e-Books
e-Books
e-Books
The International LGBT Rights Movement by
During the past four decades, the international lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender rights movement has made significant advances, but millions of LGBT people continue to live in fear in nations where homosexuality remains illegal. The International LGBT Rights Movement offers a comprehensive account of this global force, from its origins in the mid-nineteenth century to its crucial place in world affairs today. Belmonte examines the movement's goals, the disputes about its mission, and its rise to international importance. The International LGBT Rights Movement provides a thorough introduction to the movement's history, highlighting key figures, controversies, and organizations. With a global scope that considers both state and non-state actors, the book explores transnational movements to challenge homophobia, while also assessing the successes and failures of these efforts along the way.
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781472511478Publication Date: 2021
Bodies and Barriers by
The contributors to Bodies and Barriers look for tangible improvements, drawing from the history of HIV/AIDS in the U.S. and from struggles against health care bias and discrimination. At a galvanising moment when LGBT people have experienced great strides in lived equality, but our health as a community still lags, here is an indispensable blueprint for change by some of the most passionate and important health activists in the LGBT movement today.
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781629637846Publication Date: 2020
Celebrating Difference by
RECOMMENDED BY LORD MICHAEL CASHMAN IN UK PARLIAMENT, APRIL 2019 'Essential and valuable reading for every teacher and school leader.' Peter Tatchell 'A huge stride towards genuine organisational change.' Dr Joseph Hall 'An outstanding book.' Professor Jonathan Glazzard Celebrating Difference is an inspiring handbook for LGBT+ inclusion, aimed at all primary and secondary teachers and leaders. Written by Shaun Dellenty, internationally celebrated lead in LGBT+ inclusion in education, it is filled with practical advice to enable schools to bring about organisational change to ensure the safety, success, mental health and wellbeing ofall pupils and staff. This ground-breaking book examines the roots and impact of identity-based prejudice in schools, drawing on Shaun's own experiences of homophobic bullying and his subsequent career as a teacher and school leader. The core of the book is based on Shaun's award-winning training programme Inclusion For All, endorsed by the Department for Education, presenting an effective approach to LGBT+ inclusion at a whole-school level. This includes practical strategies to eradicate prejudice, prevent bullying, embrace diversity and improve whole-school outcomes such as attendance and attainment, as well as mindfulness techniques and ideas for INSET training sessions and school assemblies. Case studies and interviews with pupils and teachers who have experienced the Inclusion For All process and unique research insights from Dr Joseph Hall, University of Leeds, demonstrate how the strategies work in practice. Clear guidance will also enable schools to comply with Ofsted and statutory equality legislation, and help them to teach children about British values, basic human rights and the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child (UNCRC). Written with warmth, humour and compassion, this is a must-read guide for all teachers and school leaders who wish to promote inclusion, celebrate difference and ensure safer futures for all young people.
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781472961501Publication Date: 2019
Marginality and Global LGBT Communities by
This book examines the interconnectedness of LGBT civil and political rights, bias, discrimination, homophobia, and LGBT health disparities both in the United States and globally. According to Notaro, the failure to extend equitable civil and political rights to LGBT individuals--combined with recent reversal of past gains--will continue to be associated with bias, stigma and discrimination toward the LGBT community. In turn, this sustained bias and stigma fosters a host of LGBT health disparities, including access to culturally competent health care, HIV/AIDS, substance use, homelessness, suicide, and violence. Thus, the bias and discrimination levied at the LGBT community is discussed as a major explanatory factor in life-threatening health disparities experienced by the community, particularly in urban areas worldwide. The volume provides a framework for considering future research that must identify ways to prevent these health disparities, being mindful of and harnessing the protective factors and supports that exist within the diverse LGBT community.
