pre-Columbian times through the first year of the Clinton Administration. Unequaled in the amount of information contained within a single volume, and designed to be read as a narrative, the Encyclopedia chronicles all the essential facts of American history, from government and politics to science, thought and culture.
A Little History of the United States by Call Number: E178 .D243 2015ISBN: 9780300223484Publication Date: 2016-09-13A fast-paced, character-filled history that brings the unique American saga to life for readers of all ages How did a land and people of such immense diversity come together under a banner of freedom and equality to form one of the most remarkable nations in the world?
The Men Who United the States by Call Number: E178 .W795 2013ISBN: 9780062079602Publication Date: 2013-10-15cclaimed New York Times bestselling author Winchester illuminates the men who toiled fearlessly to discover, connect, and bond the citizenry and geography of the U.S.A. from its beginnings and ponders whether the historic work of uniting the States has succeeded, and to what degree.
