Use these trusted databases to support student research and guide them to reliable academic resources. Each option is linked to Seminole State College Library and supports many subjects.
Best for: General research across all subjects
A broad, multidisciplinary database that includes scholarly journals, magazines, and news sources. Ideal for helping students start almost any assignment.
Link: Academic Search
Best for: Humanities, history, literature, and older academic content
JSTOR provides access to thousands of scholarly journals, especially in the arts and humanities. It includes historical publications and is great for long-term or archival research.
Link: JSTOR
Best for: Finding academic sources through Google’s interface
Google Scholar connects students to academic articles, books, theses, and more. When used on campus or with the Seminole State login, it links directly to full-text resources available in our library databases.
Note: More reliable than regular Google Search for academic use.
Link: Google Scholar
Best for: Peer-reviewed journal and magazine articles across disciplines
Covers current events, sciences, technology, history, and more. A flexible resource that’s useful for a wide variety of student projects.
Link: Academic OneFile (Gale)
Best for: U.S. history topics and primary sources
Focuses specifically on American history. Includes full-text journal articles, reference materials, and primary source documents. Great for research papers and historical analysis.
Link: History Reference Center