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9783030224141Publication Date: 2019
Stonewall : The Definitive Story of the LGBT Rights Uprising That Changed America by
The definitive account of the Stonewall Riots, the first gay rights march, and the LGBTQ activists at the center of the movement. "Martin Duberman is a national treasure."--Masha Gessen, The New Yorker On June 28, 1969, the Stonewall Inn, a gay bar in New York's Greenwich Village, was raided by police. But instead of responding with the typical compliance the NYPD expected, patrons and a growing crowd decided to fight back. The five days of rioting that ensued changed forever the face of gay and lesbian life. In Stonewall, renowned historian and activist Martin Duberman tells the full story of this pivotal moment in history. With riveting narrative skill, he re-creates those revolutionary, sweltering nights in vivid detail through the lives of six people who were drawn into the struggle for LGBTQ rights. Their stories combine to form an unforgettable portrait of the repression that led up to the riots, which culminates when they triumphantly participate in the first gay rights march of 1970, the roots of today's pride marches. Fifty years after the riots, Stonewall remains a rare work that evokes with a human touch an event in history that still profoundly affects life today.
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9780593083994Publication Date: 2019
Queer Freedom : Black Sovereignty by
Winner of the 2020 Ruth Benedict Prize presented by the Association for Queer Anthropology Theoretically wide-ranging and deeply personal and poetic, Queer Freedom : Black Sovereignty is based on more than three years of fieldwork in the Dominican Republic. Ana-Maurine Lara draws on her engagement in traditional ceremonies, observations of national Catholic celebrations, and interviews with activists from peasant, feminist, and LGBT communities to reframe contemporary conversations about queerness and blackness. The result is a rich ethnography of the ways criollo spiritual practices challenge gender and racial binaries and manifest what Lara characterizes as a shared desire for decolonization. Queer Freedom : Black Sovereignty is also a ceremonial ofrenda, or offering, in its own right. At its heart is a fundamental question: How can we enable "queer : black" life in all its forms, and what would it mean to be "free : sovereign" in the twenty-first century? Calling on the reader to join her in exploring possible answers, Lara maintains that the analogy between these terms--queerness and blackness, freedom and sovereignty--is necessarily incomplete and unresolved, to be determined only by ongoing processes of embodied, relational knowledge production. Queer Freedom : Black Sovereignty thus follows figures such as Sylvia Wynter, María Lugones, M. Jacqui Alexander, Édouard Glissant, Mark Rifkin, Gloria Anzaldúa, and Audre Lorde in working to theorize a potential roadmap to decolonization.
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781438481111Publication Date: 2020
Pride by
"An indispensable and celebratory primer on the ongoing fight for LGBTQ+ rights. An excellent resource that is as thorough as it is visually appealing." --School Library Journal, starred review Like the original version, this new edition of Pride: The Celebration and the Strugglecelebrates the LGBTQ+ community's diversity and the incredible victories of the past 50 years--but it also has a larger focus on activism, the need to keep fighting for equality and freedom around the world and the important role that young people are playing.The new edition has been updatedand expandedto include many new Proud Moments and Queer Facts as well as a profile of LGBTQ+ refugees from Indonesia, a story about a Pride celebration in a refugee camp in Kenya and profiles of young activists, including teens from a Gender and Sexuality Alliance organizing Pride in Inuvik and a trans girl from Vancouver fighting for inclusion and support in schools. There is also a section on being an ally, a profile of a family with two gay dads (one of them trans) and much, much more! Praise for the first edition, Pride: Celebrating Diversity & Community "LGBTQ culture and rights are covered through the prism of Pride in this timely work...This attractive work will be welcomed by readers searching for guidance and hope."--Kirkus Reviews "Informative...Positively festive in its attitudes and outlook, this book more than lives up to the word celebrating in its subtitle."--Booklist "Upbeat and matter-of-fact...These stories, sad and happy, are where vulnerable preteen kids may see themselves."--Quill & Quire "An excellent and necessary addition for all collections."--School Library Journal
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781459821248Publication Date: 2020
LGBTQ+ Discrimination by
In order to thrive, young people need to be surrounded by an environment of positivity. They need to feel secure and supported by their friends, family, and the community. Sadly, many LGBTQ teens feel isolated and unsafe. This helpful guide is designed to give LGBTQ teenagers the support and resources they need to feel not only accepted, but also confident and empowered. Readers with questions about sexuality and identity will find the answers they need. With relevant narrative examples and helpful resources, this text addresses the challenges that LGBTQ people face and provides insight into how to cope with discrimination, find support, and create change.
