LibGuides: Honors STEM Research: Chosen for You

We hand-picked these resources to help you find info on your topic:

(You may have to use the Library Login)

Articles/Databases

Access Science (McGraw Hill) This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): Science and technology. Best for: Defining terms or basic concepts and starting your research. Includes: Wikipedia-type articles, definitions, and short videos.
Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): Engineering, computer software, artificial intelligence, and space science. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly sources or images. Includes: Scholarly journals, magazines, and images.

View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): Clinical medicine, experimental medicine, dentistry, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and more. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals and treatment guidelines.
PubMed (NCBI) This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): All topics in medicine and nursing. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Some full text from scholarly journals and ebooks.
Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): Biology, chemistry, environmental science, math, engineering, technology, medicine, physics, and astronomy. Best for: Starting your research or choosing a topic. Includes: Easy to read wikipedia type articles, news, magazines, and some journals.
Springer eJournal Collection This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): All topics but strongest in technical and scientific research. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals.

Impact Factors

Annual Reviews Rankings in Journal Citation Reports
The 2018 Edition of the Journal Citation Reports® (JCR) published by Clarivate Analytics provides a combination of impact and influence metrics from 2017 Web of Science source data. The report includes more than 11,000 journals from 81 countries. The most well-known indicator in the JCR is the Journal Impact Factor (JIF). This measure provides a ratio of citations to a journal in a given year to the citable items in the prior two years.
Understanding the Journal Impact Factor Part 1

Library Login

Library Access

(articles, eBooks, etc. from databases OR library search engine)

(loans, renewals, requests from the library search engine)

Username = your College email address

Password = your Canvas password

Canvas Password Recovery & Reset

Course Reserves

Your textbook and other course materials may be available at the Library:

Websites

NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information) Resources
Public Library of Science (PLoS)
A suite of seven different open access journals in the biological sciences
TOXNET
Search all or selected databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health & toxic releases

Examples for finding information on researchers

Go to http://www.tri-md.org/ - Translational Research Institute for Metabolism and Diabetes
1. Meet Our Team and/or Research Studies
2. Select Paul Coen
  1. Note: contact information, biography, research interests, recent publications
  2. Specialty links: PubMed, ORCID, Scopus, Google Scholar, Researchgate, Twitter
Go to https://www.nemours.org/locations/orlando-nemours-childrens-hospital.html - Nemours Children’s Hospital, Orlando, Florida
1. Find a Researcher or Areas of Research or Clinical Trials
2. Select Orlando for the location
3. Select Terri Finkel
  1. Notice: difference in presentation of the researcher’s information
Go to ucf.edu (or any affiliated institution and start searching for your area of interest)
1. Type in “biotechnology” in Search box
2. Select entry for “Burnett School of Biomedical Sciences - MS Biotechnology”
3. Select “Faculty and Staff” (at top of the page)
4. Using the College Directory, type in Bossy-Wetzel and click Find
5. Then, click on Dr. Ella Bossy-Wetzel’s “View Full Profile”
  1. Note: contact information, biography, research interests, recent publications
  2. Click on “Visit PubMed for other publications, here” link to see other publications by E. Bossy-Wetzel
Go to ClinicalTrials.gov - Government database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies.
1. Locate the section titled, "Find a study".
2. Select All studies
3. Enter the Condition or Disease
4. Enter the Country, State, and city
5. Click Search
Go to https://www.nsf.gov/crssprgm/reu/reu_search.jsp - National Science Foundation Undergraduate Research Experiences