LibGuides: Social Science Video Contest Fall 2022: Credible Sources

Using Library Resources & How to Log In

Use the library Advanced Search, and try using these keywords to get started:

School AND Shooting* (TIP- adding * tells the search to include additional renditions of shooting such as shootings)

Here's a video - Intro to Primo - Library Search Engine (23 min.) - to learn how to use the library search engine to do your research, refine results, and instructs how to evaluate and access the resources in the results.
You'll also learn how to save, print, and email citations, and access your account information.
Viewing this video is a good idea!

Listed below are other resources to explore, based on your specific topics, such as suggested databases, links to library ebooks, streaming media, and more!

Remember to be a critical thinker, be aware of personal biases, and explore and discover as you do your research!

Databases

Use library databases to locate credible authoritative sources- including newspapers, magazines, academic journals and peer-reviewed academic journals. You'll find articles, statistics, images, media - all at your fingertips in the library!

Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) Best for Current events in the education profession and overviews of education topics. Includes: Professional magazines, news, and reports.
Education Source (EBSCO) All topics in education - Early childhood through university. Best for: Starting your research and easier-to-read introductions to topics. Includes: News, magazines, scholarly journals, and ebooks.
Issues and Controversies Easy to read background information, pro/con articles, primary sources, visual aids, and statistics on controversial topics.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) Find pro/con issues on a variety of current topics- including health-related issues.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) A general broad-based academic database where you can explore and discover scholarly journals, news, and magazines.
Encyclopedia Britannica Short, easy to read reference entries and related images to get background information on health topics.
JSTOR Subject(s): A database with social science content that Includes scholarly journals, book chapters, and primary sources.

eBooks

Use eBooks to find content online from credible sources to support your thesis or provide an opposing viewpoint and easily email a page or chapter from the eBook along with the citation to organize your sources. eBooks are great sources for assignments that may require an ebook as a source and you can use a section, a few pages, or a chapter that may be useful to support your writing.

eBook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): All topics. Best for: Assignments that require ebooks or book chapters. Includes: All ebooks from the publisher ProQuest.
eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): All topics. Best for: Assignments that require ebooks or book chapters. Includes: All ebooks from the publisher EBSCO.
eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): Literature, humanities, medicine, and history. Best for: In-depth overviews of a topic and starting your research. Includes: Book chapters, reference essays, and literary criticisms on short stories, poems, plays, and novels.
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): All topics. Best for: Starting your research, Dual Enrollment students. Includes: Acclaimed eBook titles on core subjects.

Audio Books

Overdrive
Access exclusive Recorded Books audiobook titles, as well as other popular eBooks and audiobook titles that your library offers - brings exclusive Recorded Books eAudioin one collection that features the best literature in a wide variety of genres along with an outstanding collection of award-winning Childrens and Young Adult titles.

Suggested Search Terms and Keywords

Silhouette of person thinking, holding a pen to mouth and with idea bubble containing image of light bulb Be a critical thinker as you begin to consider topics and how these may be related to additional topics.

Here are some suggestions to get started:

adolescents and violence
children and violence
guns and schools
guns and educational policy
economics and school shootings
ethics and guns
guns and school culture
education and school violence
bullying and school shootings

Consider combining terms like these with the word AND and see what you find! Be sure to use the short keyword or search terms rather than pose a question or statement like we typically do while searching in Google.

TEDxTalks- School Shootings in America

Streamed Media

Alexander Street Press Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): All topics. Includes: Documentaries, films, and musicals. Faculty How To
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A curated selection of primary sources for teaching and learning about the struggles and triumphs of Black Americans. Developed with input from Black history scholars and advisors, this resource is freely available on the web and to libraries for anyone studying U.S. Black history.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Select film titles for streaming, including feature films and documentaries. Faculty How To
Films on Demand (Films Media Group) This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): All topics. Best for: Presentations needing visual aids or assignments that allow films as sources (create an optional personal account to save videos and create custom clips). Includes: Streaming educational videos.

View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
AVON This link opens in a new window
Over 70,000 videos and films covering topics in anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Faculty How To
Swank Digital Campus (Motion Pictures) This link opens in a new window
Includes: Some feature length films and documentaries, such as the Matrix and Food, Inc. Faculty How To