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781499468175Publication Date: 2020
Intersectionality in Feminist and Queer Movements by
Examining the ways in which feminist and queer activists confront privilege through the use of intersectionality, this edited collection presents empirical case studies from around the world to consider how intersectionality has been taken up (or indeed contested) by activists in order to expose and resist privilege. The volume sets out three key ways in which intersectionality operates within feminist and queer movements: it is used as a collective identity, as a strategy for forming coalitions, and as a repertoire for inclusivity. The case studies presented in this book then evaluate the extent to which some, or all, of these types of intersectional activism are used to confront manifestations of privilege. Drawing upon a wide range of cases from across time and space, this volume explores the difficulties with which activists often grapple when it comes to translating the desire for intersectionality into a praxis which confronts privilege. Addressing inter-related and politically relevant questions concerning how we apply and theorise intersectionality in our studies of feminist and queer movements, this timely edited collection will be of interest to students and scholars from across the social sciences and humanities with an interest in gender and feminism, LGBT+ and queer studies, and social movement studies.
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781000741025Publication Date: 2019
Coming Out Stories by
'Uplifting and triumphant, each story is a feat of bravery and courage.' - Juno Dawson 'A must-read for anyone grappling with coming out.' - Riyadh Khalaf "He told me being gay was nothing to be ashamed of." - Bill "I put my hands over my eyes as I told her, as I couldn't bear to see her reaction." - Olivia Based on the hugely popular Coming Out Stories podcast, this empowering, humorous and deeply honest book invites you to share one of the most important moments in many LGBTQ+ people's lives. From JP coming out to his reflection in the mirror, to Jacob coming out to their Mum over email, from Christine knowing she was trans as a young child, to Kerry coming out as a lesbian in her late thirties, all of the real life stories in this book show you there is no right or wrong way to come out, whatever your age and whatever your background. Whether you're gay, pan, queer, bi, trans, non-binary, or an ally, this uplifting go-to resource is filled with helpful advice and tips on what to expect, and inspirational quotes from leading LGBTQ+ figures, to help you live your life as your most authentic self. Welcome to the family!
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781787754966Publication Date: 2021
Beyond the Politics of the Closet by
A collection of essays that demonstrate how LGBT people played critical roles in local, state, and national politics In the 1970s, queer Americans demanded access not only to health and social services but also to mainstream Democratic and Republican Party politics. The AIDS crisis of the 1980s made the battles for access to welfare, health care, and social services for HIV-positive Americans, many of them gay men, a critically important story in the changing relationship between sexual minorities and the government. The 1980s and 1990s marked a period in which religious right attacks on the civil rights of minorities, including LGBT people, offered opportunities for activists to create campaigns that could mobilize a base in mainstream politics and contribute to the gradual legitimization of sexual minorities in American society. Beyond the Politics of the Closet features essays by historians whose work on LGBT history delves into the decades between the mid-1970s and the millennium, a period in which the relationship between activist networks, the state, capitalism, and political parties became infinitely more complicated. Examining the crucial relationship between sexuality, race, and class, the volume highlights the impact gay rights politics and activism have had on the wider American political landscape since the rights revolutions of the 1960s. The three sections of Beyond the Politics of the Closet conceptualize LGBT politics both chronologically and thematically. The first section highlights the ways in which the immediate post-rights revolution period created new demands on the part of sexual minorities for social services, especially in health care and housing. The second examines the impact of the AIDS crisis on different aspects of national and local LGBT politics. The last section considers how analyzing LGBT politics can reorient our understanding of "the closet" and illuminate the challenges for those seeking to integrate questions of sexual rights into broader political narratives, whether of the left or the right. Contributors: Ian M. Baldwin, Katie Batza, Jonathan Bell, Julio Capó, Jr., Rachel Guberman, Clayton Howard, Kevin Mumford, Dan Royles, Timothy Stewart-Winter
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9780812296723Publication Date: 2020
The a-Z of Gender and Sexuality by
There can be confusion around the appropriate terminology for trans and queer identities, even within the trans community itself. As language is constantly evolving, it can be especially difficult to know what to say. As a thorough A-Z glossary of trans and queer words from 'ace' to 'xe', this dictionary guide will help to dispel the anxiety around using the "wrong" words, while explaining the weight of using certain labels and providing individuals with a vocabulary for personal identification. Having correct and accurate terminology to describe oneself can be empowering, especially with words and phrases that describe gender identity, sexuality, sexual orientation, as well as slang relevant to LGBTQ+ rights and anti-discrimination, queer activism, gender-affirming healthcare and psychology. Written in a traditional A-Z glossary style, this guide will serve as a quick reference for looking up individual words, as well as an in-depth look at trans history and culture.
