LibGuides: Psychology: Chosen for You

We hand-picked these resources to help you find info on your topic:

(You may have to use the Library Login)

Articles/Databases

PsycArticles (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): Psychology and mental health. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals.

View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
Social Science Journals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): Anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals, magazines, and dissertations.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): Clinical medicine, experimental medicine, dentistry, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and more. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals and treatment guidelines.
Sage Journals (Sage Publications) This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): Humanities, engineering, and the social sciences, life sciences, materials sciences, and health sciences. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): All topics. Best for: Starting your research. Includes: scholarly journals, news, and magazines.

View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database.
Springer eJournal Collection This link opens in a new window
Subject(s): All topics but strongest in technical and scientific research. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals.

Websites

American Psychological Association Home Page
This is the homepage for the APA, the “largest association of psychologists worldwide”. Their aim is to “advance the creation, communication and application of psychological knowledge to benefit society and improve people’s lives”. Within the site, you will find information about the association, overviews of selected psychology topics, links to numerous resources, and information about APA publications including the APA style guide.
Encyclopedia of Psychology
Here you won’t find a traditional encyclopedia; rather, a relatively good psychology directory is contained within this website. Subjects covered are mainly from different branches of psychology (experimental, clinical, etc.), but other resources like professional organizations are also covered concisely.
National Institute for Mental Health (NIMH)
"The mission of NIMH is to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses through basic and clinical research, paving the way for prevention, recovery, and cure."
Psych Central
Run by mental health professionals, users will find a breadth of information concerning psychological issues at Psych Central. The primary focus is on providing basic information on conditions and treatments, though students will also find the quizzes, research and resources sections to be supplemental material to their coursework.
Psychology Tutorials and Demonstrations Guide
Created by Hanover College, this page contains numerous tutorials link from all aspects of psychology. New tutorials are added as they are discovered online.
Social Psychology Network
The Social Psychology Network is an ideal place to visit if you’re looking for information about current research studies being conducted in the field of social psychology. Links are provided to all manners of researchers, organizations, and other disciplines related to the study of psychology. Also offered is a section for related news articles from various scientific and medical publications.
National Vital Statistics Reports
Find statistics related to US births, deaths, marriages, and divorces.
Population Reference Bureau
Provides statistical data on domestic and international indicators including demographics, economics, education, the environment, health, housing, and income and poverty.
National Institute for Mental Health - Statistics
"The resource below represents an extensive collection of our best statistics on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders. Equally important are sections that have been included on mental health-related disability and on suicide."

Library Login

Library Access

(articles, eBooks, etc. from databases OR library search engine)

(loans, renewals, requests from the library search engine)

Username = your College email address

Password = your Canvas password

Canvas Password Recovery & Reset

Course Reserves

Your textbook and other course materials may be available at the Library: