We hand-picked these resources to help you find info on your topic:
(You may have to use the Library Login)
Articles/Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics. Best for: Starting your research. Includes: scholarly journals, news, and magazines.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Nursing and allied health. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Most comprehensive set of scholarly journals out of all the nursing databases.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Evidence based health care, nursing, and medicine. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research and care plans. Includes: Peer-reviewed systematic reviews, clinical trials, and protocols. Cochrane reviews are recognised as the gold standard in evidence-based healthcare.
- Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence Based Practice Database This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Evidence based medicine. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research and care plans. Includes: Brief, peer-reviewed evidence summaries.
- Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new windowBest for: Easier to read introductions to diseases and treatments and assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Wikipedia-type articles, magazines, news, and scholarly journals.
- MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Clinical medicine, experimental medicine, dentistry, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and more. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals and treatment guidelines.
- Merck Manuals This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Explanation, diagnosis, and treatment of diseases. Includes: Professional and consumer level textbook type entries, case studies, and drug information.
- Nursing@Ovid This link opens in a new windowBest for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research or for additional review of concepts outside of class materials. Includes: Scholarly journals and ebooks, such as the Made Incredibly Easy series.
- PsycArticles (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Psychology and mental health. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals.
View a video tutorial or a printable handout on this database. - PubMed (NCBI) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): All topics in medicine and nursing. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Some full text from scholarly journals and ebooks.
- Sage Journals (Sage Publications) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Humanities, engineering, and the social sciences, life sciences, materials sciences, and health sciences. Best for: Assignments that require credible, scholarly research. Includes: Scholarly journals
- Teaching & Learning in Nursing Journal (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowSubject(s): Nursing education. Best for: Staying up to date on current trends in nursing education. Includes: Articles from the journal, Teaching & Learning in Nursing.
- Testing & Education Reference Center (Gale) This link opens in a new windowContains TEAS and NCLEX prep materials.
View a 
Websites
Statistics
- CDC Center for Disease Control and Prevention Data & StatisticsIncludes Data & Statistics by Topic, Tools & Resources, and Related Organizations.
- National Vital Statistics ReportsFind statistics related to US births, deaths, marriages, and divorces.
- Population Reference BureauProvides statistical data on domestic and international indicators including demographics, economics, education, the environment, health, housing, and income and poverty.
- National Institute for Mental Health - Statistics"The resource below represents an extensive collection of our best statistics on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders. Equally important are sections that have been included on mental health-related disability and on suicide."
Nursing
Drug Information
- Drug Information from the National Library of MedicineIncludes Drug Information Portal; Drugs, Herbs & Supplements; Pillbox; DailyMed; Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD); RxNorm; LactMed; LiverTox
- PDR (Prescribers' Digital Reference)Browse by drug name.
Consumer Health
Library Login
Library Access
(articles, eBooks, etc. from databases OR library search engine)
(loans, renewals, requests from the library search engine)
Username = your College email address
Password = your Canvas password
Course Reserves
Your textbook and other course materials may be available at the Library:
Books
Find most NursingTextbooks on Reserve at the Altamonte Library (just ask at the main desk).
For more books on Nursing, look in these call number ranges:
| RT 1 -120 | R, RB | RC |
|
RD, RG |
RJ | RM |
Or consider these titles:
Cultural Awareness in Nursing and Health Care by ISBN: 9781482245578Publication Date: 2017-07-12This introductory textbook relates theory to practice and enhances students' learning and understanding of cultural issues that impact on patient care and their own practice as nurses, while considering wider social and political issues.
Ebooks
- Cultural Awareness in Nursing and Health Care by ISBN: 9781482245578Publication Date: 2017-07-12This introductory textbook relates theory to practice and enhances students' learning and understanding of cultural issues that impact on patient care and their own practice as nurses, while considering wider social and political issues.
Issues and Trends in Nursing by ISBN: 9781284104899Publication Date: 2017-01-23Issues and Trends in Nursing: Practice, Policy and Leadership, Second Edition focuses on teaching nursing students how to navigate the nurse-patient relationship including political policy, professional organizations, performance outcomes, emergency preparedness, safety, and global health issues.
Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice by ISBN: 9781940446974Publication Date: 2017-10-01The goal of evidence-based practice (EBP) in nursing is to promote improved interventions, care, and patient outcomes. Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice: Model and Guidelines has proven to be one of the most foundational books on EBP in nursing.
Nursing Ethics and Professional Responsibility in Advanced Practice by ISBN: 9781449667429Publication Date: 2013-08-26The text proactively addresses challenges that span specialty areas well as issues unique to these areas of practice. This is the only resource available that addresses the range of ethical problems that advanced practice nurses face.
Images
- Primal Pictures Anatomy & Physiology (Anatomy.TV) This link opens in a new windowIncludes: Three-dimensional images and animations that illustrate different anatomical concepts and functions, and surgical principles.