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781785923425Publication Date: 2019
Bent street. 4.1, Love from a distance : intimacy and technology in time of COVID-19 by
Bent Street 4.1 - Love from a Distance shines a light on the role of technologies in shaping human intimacy within the broader frame of COVID-19 and lockdown. Writers, academics, artists and poets reflect on the role that technologies, old and new, play in mediating human intimacy and shaping queer culture. Bent Street 4.1 is edited by Jennifer Power, Henry von Doussa and Timothy W. Jones from La Trobe University, and produced in association with The Australian Research Centre in Sex, Health and Society and La Trobe University Transforming Human Societies Research Focus Area.
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9780648746935Publication Date: 2020
Non-Binary Lives by
2021 LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD FINALIST An IndyBest's Best Book Buy 2020 'Essential reading for anyone wishing to learn more about the wonderful diversity of humans.' - The Independent What does it mean to be non-binary in the 21st Century? Our gender identity is impacted by our personal histories; the cultures, communities and countries we are born into; and the places we go and the people we meet. But the representation of contemporary non-binary identities has been limited, until now. Pushing the narrative around non-binary identities further than ever before, this powerful collection of essays represents the breadth of non-binary lives, across the boundaries of race, class, age, sexuality, faith and more. Leading non-binary people share stories of their intersecting lives; how it feels to be non-binary and neurodiverse, the challenges of being a non-binary pregnant person, what it means to be non-binary within the Quaker community, the joy of reaching gender euphoria. This thought-provoking anthology shows that there is no right or wrong way to be non-binary.
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781787753402Publication Date: 2020
Spectrums by
Written by autistic trans people from around the world, this vital and intimate collection of personal essays reveals the struggles and joys of living at the intersection of neurodivergence and gender diversity. Weaving memories, poems and first-person narratives together, these stories showcase experiences of coming out, college and university life, accessing healthcare, physical transition, friendships and relationships, sexuality, pregnancy, parenting, and late life self-discovery, to reveal a rich and varied tapestry of life lived on the spectrums. With humour and personal insight, this anthology is essential reading for autistic trans people, and the professionals supporting them, as well as anyone interested in the nuances of autism and gender identity.
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781787750159Publication Date: 2020
Nonbinary by
In this groundbreaking book, thirty authors highlight how our experiences are shaped by a deeply entrenched gender binary. Nuanced storytellers break away from mainstream portrayals of gender diversity, cutting across lines of age, race, ethnicity, ability, class, religion, family, and relationships.
