We hand-picked these resources to help you find info on your topic:
(You may have to use the Library Login)
Articles/Databases
- GenderWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, and LGBTQ+ studies. Best for: Assignments that require scholarly, credible research. Includes: Scholarly journals, magazines, news, and dissertations.
- Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): History, literature, political science, philosophy, language, and religion. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals, magazines, news.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - Social Science Journals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals, magazines, and dissertations.
- History Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowBest for: Starting your research. Includes: Reference entries, magazines, biographies, and images.
- Sage Journals (Sage Publications) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Humanities, engineering, and the social sciences, life sciences, materials sciences, and health sciences. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals
- US Newsstream This link opens in a new windowIncludes: Large US news publications, such as the Wall Street Journal, as well as local and regional news, blogs, and websites.
View a 
Women's Studies Journals
These are just a few of the journals on women's studies available through the Seminole State College library. For more journals, please visit the Journals A-Z link.
- Camera ObscuraFrom the database Academic OneFile (Gale). Articles available from 1999 (most recent year not available).
- Canadian Women's StudiesFrom the database Academic OneFile (Gale). Articles available from 1996.
- Feminist Collections: A Quarterly of Women's Studies ResourcesFrom the database Academic Search Complete (EBSCO). Articles available from 2005.
- Frontiers: A Journal of Women StudiesFrom the database Academic Search Complete (EBSCO). Articles available from 2001.
- Meridians: Feminism, Race, TransnationalismFrom the database Gender Watch (ProQuest). Articles available from 2003.
- NWSA JournalFrom the database Academic Search Complete (EBSCO). Articles available from 1988 to 2007.
Websites
- American WomenThis site provided by the Library of Congress contains the following guide in digital form: _American Women: A Library of Congress Guide for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States_.
- Discovering American Women's History OnlineContains primary sources such as letters, diaries, and photos on American Women. Organized by subjects, primary source types, states, and time periods.
- gender InnThis database is searchable and provides access to over 8,400 records pertaining to feminist theory, feminist literary criticism and gender studies focusing on English and American Literature.
- Institute for Women's Policy ResearchThe Institute conducts rigorous research and disseminates its findings to address the needs of women, promote public dialogue, and strengthen families, communities, and societies.
- International Center for Research on Women (ICRW)ICRW's mission is to empower women, advance gender equality and fight poverty in the developing world. To accomplish this, ICRW works with partners to conduct empirical research, build capacity and advocate for evidence-based, practical ways to change policies and programs.
- National Women's Studies AssociationA professional organization dedicated to leading the field of women's studies and gender studies, as well as its teaching, learning, research, and service.
- The Social Welfare History Image PortalAds, pamphlets, placards, and other ephemera from social movements such as women's sufferage
- Women's History MonthThis website is on Women's History Month, celebrated in March. The Library of Congress hosts this website.
- Women's Studies Resources on the InternetResources on the Internet via New York Public Library/NYPL.
Video/Media
- Makers: Women Who Make AmericaMAKERS follows the profound impact of Betty Friedan's "The Feminine Mystique" on the awakening of the women's movement in America in the 1950s and '60s. The idea that women could do anything a man could do began to take hold of American women. Women like Kathrine Switzer, Judy Blume, Gloria Steinem and more began to challenge traditional gender roles.
- Not for ourselves alone : the story of Elizabeth Cady Stanton & Susan B. AnthonyPresents the history of women's suffrage in the United States through the dramatic, often turbulent friendship of Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan Anthony.
Images
- Women's History CollectionsVarious collections of women's history primary documents and images from the Library of Congress.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Art, architecture, and humanities. Best for: Research or presentations that need images or primary sources. Includes: Images of art, architecture, and artists. Little to no research information is given for the images.
Library Login
Library Access
(articles, eBooks, etc. from databases OR library search engine)
(loans, renewals, requests from the library search engine)
Username = your College email address
Password = your Canvas password
Course Reserves
Your textbook and other course materials may be available at the Library:
Books
Feminism by Call Number: ALT / OVI / SAN HQ1150 .F4524 2019ISBN: 9781534502918Publication Date: 2018-07-15Through diverse perspectives, this enlightening volume explores the current debates on feminism's front, including the pay gap, violence against women, substandard health care, reproductive rights, and representation in government.
Feminists Who Changed America, 1963-1975 by Call Number: SAN Ref HQ1412 .F46 2006ISBN: 9780252031892Publication Date: 2006Documenting key feminists who ignited the second wave women's movement.
Free Women, Free Men by Call Number: SAN HQ1155 .P34 2017ISBN: 9780375424779Publication Date: 2017-03-14From the fiery intellectual provocateur-- and one of our most fearless advocates of gender equality--a brilliant, urgent essay collection that both celebrates modern feminism and challenges us to build an alliance of strong women and strong men.
Sexual Minorities in Sports by Call Number: OVI GV706.5 .S49 2013ISBN: 9781588268907Publication Date: 2013-02-01Empirically rich and full of theoretical insights, the book concludes by pinpointing opportunities for confronting prejudice and empowering individuals across the lines of both gender and sexual orientation.
Together We Rise by Call Number: OVI HQ1155 .T64 2018ISBN: 9780062843432Publication Date: 2018-01-16In celebration of the one-year anniversary of Women's March, this gorgeously designed full-color book offers an unprecedented, front-row seat to one of the most galvanizing movements in American history, with exclusive interviews with Women's March organizers, never-before-seen photographs, and essays by feminist activists.
A Vindication of the Rights of Woman by Call Number: ALT/OVI/SAN HQ1596.W6 W65 2014ISBN: 9780300176476Publication Date: 2014-08-26Mary Wollstonecraft's visionary treatise, originally published in 1792, was the first book to present women's rights as an issue of universal human rights.
Women Will Vote by Call Number: ALT JK1911.N7 G67 2017ISBN: 9781501713200Publication Date: 2017-09-15Women Will Vote celebrates the 2017 centenary of women's right to full suffrage in New York State. Susan Goodier and Karen Pastorello highlight the activism of rural, urban, African American, Jewish, immigrant, and European American women, as well as male suffragists, both upstate and downstate, that led to the positive outcome of the 1917 referendum.
Ebooks
Beyond Burning Bras by ISBN: 9780313365805Publication Date: 2010-04-09This book offers a practical guide to the everyday actions and decisions that anyone can take to promote gender equality and social justice in their own life and the world around them.
Feminist Writings from Ancient Times to the Modern World by ISBN: 9780313345807Publication Date: 2011-10-17Collecting more than 200 sources in the global history of feminism, this anthology supplies an insightful record of the resistance to patriarchy throughout human history and around the world.
The Trouble Between Us by ISBN: 0195334590Publication Date: 2007-08-31In The Trouble Between Us, Winifred Breines explores why a racially integrated women's liberation movement did not develop in the United States.