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9780231546102Publication Date: 2019
Middle Grounds by
Spawning Generations is a collection of stories by queerspawn (people with LGBTQ+ parents) spanning six decades, three continents, and five countries. Curated by queerspawn, this anthology is about carving out a space for queerspawn to tell their own stories. The contributors in this volume break away from the pressures to be perfect, the demands to be well adjusted, and the need to prove that they turned out "all right." These are queerspawn stories, airbrushed for no one, and told on their own terms
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 1772581631Publication Date: 2018
Ugly Differences by
What would it mean to turn to ugliness rather than turn away from it? Indeed, the idea of ugly often becomes synonymous with non-white, non-male, and non-heterosexual physicality and experience. That same pejorative migrates to become a label for practices within underground culture. In Ugly Differences, Yetta Howard uses underground contexts to theorize queer difference by locating ugliness at the intersection of the physical, experiential, and textual. From that nexus, Howard contends that ugliness--as a mode of pejorative identification--is fundamental to the cultural formations of queer female sexuality. Slava Tsukerman's postpunk film Liquid Sky, Sapphire's poetry, Roberta Gregory's Bitchy Butch comix, New Queer Cinema such as High Art--these and other non-canonical works contribute to an audacious critique. Howard reveals how the things we see, read as, or experience as ugly productively account for non-dominant sexual identities and creative practices. Ugly Differences offers eye-opening ways to approach queerness and its myriad underground representations.
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9780252050572Publication Date: 2018
Everything You Need to Know about Bisexuality by
Readers will learn about the different identities associated with bisexuality, the history of attraction to multiple genders, and the prejudice bisexual people face from both the LGBTQ+ community and society at large. Issues surrounding coming out of the closet, biphobia, bisexual representation and misrepresentation in the media, and heterosexual privilege will be addressed in a straightforward and sensitive manner. Additional resources include a glossary of commonly used terms, a list of organizations that support the bisexual community, and sidebar elements about the bisexual pride flag, LGBTQ+ Pride events, and other topics.
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781508187523Publication Date: 2019
Life Isn't Binary by
'Barker and Iantaffi have written the book we all need for this moment in time.' - CN Lester Much of society's thinking operates in a highly rigid and binary manner; something is good or bad, right or wrong, a success or a failure, and so on. Challenging this limited way of thinking, this ground-breaking book looks at how non-binary methods of thought can be applied to all aspects of life, and offer new and greater ways of understanding ourselves and how we relate to others. Using bisexual and non-binary gender experiences as a starting point, this book addresses the key issues with binary thinking regarding our relationships, bodies, emotions, wellbeing and our sense of identity and sets out a range of practices which may help us to think in more non-binary, both/and, or uncertain ways. A truly original and insightful piece, this guide encourages reflection on how we view and understand the world we live in and how we all bend, blur or break society's binary codes.
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781784508647Publication Date: 2019
The End of Gender by
International sex researcher, neuroscientist, and columnist Debra Soh debunks popular gender myths in this scientific examination of the many facets of gender identity that "is not only eminently reasonable and beautifully-written, it is brave and vital" (Ben Shapiro, #1 New York Times bestselling author). Is our gender something we're born with, or are we conditioned by society? In The End of Gender, neuroscientist and sexologist Dr. Debra Soh uses a research-based approach to address this hot-button topic, unmasking popular misconceptions about the nature vs. nurture debate and exploring what it means to be a woman or a man in today's society. Both scientific and objective, and drawing on original research and carefully conducted interviews, Soh tackles a wide range of issues, such as gender-neutral parenting, gender dysphoric children, and the neuroscience of being transgender. She debates today's accepted notion that gender is a social construct and a spectrum, and challenges the idea that there is no difference between how male and female brains operate. The End of Gender is conversation-starting "required reading" (Eric R. Weinstein, PhD, host of The Portal) that will arm you with the facts you need to come to your own conclusions about gender identity and its place in the world today.
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781982132538Publication Date: 2020
eBook Central (ProQuest)
- eBook Central (ProQuest)Subject(s): All topics. Best for: Assignments that require ebooks or book chapters. Includes: All ebooks from the publisher ProQuest.
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
- eBook Collection (EBSCO)Subject(s): All topics. Best for: Assignments that require ebooks or book chapters. Includes: All ebooks from the publisher EBSCO.
eBooks (Gale)
- eBooks (Gale)Subject(s): Literature, humanities, medicine, and history. Best for: In-depth overviews of a topic and starting your research. Includes: Book chapters, reference essays, and literary criticisms on short stories, poems, plays, and novels.